NFF CHALKTALK, Presented by VICIS – July 24, 2017

by | Jul 24, 2017 | Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

The Blitz


NFF Board Member Jerry Jones‘ Dallas Cowboys once again top Forbes‘ list of “The World’s 50 Most Valuable Sports Teams.” Also on the list are NFF Board Member Robert Kraft‘s New England Patriots at No. 6.

FOX Sports announced its lineup of broadcasters for the upcoming college football season, which includes 2017 College Football Hall of Fame electee Matt Leinart (Southern California), who will again serve as a studio analyst for pregame, halftime and postgame coverage on FOX and FS1.

College Football Hall of Famers Tom Cousineau (Ohio State) and Tim Krumrie (Wisconsin) will be in attendance at the 2017 Big Ten Kickoff Luncheon July 25 at the McCormick Place Convention Center in Chicago.

College Football Hall of Fame coach Bill Snyder is planning to write a children’s book titled, Take it From Me.

Arizona State will dedicate its game on Sept. 9 against San Diego State to College Football Hall of Fame coach Frank Kush, who passed away last month.

The watch list was released for the Wuerffel Trophy, which is named in honor of College Football Hall of Famer and 1996 Campbell Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel (Florida) and awarded annually to the a college football player who displays exemplary community service.

2013 Campbell Trophy winner from Penn State and current Baltimore Raven John Urschel recently led a fun and interactive science, engineering, technology and math lesson with Math Academy students in Baltimore County

2016 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Zay Jones (East Carolina) was named to the 2016-17 American Athletic Conference All-Academic Team.

2016 NFF National Scholar-Athlete DeVon Edwards was named Duke’s Male Senior Student-Athlete of the Year for 2016-17.

2010 NFF National Scholar-Athlete and current SEC Network analyst Greg McElroy (Alabama) will host a new show, Thinking Out Loud, which will air on the network Monday nights at 7 p.m. ET from Sept. 4 – Dec. 4.

2017 NFF John L. Toner Award recipient and UCLA athletics director Dan Guerrero was named the 23rd most powerful person in Southern California sports by The Orange County Register.

2011 NFF Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football Award recipient Verne Lundquist, one of the iconic figures in college football broadcasting, served as the emcee for the American Athletic Conference Summer Kickoff and Media Days in Newport, R.I.

2010 NFF National High School Scholar-Athlete Lonnie Hackett has received an international scholarship to study at Oxford University for a year.

Over The Middle

The NFFCHOF Bill Dooley (N.C.) Chapter held its annual Pigskin Preview July 20 at the Embassy Suites in Cary, N.C. The event features insights from the five local college head coaches on the upcoming season. Expected to attend are Duke’s David Cutcliffe, N.C. State’s Dave Doeren, North Carolina’s Larry Fedora, North Carolina Central’s Jerry Mack and East Carolina’s Scottie Montgomery.

The NFF Touchdown Club of Houston Chapter hosted a luncheon featuring Baylor head coach Matt Rhule today at the JW Marriott Houston. On July 29, the chapter will hold its Inaugural Poker Tournament at Whitmeyer Distillery in Houston.

Two-Minute Drill



Former St. Norbert (Wis.) quarterback and defensive back John Nowak passed away July 11. He was 69… Moses Norman, the former Director of Football Officials for the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference, passed away July 11. He was 82… Former Alabama football player Tom Bain passed away July 13. He was 73… Former Rice football player and assistant coach W.C. Treadway Jr. passed away July 15. He was 85… Former Rice football player Cornelius Walker passed away July 15. He was 63… Former Bucknell tight end Tom Mitchell passed away July 16. He was 72… Concord (W.Va.) defensive coordinator and former Toledo offensive lineman Pat Dawson passed away… Former Missouri State linebacker Eldo Perry recently passed away
More News of Interest

NFF-partner Under Armour and Hawai’i announced a long-term partnership extension through 2022… UCLA unveiled its new Under Armour uniforms for the 2017 season…

Related Content

Jul 11 2024

Marian’s Tipping Named the Crossroads League Male Athlete of the Year

Marian’s Tipping Named the CL Male Athlete of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Isaiah Tipping of the Marian University men’s...
Jul 11 2024

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named Crossroads League Female Athlete-of-the-Year

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named CL Female Athlete-of-the-Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Eva Joldersma of the Indiana Wesleyan...
Jul 10 2024

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year   UPLAND, Ind. – Aidan Craig was recognized on Wednesday for his record-setting season with the Taylor men’s lacrosse...
Jul 10 2024

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Marian’s Steve Downing has been named...
Jul 10 2024

Grace’s Josh Neuhart Voted Crossroads League SID of the Year

Neuhart Voted Crossroads League SID of the Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Josh Neuhart of Grace College had been named its...