by | Mar 28, 2017 | Featured, Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments



Indianapolis Tindley (24-5): Hunter White’s 10-foot bank shot with five seconds remaining lifted the No. 3 Tigers to a 51-49 win over top-ranked Lafayette Central Catholic in the Class 1A finale.

Frankton (23-6): Maurice Knight tallied 14 of his 23 points in the third quarter as Frankton cruised to the Class 2A championship with a 60-32 victory over Crawford County.

Indianapolis Crispus Attucks (25-4): Jamal Harris’ rebound basket with 0.9 seconds on the clock helped the No. 4 Tigers to a 73-71 victory over No. 6 Twin Lakes in the Class 3A title game.

Indianapolis Ben Davis (23-5): Jamal Windham netted 15 points as the Giants upset No. 4 Fort Wayne North, 55-52, for the Class 4A crown.


  1. Adams (21-5): Walter Ellis and Michael Green both surpassed the 450-point mark in helping the Eagles capture a share of the Northern Indiana Conference crown and a Class 4A sectional title.
  2. Riley (19-3): Although talented junior Damezi Anderson averaged 24 points and 7.6 rebounds a contest, the No. 10 (Class 4A) and co-NIC champion Wildcats came up short in their quest for a third straight sectional championship.
  3. Elkhart Central (20-3): Thanks to the contributions from Cornell Connor (16.4 points and 9.2 rebounds), the Blazers enjoyed their best regular season in program history.
  4. NorthWood (21-3): Vinny Miranda paved the way for the No.2 (Class 3A) Panthers to claim their fourth consecutive 20-plus win season by netting 19.5 points per contest.
  5. Culver Academy (21-3): Ignas Masiulionis was a big part in the top-ranked (Class 3A) Eagles run to a Class 3A sectional title by scoring 283 total points.
  6. Warsaw (18-10): Kyle Mangas almost single-handedly propelled the Tigers to a Class 4A regional crown by netting 71 total points (47 points in a 61-59 double-overtime win over East Chicago Central and 24 in a 50-46 loss to Merrillville).
  7. Oregon-Davis (21-7): Aaron Parker was one of four players who averaged double figures in scoring with 14 points a game for the No. 10 and Class 1A sectional champion Bobcats.


LaVille (17-7): Adam Steinke closed out his career with 1,117 points as the Lancers recorded their seventh straight winning season.

Marian (14-10): Michael Hemmingway had a big role in the Knights’ run to eight wins in their last 10 contests.

Plymouth (15-10): Nick Felke’s 16.2 points and 4.1 assists per contest allowed the Pilgrims to reach the Class 4A sectional final for the second straight year.

Triton (18-6): Zac Piney led a balanced attack with 14.9 points per game as the Trojans overcame an 0-3 start to post victories in 14 of their last 16 contests.

Winamac (15-8): Jack DeGroot was instrumental in helping the Warriors to their fourth season of 15 or more wins with a 16.1 scoring average.


A 2-2 mark in the state finals left me with a final record of 355-119, which rounded out to 75 percent for the 2016-17 campaign.

Related Content

Jul 15 2024

Regional Radio Sports Network and Indiana Football Digest’s, Donnie Smith Joins Jax State as Assistant AD For Media Relations.

JACKSONVILLE - Jacksonville State Athletic Director Greg Seitz has hired Donnie Smith as the Gamecocks' Assistant Athletic Director for Media Relations. Smith comes to...
Jul 11 2024

Marian’s Tipping Named the Crossroads League Male Athlete of the Year

Marian’s Tipping Named the CL Male Athlete of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Isaiah Tipping of the Marian University men’s...
Jul 11 2024

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named Crossroads League Female Athlete-of-the-Year

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named CL Female Athlete-of-the-Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Eva Joldersma of the Indiana Wesleyan...
Jul 10 2024

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year   UPLAND, Ind. – Aidan Craig was recognized on Wednesday for his record-setting season with the Taylor men’s lacrosse...
Jul 10 2024

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Marian’s Steve Downing has been named...