2017 Fall Watch List for the Rimington Trophy

by | Jul 11, 2017 | Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

The Rimington Trophy Committee has released its 2017 Fall Watch List, which includes the following centers in Division I football. In order to create this list, the committee accepted nominations from programs across the country that submitted their current starting centers for consideration. This preseason, at least one player from each conference was nominated, with the MAC leading at ten student-athletes selected and the Big 12 and SEC following with eight each respectively.


The following is a list of those named to the 2017 Fall Watch List:


Conference School First Name Last Name Class Year Height Weight
Am. Athl.            
  East Carolina Garrett McGhin JR 6’6 327
  Houston Will Noble JR 6’4 290
  Memphis Drew Kyser JR 6’5 300
  SMU Evan Brown SR 6’3 308
  USF Cameron Ruff SR 6’3 320
  Temple Matt Hennessy RS FR 6’4 285
  Tulsa Chandler Miller JR 6’3 293
  Boston College Jon Baker SR 6’3 300
  Duke Austin Davis RS SR 6’4 290
  Florida State Alec Eberle RS JR 6’4 294
  North Carolina Cam Dillard Grad 6’4 310
  Wake Forest Ryan Anderson RS JR 6’6 300
Big Ten            
  Illinois Nick Allegretti JR 6’4 315
  Iowa James Daniels JR 6’4 295
  Maryland Brendan Moore JR 6’3 300
  Michigan State Brian Allen SR 6’2 305
  Minnesota Jared Weyler RS JR 6’4 305
  Northwestern Brad North RS SR 6’2 290
  Ohio State Billy Price SR 6’4 312
  Wisconsin Michael Deiter JR 6’6 329
Big 12            
  Iowa State Julian Good-Jones SO 6’5 295
  Kansas Mesa Ribordy SO 6’4 305
  Kansas State Reid Najvar SR 6’4 295
  Oklahoma Erick Wren RS SR 6’1 320
  Oklahoma State Brad Lundblade SR 6’3 300
  TCU Austin Schlottmann SR 6’6 300
  Texas Zach Shackelford SO 6’4 305
  Florida Atlantic Antonyo Woods RS SR 6’3 295
  Marshall Levi Brown RS SO 6’4 296
  Old Dominion Nick Clarke JR 6’4 285
  Rice Trey Martin SR 6’2 300
  WKU Dennis Edwards RS JR 6’1 305
  Army West Point Bryce Holland SR 6’2 285
  BYU Tejan Koroma SR 6’0 290
  Notre Dame Sam Mustipher SR 6’2.5 305
  Akron LaVonne Gauthney SR 6’1 290
  Bowling Green Tim McAuliffe RS SR 6’1 282
  Buffalo James O’Hagan JR 6’3 310
  Central Michigan Austin Doan SR 6’4 300
  Eastern Michigan Dakota Tallman RS JR 6’5 307
  Kent State Nathan Puthoff SR 6’4 309
  Miami (OH) Danny Godlevske SO 6’2 298
  NIU Luke Shively RS JR 6’2 286
  Ohio U Jake Pruehs SR 6’2 300
  Western Michigan John Keenoy JR 6’3 300
Mtn. West            
  Boise State Mason Hampton RS SR 6’3 303
  Colorado State Jake Bennett SR 6’3 290
  Fresno State Aaron Mitchell SR 6’2 307
  Hawaii Asotui Eli JR 6’4 315
  Nevada Sean Krepsz JR 6’6 320
  New Mexico Blaise Fountain SR 6’0 280
  San Jose State Keoni Taylor SR 6’3 303
  Arizona Nathan Eldridge RS SO 6’3 290
  California Addison Ooms JR 6’4 310
  Oregon Jake Hanson RS SO 6’5 307
  Oregon State Sumner Houston JR 6’2 289
  Stanford Jesse Burkett JR 6’4 307
  UCLA Scott Quessenberry SR 6’3 315
  Washington Coleman Shelton SR 6’4 297
  Alabama Bradley Bozeman RS SR 6’5 314
  Arkansas Frank Ragnow SR 6’5 316
  Auburn Austin Golson SR 6’5 312
  Florida T.J. McCoy RS SO 6’1 308
  LSU Will Clapp JR 6’5 309
  Ole Miss Sean Rawlings JR 6’5 294
  South Carolina Alan Knott SR 6’4 290
  Texas A&M Colton Prater SO 6’4 300
Sun Belt            
  Georgia State Gabe Mobley RS JR 6’2 280
  Texas State Aaron Brewer SO 6’3 285
  Troy Deontae Crumitie JR 6’2 283


While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these three prestigious teams to determine a winner:


  • Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)
  • Sporting News (SN)
  • Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)


Because the selectors of these three All-America teams can place centers in a “mix” of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two centers. The Rimington Trophy committee’s policy is to count all players that play primarily the center position for their respective teams as centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the All- America teams.


The center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there is a tie with first team votes, then the center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by a majority vote from the Rimington Trophy committee. The winner will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, January 13, 2018.


About the Rimington Trophy

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.9 million for the cystic fibrosis community. The award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $130 million for the fight against cystic fibrosis.


Dave Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus first-team All-American center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the Outland Trophy’s only double winner as the nation’s finest college interior lineman.


For more on the Rimington Trophy and a list of past recipients, visit www.rimingtontrophy.com


About the NCFAA

The Rimington Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 23 awards boast 765 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.

Related Content

Feb 25 2024


SENSATIONAL SEVEN Riley (20-4): Payton Baird poured in 26 points in the Wildcats’ 72-37 win over Bowman Academy. Northridge (18-5): Despite 14 points and 12 rebounds...
Feb 25 2024

2023-24 IBCA Boys’ Basketball Top 20 Poll – February 25, 2024

1 Fishers (20)                    438 22-1 2 Noblesville                     407 20-2 3 Westfield                        394 19-2 4 Kokomo                           364...
Feb 25 2024

No. 1 Grace MBB Wins Crossroads League Title On Senior Day

Lancers celebrate Senior Day in style WINONA LAKE, Ind. - Grace’s men’s basketball game on Saturday had the feel of a coronation. The Lancers rolled Mt. Vernon Nazarene...
Feb 25 2024

Lake Central falls to Lawrence Central in 4A state title game 55-28

INDIANAPOLIS - One thing you have to say about the now first-time Class 4A state champion Lawrence Central Bears is they never flinch. That became very apparent midway...
Feb 24 2024

Marian wins Crossroads League Women’s Title

INDIANAPOLIS - In front of a packed house on the final day of the regular season Saturday afternoon, the Marian women's basketball team put a stamp on their 2024...