by | May 15, 2017 | Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments



Knightstown’s Historic Hoosier Gym, movie home of the “Hoosiers” Hickory Huskers, is again the site of the Hoosiers’ Reunion All-Star Classic. The 12th annual girls’ / boys’ doubleheader classic will take place on Friday, June 2, 2017. The girls’ game starts at 6:00 p.m. The boys’ game follows at 8:00 p.m. The boys’ coaches are Travis Daugherty of Mt. Vernon (Fortville) and Shenandoah’s Dave McCollough. Coaching the girls’ teams are Corie West (New Castle), Bryan Graham (Triton Central) and Pat McKee (Columbus North).

The evening is highlighted by 2017 Indiana Miss Basketball Karissa McLaughlin (26 ppg) of AAAA State champion Homestead who will attend Purdue University this fall. There are nine other girls who will participate on June 2nd that were also selected as 2017 Indiana All-Stars— Macee Williams (26.2), Fountain Central (IUPUI) • Madison Wise (23.5), Greenfield-Central (Iowa State) • Rachel McLimore (20.7), Zionsville (DePaul) • Riley Blackwell, Plainfield (Northern Illinois) • Maliah Howard-Bass, Columbus North (Ball State) • Nicole Konieczny, South Bend St. Joe (Valparaiso) • Destiny Perkins, Lawrence North (Akron) • Zion Sanders, Evansville Central (Iowa) • Ajanae Thomas, North Central-Marion (Indiana State).

The Girls’ game also features, in addition to McLaughlin, two more 2017 IHSAA State Champions— Taylor Drury (Indianapolis) of AA Champion Eastern (Pekin) and Konieczny of AAA Champion South Bend St. Joe.

There are six other players who are committed to NCAA Division I Universities. They are Katrina Christian (22.1 ppg), Crothersville (Eastern Illinois), Paige Barrett (21.2), Scottsburg (Murray State), Katie Helgason, Greenfield-Central (Ball State), Kayla Casteel, Plainfield (Evansville), Bre Lloyd, Hamilton Southeastern (Wright State) and Anne Secrest, Tippecanoe Valley (Youngstown State).


The Boys’ game, the second of this Hoosiers’ Reunion All-Star Classic doubleheader, features Butler bound Cooper Neese (27.2 ppg), Cloverdale. He is joined by six other 2017 Indiana All-Stars— Jaylen Butz, Fort Wayne North (DePaul) • Michael Ertel, Mt. Vernon-Fortville (Louisiana Monroe) • Jaylen Minnett, Terre Haute South (IUPUI) • Grant Smith, Connersville (Indiana Wesleyan) • Mack Smith, Warren Central (Eastern Illinois) • Jermaine Couisnard, East Chicago Central.

Three other featured players are two 2017 IHSAA State Champions— Nike Sibande (Miami of Ohio) of AAA Champion Indianapolis Crispus Attucks and Datrion Harper (IU-East) of AAAA Champion Ben Davis along with the state’s leading scorer— Courvoisier McCauley (27.7 ppg), Indianapolis Manual.

Four other boys are headed to NCAA Division I Colleges. They are Tyler Smith (24.6 ppg), Northeastern (Florida Southern), Jalen Adaway, Logansport (Miami of Ohio), Jacob Redding, Caroll-Allen (Louisville) and Kobe Webster, Park Tudor (Western Illinois).


Coordinating this event are Kip Wesner of Hoosier Basketball Magazine and the Historic Hoosier Gym Committee of Knightstown. To purchase tickets (there are only 665 seats – all reserved) call (317) 925-8200 or e-mail [email protected].

All four team rosters— girls’ and boys’ Hickory Huskers and Terhune Tigers girls and boys— are listed below.



2017 Hoosiers’ Reunion Classic        Boys’ Teams


Coach Travis Daugherty, Mt. Vernon (Fortville)



Jalen Adaway, Logansport    6-4    Forward    Miami of Ohio

Mark Albers, Pendleton Heights    6-4    Wing        Marian

Jaylen Butz, Fort Wayne North    6-10    Forward    DePaul

Michael Ertel, Mt. Vernon (Fortville)    6-2    Guard        Louisiana Monroe

Hunter Ferris, Cambridge City Lincoln    6-5    Forward    Undecided

David Froedge, New Castle    6-0    Guard        Prep School

Datrion Harper, Ben Davis    6-0    Guard        IU-East

Matt Jennings, Logansport    6-0    Guard        Grace

Cooper Neese, Cloverdale    6-4    Guard        Butler

JonRoss Richardson, Lapel    6-6    Wing        Rollins

Tyler Smith, Northeastern    6-1    Guard        Florida Southern

Courvoisier McCauley, Indianapolis Manual    6-4    Forward    Prep School




Coach Dave McCollough, Shenandoah



Tim Abel, Indian Creek    6-2    Guard        Cincinnati Christian

Sterling Brown, Carmel    6-0    Guard        Marian

Jermaine Couisnard, East Chicago Central    6-4    Wing        Undecided

Haden Deaton, McCutcheon    6-4    Forward    Grace

Gavin Griggs, Shenandoah    6-3    Wing        Olivet Nazarene

Trevor Lakes, Lebanon    6-8    Forward    Indianapolis

Jaylen Minnett, Terre Haute South    6-1    Guard        IUPUI

Jacob Redding, Carroll (Allen)    6-1    Guard        Louisville

Nike Sibande, Indianapolis Crispus Attucks          6-4    Wing        Miami of Ohio

Grant Smith, Connersville        6-6    Forward    Indiana Wesleyan

Mack Smith, Warren Central        6-2    Guard        Eastern Illinois

Kobe Webster, Park Tudor        6-0    Guard        Western Illinois




2017 Hoosiers’ Reunion Classic        Girls’ Teams


Coach Corie West, New Castle



Katrina Christian, Crothersville        5-7    Guard        Eastern Illinois

Taylor Drury, Eastern (Pekin)        5-10    Forward    Indianapolis

Katie Helgason, Greenfield-Central        5-7    Guard        Ball State

Kaitlyn Howe, Rushville        5-3    Guard        Undecided

Brooke James, Princeton        6-0    Forward    Wabash Valley

Nicole Konieczny, South Bend St. Joe        5-7    Guard        Valparaiso

Karissa McLaughlin, Homestead        5-8    Guard        Purdue

Olivia Porter, New Castle        5-8    Wing        Ball State-Student

Anne Secrest, Tippecanoe Valley        6-0    Center    Youngstown State

Ajanae Thomas, North Central (Marion)        5-10    Forward    Indiana State

Madison Wise, Greenfield-Central        6-1    Forward    Iowa State





Coach Bryan Graham, Triton Central & Coach Pat McKee, Columbus North



Paige Barrett, Scottsburg        5-10    Forward    Murray State

Riley Blackwell, Plainfield        6-1    Forward    Northern Illinois

Kayla Casteel, Plainfield        5-9    Guard        Evansville

Maliah Howard-Bass, Columbus North        5-9    Guard        Ball State

Bre Lloyd, Hamilton Southeastern        5-9    Guard        Wright State

Rachel McLimore, Zionsville        5-11    Guard        DePaul

Reagan McMurray, New Palestine        5-7    Guard        Illinois Wesleyan

Courtney Raymer, Triton Central        6-1    Center    IU-South Bend

Zion Sanders, Evansville Central        5-8    Forward    Iowa

Destiny Perkins, Lawrence North        5-6    Guard        Akron

Macee Williams, Fountain Central        6-3    Forward    IUPUI

Related Content

Jul 11 2024

Marian’s Tipping Named the Crossroads League Male Athlete of the Year

Marian’s Tipping Named the CL Male Athlete of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Isaiah Tipping of the Marian University men’s...
Jul 11 2024

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named Crossroads League Female Athlete-of-the-Year

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named CL Female Athlete-of-the-Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Eva Joldersma of the Indiana Wesleyan...
Jul 10 2024

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year   UPLAND, Ind. – Aidan Craig was recognized on Wednesday for his record-setting season with the Taylor men’s lacrosse...
Jul 10 2024

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Marian’s Steve Downing has been named...
Jul 10 2024

Grace’s Josh Neuhart Voted Crossroads League SID of the Year

Neuhart Voted Crossroads League SID of the Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Josh Neuhart of Grace College had been named its...