First Official Contest Dates Moved Up in Six Fall Sports

by | May 2, 2017 | Featured, Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

First Official Contest Dates Moved Up in Six Fall Sports Board Also Tables

Participation Rule Proposal for Further Study The IHSAA Board of Directors approved 13 rules proposals, five failed and one was tabled for further study during its annual review of the By‐Laws and Articles of Incorporation this morning in Indianapolis.

Chief among them were a pair of 19‐0 votes approving changes to the first official contest dates in six fall sports – boys tennis, girls and boys cross country, girls and boys soccer and volleyball.

Submitted by Commissioner Bobby Cox on behalf of the Indiana Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association (IIAAA), the changes to Rules 50 and 101 move up the opening dates of competition in those sports by two days from Monday of Week 7 to Saturday of Week 6 giving those teams an extra Saturday to schedule potential contests if they choose. The rule goes into effect immediately.

One rule proposal that received considerable discussion in recent weeks during the Spring Area Principals Meetings around the state was a revised Rule 15‐2 that would further define and set dates for no contact periods between students and coaches during the school year, out‐of‐season. After discussion by the group, the measure was tabled and the Executive Staff was tasked with studying it further and returning a proposal for consideration by the Executive Committee and ultimately the Board of Directors in coming months.

Due to its tabling, the next five proposals on the agenda failed as they were language amendments to the current by‐laws of the initial rule had been approved. All proposals are considered in the order that the rule appears within the current by‐laws.

The Board of Directors has four options on each proposal: affirm, deny, table or amend. A simple majority is necessary to act on any measure. A copy of the current by‐laws is available here. All approved measures become effective immediately unless otherwise noted. The following are additional highlights of today’s meetings. Complete minutes will be posted at

A proposal submitted by the commissioner on behalf of the Northern Lakes Conference which called for changing the first authorized season contest for sub‐varsity football teams from Friday of Week 7 to Thursday of Week 7 (one day earlier) was approved unanimously 19‐0. Schools may choose to move their sub‐varsity games but are not required to do so.

Rule 101 of the girls sports season was amended by a 19‐0 vote to change the first authorized practice date in girls gymnastics by one week from Monday of Week 21 to Monday of Week 20. This was done after the state tournament was moved up one week this past season in order for the state finals to remain at Worthen Arena on the corresponding date. 

The Executive Committee also approved three of six proposals submitted by the Indiana High School Wrestling Coaches Association last month. The body amended the coaches original schedule proposal to allow a mandatory six dual meets for each school and a maximum of six meets involving three or more schools effective with the 2018‐19 season.

They also approved allowing an alternative uniform of a compression shirt and wrestling shorts instead of a singlet and also adjusted the state finals scoring  during Friday’s first round to include advancement and bonus points to be consistent with Saturday’s matches. 

Several other proposals were formally ratified by the Board of Directors after being approved in emergency sessions at various times earlier this year by the Executive Committee.

Those proposals involved the new baseball pitch count currently being used this season; permission for nurse practitioners and physician assistants to perform physical exams and sign the physical evaluation form; updates to rules involving decisions, notification and appeals involving eligibility cases and; adjustments in the definitions of a Unified Student Athlete and Unified Student Partner as well as their authorized practice and contests dates give the growth of the sport of Unified Track & Field. 

The elections for next year’s leadership of the Board and Executive Committee also were held. Lowell athletic director Patti McCormack was voted president of the 2017‐18 Board of Directors and Indianapolis Cathedral principal Dave Worland was elected vice president. Ed Gilliland, LaPorte athletic director, was named chairman of the 2017‐18 Executive Committee and Charlie Martin, Riverton Parke athletic director, was confirmed as vice chairman.

About the Board of Directors The IHSAA is governed by its legislative body, the Board of Directors. Composed of 19 individuals elected by member school principals from three legislative districts, they serve staggered three‐year terms.

Twelve board seats are filled by any qualified individual (open seats), and seven board seats are filled by two qualified female representatives, two qualified minority representatives, two qualified urban school representatives and one qualified private school representative.

The Board of Directors meets annually with the responsibility of establishing the Association’s By‐Laws and regulations. 2016‐17

IHSAA Board of Directors District, Seat Board Member Term Ends

  • District I, Class A Debb Stevens, Logansport June 2017
  • District I, Class AA Don Gandy, Wheeler June 2018
  • District I, Class AAA Nathan Dean, Jimtown June 2017
  • District I, Class AAAA Ed Gilliland, LaPorte June 2018
  • District II, Class A Charlie Martin, Riverton Parke June 2018
  • District II, Class AA Jimmie Howell, Lapel June 2017
  • District II, Class AAA Steve Cox, Beech Grove City Schools June 2018
  • District II, Class AAAA Jim Brown, Fishers June 2017
  • District III, Class A Richard Lance, Castle June 2017
  • District III, Class AA Tim Grove, South Knox School Corporation** June 2018
  • District III, Class AAA Mike Whitten, Boonville June 2017
  • District III, Class AAAA Mike Broughton, Jennings County* June 2018
  • North District, Female Patti McCormack, Lowell June 2019
  • North District, Minority Stacy Adams, Griffith June 2019
  • North District, Urban Brian Strong, Logansport June 2019
  • South District, Female Rae Woolpy, Richmond June 2019
  • South District, Minority Victor Bush, Indianapolis Public Schools June 2019
  • South District, Urban Paul Neidig, Evansville Vanderburgh Schools June 2019
  • Private School Dave Worland, Indianapolis Cathedral June 2019
  • *President      **Vice‐President

Related Content

Jul 11 2024

Marian’s Tipping Named the Crossroads League Male Athlete of the Year

Marian’s Tipping Named the CL Male Athlete of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Isaiah Tipping of the Marian University men’s...
Jul 11 2024

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named Crossroads League Female Athlete-of-the-Year

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named CL Female Athlete-of-the-Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Eva Joldersma of the Indiana Wesleyan...
Jul 10 2024

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year   UPLAND, Ind. – Aidan Craig was recognized on Wednesday for his record-setting season with the Taylor men’s lacrosse...
Jul 10 2024

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Marian’s Steve Downing has been named...
Jul 10 2024

Grace’s Josh Neuhart Voted Crossroads League SID of the Year

Neuhart Voted Crossroads League SID of the Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Josh Neuhart of Grace College had been named its...