MIAMI GARDENS, Fla.—The Southeastern University men’s basketball team landed two players on the All-Sun Conference First-Team, and picked up two more awards for off the court actions.
Ryan Atkins and CJ Reese were named to the all-conference team, marking the first time the Fire had more than one player recognized on the top tier.
Atkins, a senior from Miami, is third in The Sun Conference in scoring at 21.9 points per game. This season, Atkins had 17 games with 20 or more points and five with over 30 points. He also ranks in the Top 20 nationally in free throw percentage at 85.8%.
Reese was fourth in the conference in field goal percentage at 51.8%, and was fourth in assists per game at 4.9. The College Park, Ga. native is currently averaging 14.5 points per game, and has gone over 20 in a game seven times.
Sophomore Carlon Holder was named the Champion of Character award recipient, marking the seventh Champion of Character award won by a Southeastern student-athlete this year.
Carlon spends the summers as a Ministry Volunteer at Lakeside Church, serving in the student ministry and kid’s ministry. He preaches to youth on Wednesday nights during the season, and also teaches Sunday School.
“The goal of my ministry is to give people who are too afraid to come inside the church a look of what goes on in the church,” said Holder. “Hopefully, they feel comfortable and confident when coming through our doors.”
Holder also helped organize a clean-up team following Hurricane Irma, partnering with the Lakeland Police Athletic League, running basketball clinics for children without power, and helping to deliver food to those in need.
Holder joins Caleb Konieczny (2015-16) and Arthur Jackson (2011-12) as SEU winners in men’s basketball.
For his success in the classroom, Harrison Hebert was named to the Academic All-Sun Conference list. To be eligible, a student-athlete must have completed two semesters at their institution with a grade point average greater than 3.5 on a 4.0 scale.
The Fire take on top-seeded St. Thomas on Monday at 5 p.m. in The Sun Conference Tournament Semifinal.