Uhland’s Extra-Inning Solo Blast Carries Cathedral to Undefeated Season

by | Jun 18, 2017 | Featured, Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

Evan Uhland’s blast over the left field fence was the difference as Indianapolis Cathedral took a 4-3 extra inning victory from Penn in the Class 4A state championship game at Victory Field in Indianapolis.
Uhland’s solo homer off Penn pitcher Chase McKenzie led off the top of the eighth inning, broke a 3-3 deadlock and helped Cathedral complete a perfect 29-0 season. The Irish became the fourth undefeated state champion and first since 2007. It was the third baseball crown for the Irish (2001, 2007) and the school’s second title this year joining the volleyball team which carried home its own big trophy last November. Head coach Ed Freije led the team to the championship in his first season as coach. He also doubles as the school’s girls basketball coach.
Penn (27-7) jumped in front in its first at-bat as Trevor Waite led off with a triple to right center and was batted in on a infield grounder.
Second-ranked Cathedral answered in the top of the second as Nick Eaton tripled to right field. Ross Kirkpatrick pinch ran for Eaton and scored two batters later on an infield grounder to the second baseman. The Irish added runs in the top of the fourth and fifth innings to take a 3-1 lead.
Penn rallied in the bottom of the sixth inning with two runs to tie it at 3-3 when Brock Boynton, pinch-running for Nolan Metcalf who singled, scored on Payton Kerr’s double to right field. Nate Lovisa then sent a sac fly to center field allowing Ryan Lynch to score from third. Lynch had reached base on a fielder’s choice and advanced to third on Kerr’s double.
Uhland finished the game 3-for-4 with two runs scored and the solo homerun. Nick Eaton (11-0), who pitched all eight innings for Cathedral, allowed six hits and struck out seven Kingsmen batters. Metcalf led Penn going 3-for-4 at the plate.
It was the first loss in a state championship game for Penn and 30th year coach Greg Dikos after winning all four of its previous appearances.
Penn’s Trevor Waite named Mental Attitude recipient
Following the game, members of the IHSAA Executive Committee announced Trevor Waite of Penn High School as the winner of this year’s L.V. Phillips Mental Attitude Award in Class 4A Baseball.
Trevor graduated with a 3.9 GPA and earned Academic High Honors. He also received the Pennant Award for Outstanding Journalism and Contribution to School Culture. At Penn, Trevor was part of the school’s newspaper, Pennant, where he was an editor. He is the editor of the media game notes, and the lead graphic designer, in which he won praise from professional media outlets for his excellence in both fields. He also spent time as an intern in the guidance office.
As an athlete, Trevor is part of the Kingsmen baseball program that has reached the state championship game twice in three seasons. He is a three-year starter and four-year letterman. He was recognized as NIC 1st Team All-Conference Honorable Mention Outfield in 2016. Other personal accomplishments include, NIC All-Academic Team in 2017 and was nominated for North vs. South All-Star Game.
Trevor is the son of Marc and Jennifer Waite of Granger, Indiana. He will be attending the University of Dayton, where he received a scholarship to play baseball for the Flyers. He plans on studying computer science.
The award is annually presented to an outstanding senior participant in each state championship game who has best demonstrated excellence in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in baseball. The award is named in honor of the late L.V. Phillips, who served as the second commissioner of the IHSAA from 1945-62.
Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, the IHSAA’s corporate partner, presented a $1,000 scholarship to the general scholarship fund at Penn High School in the name of Trevor Waite.

Related Content

Jul 11 2024

Marian’s Tipping Named the Crossroads League Male Athlete of the Year

Marian’s Tipping Named the CL Male Athlete of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Isaiah Tipping of the Marian University men’s...
Jul 11 2024

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named Crossroads League Female Athlete-of-the-Year

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named CL Female Athlete-of-the-Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Eva Joldersma of the Indiana Wesleyan...
Jul 10 2024

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year   UPLAND, Ind. – Aidan Craig was recognized on Wednesday for his record-setting season with the Taylor men’s lacrosse...
Jul 10 2024

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Marian’s Steve Downing has been named...
Jul 10 2024

Grace’s Josh Neuhart Voted Crossroads League SID of the Year

Neuhart Voted Crossroads League SID of the Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Josh Neuhart of Grace College had been named its...