2018-19 NAIA Division II Women’s Basketball All-Americans Announced

by | Mar 15, 2019 | Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

2018-19 NAIA Division II Women’s Basketball All-Americans Announced

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) announced the 2019 Division II Women’s Basketball All-America teams on Thursday. Maya Ah You Dias, senior guard for Eastern Oregon, was named National Player of the Year.

Ah You Dias is a two-time First Team All-American also collecting second team in her sophomore season. Ah You Dias was a key part of Eastern Oregon’s 29-4 season and their trip to the national tournament this year. A native of Middleton, Idaho, she led her team in scoring averaging 23.2 points per game. She averaged 54 percent from the field and 44 percent behind the arch this season. She was dominate at the free throw line as well shooting 82 percent.

Maya Ah You Dias, Kendall Bradbury, Kelsie Cleeton and Philly Lammers return to the list again this year having earned First Team All-American in 2018 as well.

Several players made the jump from second and third team last year to 1st team this year. Kassidy De Jong of Northwestern (Iowa) earned Honorable Mention in 2018 and was rewarded First Team this year. Kelli Schrauth earned Second Team honors in 2018 and jumped to First Team in 2019.

Head Coach Drew Olson of Concordia was named NAIA Division II Women’s Basketball Coach of the Year. Coach Olson led the Bulldogs to their first-ever national championship victory over Southeastern by a final of 67-59. Olson took his team to the championship in 2015 and 2018 earning runner-up both times. Under the direction of Olson the Bulldogs finished this season with a record of 35-3.First Team
Name              Institution             Position
*Maya Ah You Dias Eastern Oregon G
Kyendi Cheeseman Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) G

Kendall Bradbury Taylor (Ind.) F
Kassidy De Jong Northwestern (Iowa) G
Philly Lammers Concordia (Neb.) F
Elsa Paulsson-Glantz Southeastern (Fla.) G
Kelli Schrauth Cardinal Stritch (Wis.) F
Kelsie Cleeton College of the Ozarks (Mo.) G

Nicole Buckingham Lawrence Tech (Mich.) G
Jordan Woodvine Corban (Ore.) F

*NAIA National Player of the Year

Second Team
Name Institution Position
Kaitlin Aylward St. Francis (Ill.) C
Mackenzie Cann Southeastern (Fla.) G
Sarah Carr Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) F
Kylah Comley Sterling (Kan.) G
Dejah Cyrus Marian (Ind.) F
Samantha Earl Antelope Valley (Calif.) G
Shandra Farmer Hastings (Neb.) G
Erika Feenstra Dordt (Iowa) F
Cassidy Johnson College of the Ozarks (Mo.) G
Kendall Knapke Indiana Tech F
Third Team
Name Institution Position
Mia Belvin UC Merced (Calif.) G
Jaida Carter Rio Grande (Ohio) G
Joelle Ertl Mayville State (N.D.) G
Michaela Faber Aquinas (Mich.) C
Darbi Gustafson Northwestern (Iowa) C
Jess Learned Olivet Nazarene (Ill.) F
Morgan Perkins St. Andrews (N.C) C
Grayce Roach IU Northwest (Ind.) G
Danae Ruiz Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) G
Nohea Waiwaiole Oregon Tech G
Honorable Mention
Name      Institution      Position
Samara Auguste St. Thomas (Fla.) G
Kanesha Battle Florida Memorial G
Becca Buchs Taylor (Ind.) G
Paige Bunn Avila (Mo.) F
Alyssa Case College of Idaho G
Taylor Cockerill Condcordia (Neb.) G
Karli Combs Bryan (Tenn.) G
Morgan Ediger Tabor (Kan.) G
Chanel Fanter Saint Xavier (Ill.) F
Sarah Fryman Huntington (Ind.) F
Kara Gerka Saint Francis (Ind.) F
Haley Hall Alice Lloyd (Ky.) G
Mackenzie Huber Valley City State (N.D.) C
Nicole Ignasiak Indiana Wesleyan F
De Ann Kauffman Indiana Tech F
Deandra Luna Bryan (Tenn.) PG
Elexis Martinez Bellevue (Neb.) F
Sierra Mitchell Morningside (Iowa) G
Rylie Osthus Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.) G
Savannah Shamblin WVU Tech (W.Va.) G
Katie Snow Concordia (Mich.) G
Emylyn Wright Judson (Ill.) G

Related Content

Jun 16 2024

Bases-Loaded Walk Lifts Lake Central in 12-Inning Marathon

Anna Kayser, Special to IHSAA.org INDIANAPOLIS - It took a while – 12 innings in 3 hours and 46 minutes, to be exact, as the longest game by innings in IHSAA State...
Jun 16 2024

Gavin Jackson throws first no-hitter, Providence takes 2A crown

Rich Torres, Special to IHSAA.org INDIANAPOLIS – Providence’s Gavin Jackson took the mound for the bottom of the seventh inning on Saturday completely oblivious....
Jun 15 2024

New Prairie’s big fourth inning secures first state title

Anna Kayser, Special to IHSAA.org INDIANAPOLIS - Down to his final strike with two outs in the fourth inning, New Prairie sophomore Reed Robinson laced a two-run single...
Jun 15 2024

Barr-Reeve “finished the job”, wins first baseball crown

Rich Torres, Special to IHSAA.org INDIANAPOLIS – Third time was the charm for the top-ranked Barr-Reeve Vikings on Friday night at Victory Field in downtown...
Jun 11 2024

Valpo Athletics Mourns the Passing of Janet Drew; Celebration of Life to be Held at ARC on Saturday, June 15

Valpo Athletics Mourns the Passing of Janet Drew; Celebration of Life to be Held at ARC on Saturday, June 15 The Valparaiso University Department of Athletics is...