2017 Track State Finals Media Information

by | Jun 1, 2017 | Featured, Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments



Friday, June 2, 2017 ▪ 3 pm ET



Saturday, June 3, 2017 ▪ 1 pm ET



Saturday, June 3, 2017 ▪ 3 pm ET

Robert C. Haugh Track & Field Complex ▪ Bloomington

The state’s best in high school track and field converge in Bloomington this weekend as the IHSAA conducts the 114th Boys State Finals on Friday, the Fourth Unifi ed State Finals in partnership with Special Olympics Indiana, and the 44th Girls State Finals on Saturday. Each meet will be contested at the Robert C. Haugh Track and Field Complex on the campus of Indiana University with field events beginning at 3 pm ET and running events at 4:15 pm ET each day while the Unified festivities will get underway Saturday at 1 pm ET.

The boys meet, the oldest event in any sport sponsored by the IHSAA, features two defending state champions while the girls meet has seven returning winners across nine different events.

All eyes will be on Lynna Irby this weekend as she’ll attempt to write Indiana track and field history on Saturday night. The Pike senior has swept the 100, 200 and 400 meter races the last three years and would become the first to win all three events all four years of her career. She’s certain to be challenged though standing as the second seed in both the 100 and 200. Former Olympian and North Central of Indianapolis graduate Maicel Malone won 11 crowns in the sprints missing out on the 200 meters as a sophomore in 1985. With three wins, Irby would set a state record for most sprint championships, most individual titles and most career crowns.

Portage senior Victoria Farley will look to become just the fourth individual to win three consecutive shotput tittles. She is seeded second at 49-6, one inch behind Lafayette Jeff ’s Essence Henderson.

And on the boys side, Whiteland’s Ryder Emberton (57-2) and Carmel’s Ryan Lipe (15-9) will attempt to repeat for a second year in the shot put and pole vault, respectively.

Results will be posted at IHSAA.org as the meets progress each day and on Twitter at @IHSAA1.

General admission tickets are $10
per day per person and available
for purchase at the ticket windows
behind the track stadium. Children
two years old and younger admitted
free of charge.

Gates open to spectators one hour
before each session begins both
days (2 pm ET on Friday, 12 pm ET

The parking lots to the west of Fee
Lane next to the IU Tennis Center are
the best option and a shuttle will be
available to transport spectators to
the main entrance. All parking in the
area is free of charge during the state
finals except in areas designated by
Indiana University.


Girls Track Records Book

[pdf-embedder url=”https://rrsn.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/Girls-Track-Records-Book-1.pdf” title=”Girls Track Records Book (1)”]


Boys Track Records Book

[pdf-embedder url=”https://rrsn.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/Boys-Track-Records-Book-1.pdf” title=”Boys Track Records Book (1)”]


Boys State Heat Sheets

[pdf-embedder url=”https://rrsn.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/201617-Boys-State-Heat-Sheets-1.pdf” title=”201617 Boys State Heat Sheets (1)”]


Girls State Heat Sheets

[pdf-embedder url=”https://rrsn.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/201617-Girls-State-Heat-Sheets-1.pdf” title=”201617 Girls State Heat Sheets (1)”]


Unified State Heat Sheets

[pdf-embedder url=”https://rrsn.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/201617-Unified-State-Heat-Sheets-1.pdf” title=”201617 Unified State Heat Sheets (1)”]

Related Content

Jul 15 2024

Regional Radio Sports Network and Indiana Football Digest’s, Donnie Smith Joins Jax State as Assistant AD For Media Relations.

JACKSONVILLE - Jacksonville State Athletic Director Greg Seitz has hired Donnie Smith as the Gamecocks' Assistant Athletic Director for Media Relations. Smith comes to...
Jul 11 2024

Marian’s Tipping Named the Crossroads League Male Athlete of the Year

Marian’s Tipping Named the CL Male Athlete of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Isaiah Tipping of the Marian University men’s...
Jul 11 2024

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named Crossroads League Female Athlete-of-the-Year

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named CL Female Athlete-of-the-Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Eva Joldersma of the Indiana Wesleyan...
Jul 10 2024

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year   UPLAND, Ind. – Aidan Craig was recognized on Wednesday for his record-setting season with the Taylor men’s lacrosse...
Jul 10 2024

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Marian’s Steve Downing has been named...