Players from Power 5 Conferences Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll in Week Three

by | Sep 18, 2017 | RRSN News | 0 comments

Players from Power 5 Conferences Earn Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll in Week Three

ACC, Pac-12 Foursome Lead Teams to Wins with Combined 948 Yards, Seven Touchdowns


Louisville, Ky. – September 18, 2017 – Three offensive players and return specialists from the ACC and one from the Pac-12 earned Paul Hornung Award Honor Roll status in Week Three of the season – Sean Riley (Syracuse), Shaun Wilson (Duke), Olamide Zacchaeus (UVA), and Dante Pettis (Washington). The foursome combined for 948 all-purpose yards and seven touchdowns in leading their respective teams to intersectional wins.


The Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse is given annually by the Louisville Sports Commission to the most versatile player in major college football. The winner of this year’s award and his family will be honored on March 7, 2018, at a banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville, Ky.


Washington WR / return specialist Dante Pettis led the Huskies to a 48-16 win over Fresno State, accounting for half of the team’s total points and 214 all-purpose yards playing three positions. He set up UW’s first score with a 36-yard pass completion, caught five passes for 92 yards and three scores, and returned three punts, including a 77-yard touchdown return.


Syracuse WR / return specialist Sean Riley accounted for a career-high 247 all-purpose yards with 13 touches in the team’s 41-17 victory over Central Michigan. Riley returned two kickoffs for 98 total yards, including a 64-yard return in the second quarter to set up what proved to be the winning score. He returned three punt returns for 20 yards, had four carries for 47 yards, and four receptions for 82 yards.


Duke RB / return specialist Shaun Wilson was a workhorse for the Blue Devils, touching the ball 29 times at four positions and accounting for 262 all-purpose yards and two touchdowns in a 34-20 victory over Baylor. He rushed for 176 yards and two scores, caught five for 33 yards, and returned six punts and kickoffs for 63 yards.


Virginia WR / return specialist Olamide Zaccheaus was a difference-maker this week in the Cavelier’s 38-18 win over UConn with 15 touches for 225 all-purpose yards and a score. He caught nine passes for 122 yards and a touchdown, had four carries for 47 yards, and returned two kicks for 56 yards.


The Louisville Sports Commission successfully launched the Paul Hornung Award in 2010 to honor its namesake and native son, and to promote outstanding performances by versatile college football players who often go unnoticed. Previous winners by year are:

2010: Owen Marecic of Stanford won the inaugural Paul Hornung Award as a two-way starter and All Pac-10 performer at fullback and honorable mention at linebacker;

2011: Brandon Boykin of Georgia won the award as a lockdown, All-American defensiveback who also excelled on offense and special teams;

2012: Tavon Austin of West Virginia won the award as one of two players in the nation with more than 500 yards in three different categories (rushing, receiving, and kick returns);

2013: Odell Beckham Jr. of LSU won the award after finishing the season ranked second in the nation and first in the SEC with 2,222 all-purpose yards and 185.2 average yards per game;

2014: Shaq Thompson of Washington won the award as a two-way player, earning first team All-America honors at linebacker and finishing as the Husky’s second-leading rusher at tailback;

2015: Christian McCaffrey of Stanford won in 2015 after amassing 3,496 all-purpose yards with 1,847 rushing, 540 receiving, and 1,109 return, breaking Barry Sanders record of 3,250 set in 1988; and

2016: Jabrill Peppers of Michigan won the award playing 15 different positions, earning consensus All-America at linebacker, and becoming the first player ever to earn Big Ten Defensive Player of the year, Linebacker of the Year, and Specialist of the Year.
Texas Roadhouse signed on as presenting sponsor of the Paul Hornung Award in 2011 and will team with the Louisville Sports Commission to power fan voting again this season. College football fans nationwide have the opportunity to vote for their favorite player during the regular season and again during the bowl season. Fan voting is now open at and factors into the selection of the Paul Hornung Award finalists and winner.



Related Content

Jun 26 2024

Glover Named TU Men’s Soccer Interim Head Coach for 2024 Season

Glover Named TU Men’s Soccer Interim Head Coach for 2024 Season UPLAND, Ind. – Taylor University Director of Intercollegiate Athletics, Kyle Gould, announced on...
Jun 26 2024

Sooners tabbed 2024 ATEC/NFCADivision I National Coaching Staff of the Year

Sooners tabbed 2024 ATEC/NFCADivision I National Coaching Staff of the Year LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Coming off its record fourth consecutive national title, University of...
Jun 16 2024

Bases-Loaded Walk Lifts Lake Central in 12-Inning Marathon

Anna Kayser, Special to INDIANAPOLIS - It took a while – 12 innings in 3 hours and 46 minutes, to be exact, as the longest game by innings in IHSAA State...
Jun 16 2024

Gavin Jackson throws first no-hitter, Providence takes 2A crown

Rich Torres, Special to INDIANAPOLIS – Providence’s Gavin Jackson took the mound for the bottom of the seventh inning on Saturday completely oblivious....
Jun 15 2024

New Prairie’s big fourth inning secures first state title

Anna Kayser, Special to INDIANAPOLIS - Down to his final strike with two outs in the fourth inning, New Prairie sophomore Reed Robinson laced a two-run single...