2017 Griddys Awards Winners

by | Mar 28, 2017 | Featured, Headlines | 0 comments

The 10th annual Griddys awards program honors the best of 2016 and previews the 2017 Indiana high school football season.

On Sunday, March 26, the Indiana Football Digest team welcomed 400 guests to the Indiana Farm Bureau Football Center in Indianapolis to celebrate the 2016 Indiana high school football season and prepare for the 2016 campaign. Now in its 10th year, The Griddys was designed to honor the best of the best in Indiana high school football.

Honored during the event were all 12 state finalists, six coaches of the year, two assistant coaches of the year, six players of the year, two all-state teams, a media award winner, lifetime achievement award winner, badge of courage winner, and spirit of sport winner.

Also revealed was the 2017 Prime Time 25. These juniors (class of 2018) will appear on the cover of the 2017 Indiana Football Digest. These players were chosen to represent the best of Indiana football based on athletic and academic achievement as well as community involvement. The 2017 Indiana Football Digest will debut at the Grange Insurance North-South All-Star Classic at North Central High School in Indianapolis on July 14.

Here is a full list of winners

2016 State Finalists

Class 1A – Pioneer

Class 2A – Eastbrook

Class 3A – Lawrenceburg

Class 4A – NorthWood

Class 5A – Columbus East

Class 6A – Center Grove

2016 State Champions

Class 1A – Linton-Stockton

Class 2A – Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter

Class 3A –Fort Wayne Concordia

Class 4A – Indianapolis Roncalli

Class 5A – Westfield

Class 6A – Carmel

2016 TCU Coaches of the Year

Class 1A – Brian Oliver – Linton Stockton

Class 2A – Ty Hunt – Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter

Class 3A: Tim Mannigel, Fort Wayne Concordia

Class 4A: Bruce Scifres, Indianapolis Roncalli

Class 5A: Jake Gilbert, Westfield

Class 6A: John Hebert, Carmel

2016 Players of the Year

Class 1A: Tyler Meurer, Linton-Stockton (QB)

Class 2A: Avery Hall, Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter (RB)

Class 3A: Austin Bowling, Lawrenceburg (RB)

Class 4A: Derek O’Connor, Indianapolis Roncalli (QB)

Class 5A: Mac Hippenhammer, Fort Wayne Snider (WR)

Class 6A: Russ Yeast, Center Grove (RB)

2016 Offensive Coordinator of the Year

Lance Hoffman, Fort Wayne Concordia

2016 Defensive Coordinator of the Year

Josh Miracle – Westfield

USMC Lifetime Achievement Award

John Broughton- Pendleton Heights

Brad Breyfogle Spirit of Sport Award

Tim Roth, Winamac

Jason Kuntz Badge of Courage

Brett Colby, Kokomo

Excellence in Sports Media Award

Keith Meyers, Indiana Sports Radio Network

2016 Big School All-State (Classes 4A, 5A, 6A)

Chase Andries, Beech Grove (P)

Bryce Bailey, Castle (OL)

Bailey Bennett, Center Grove (LB)

Mitchell Burton, Columbus North (RB)

Zenden Dellinger, Fort Wayne Snider (OL)

Ryder Emberton, Whiteland (DL)

Bryant Fitzgerald, Avon (DB)

Will Harrison, Westfield (K)

Mac Hippenhammer, Fort Wayne Snider (WR)

Hunter Johnson, Brownsburg (QB)

Caleb Jones, Lawrence North (OL)

LeShawn Minor, Ben Davis (DL)

Cedric Mitchell, Concord (DB)

R.J. Potts, Fishers (DB)

Kurt Rafdal, Carmel (TE)

Nick Ray, Hobart (LB)

David Redding, Columbus North (OL)

Tommy Richardson, Bloomington South (LB)

Dan Root, Center Grove (DL)

Mark Stickford, Carmel (OL)

Ben Stewart, Indianapolis Cathedral (DB)

Jalen Walker, Carmel (WR)

Pete Werner, Indianapolis Cathedral (LB)

Money Woods, Fort Wayne Snider (RB)

Russ Yeast, Center Grove (All-Purpose)

2016 Small School All-State (Classes 1A, 2A, 3A)

Keeton Adams, Hagerstown (OL)

Austin Bowling, Lawrenceburg (RB)

Dustin Brown, Monroe Central (OL)

Aaron Cravens, Monrovia (DB)

Michael Dennison, Mishawaka Marian (DL)

Dakota Green, Northeastern (DL)

Avery Hall, Indianapolis Cardinal Ritter (RB)

Peyton Hendershot, Tri-West (TE)

Alexander Horvath, Mishawaka Marian (RB)

Peterson Kerlegrand, Fort Wayne Concordia (DB)

Kenny Kerrn, Jimtown (DB)

Caleb Macon, Whiting (LB)

Mark Mallers, Fort Wayne Concordia (WR)

Landon McPheeters, West Washington (LB)

Tyler Meurer, Linton-Stockton (All-Purpose)

Sam Milazzo, Lafayette Central Catholic (K)

Peter Morrison, Fort Wayne Concordia (QB)

Owen Perkins, Oak Hill (OL)

John Ragan, Eastbrook (DL)

Kyle Reed, Northfield (P)

Brandon Schoeneman, Adams Central (DL)

Ben Solomon, Indianapolis Bishop Chatard (OL)

Zach Starks, Fort Wayne Bishop Luers (OL)

Sterling Weatherford, Hamilton Heights (DB)

Jake Young, Culver Academy (LB)

2017 Prime Time 25

Name                             School                                     Position

Andrew Barajas              Eastbrook                                 RB

Carson Blair                   Southwood                              QB

Evan Brishaber               Salem                                      WR

Tico Brown                      Homestead                              DL

Joe Callahan                  Sheridan                                  RB

Dakota Caton                 Sullivan                                    WR

Joey Diekmann              Evansville Reitz                       LB

Emil Ekiyor                     Indianapolis Cathedral            OL

Chance Howard             Linton-Stockton                       DL

Lawrence Johnson         Fort Wayne Snider                   DL

Jordan Jusevitch            Lowell                                      DB

Damon Lux                     Shelbyville                               WR

Anthony Maceo              Portage                                    QB

Josh Major                     Columbus East                        QB

Luke Martin                    Fishers                                    OL

Johnny May                    Hamilton Southeastern           LB

Andrew McCormick        East Noble                               QB

Jake McDonald              Carmel                                     QB

Cameron McGrone         Lawrence Central                     LB

Zac Minnich                   Milan                                       WR

Paul Moala                     Penn                                        DB

Mason Parris                  Lawrenceburg                          LB

Reese Taylor                  Indianapolis Ben Davis            QB

Tyrone Tracy                   Decatur Central                       WR

Gavin Yeskie                  Bloomington South                  QB

Related Content

Jul 11 2024

Marian’s Tipping Named the Crossroads League Male Athlete of the Year

Marian’s Tipping Named the CL Male Athlete of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Isaiah Tipping of the Marian University men’s...
Jul 11 2024

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named Crossroads League Female Athlete-of-the-Year

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named CL Female Athlete-of-the-Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Eva Joldersma of the Indiana Wesleyan...
Jul 10 2024

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year   UPLAND, Ind. – Aidan Craig was recognized on Wednesday for his record-setting season with the Taylor men’s lacrosse...
Jul 10 2024

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Marian’s Steve Downing has been named...
Jul 10 2024

Grace’s Josh Neuhart Voted Crossroads League SID of the Year

Neuhart Voted Crossroads League SID of the Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Josh Neuhart of Grace College had been named its...