Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

2019 IndyStar Indiana Boys All-Stars named

by | Apr 9, 2019 | Basketball Blogs, Featured, Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

13 players, 2 honorary players selected for squad that will face Kentucky in June

Fifteen players have been selected for the 2019 IndyStar Indiana Boys All-Stars, it was announced Tuesday (April 9).

Thirteen of the chosen group will play three games in June — one exhibition game against the Indiana Junior All-Stars as well as home-and-home contests against the Kentucky All-Stars. Two of the players are being honored as All-Stars, but injuries will prevent them from participating in the games.

The 2019 Indiana Boys All-Stars, listed alphabetically, are: Ali Ali of East Noble, Cobie Barnes of Floyd Central, Jesse Bingham of Warren Central, Ethan Brittain-Watts of Culver Academy, Luke Bumbalouogh of New Castle, Armaan Franklin of Cathedral, Mason Gillis of New Castle, Alex Hemenway of Castle, Trayce Jackson-Davis of Center Grove, Dawand Jones of Ben Davis, Jake LaRavia of Lawrence Central, John Michael Mulloy of Carmel, Brandon Newman of Valparaiso, Isaiah Thompson of Zionsville and Jalen Windham of Ben Davis.

Ali and Gillis are honorary selections and will not play in the games because of injuries.

The head coach for the 2019 Boys All-Stars will be Criss Beyers, who recently stepped down as coach at Warren Central to accept the coaching job at Franklin Central. He will be assisted by Aaron Garrett of Batesville and Dave Milausnic of Lake Central.

The 2019 IndyStar Indiana Mr. Basketball will be announced from within the group of All-Stars listed above at The Star’s Indiana Sports Awards program on May 5 at Clowes Memorial Hall in Indianapolis.

The Junior-Senior exhibition game is set for June 5 at a site to be announced. The first game against Kentucky will be June 7 at Bellarmine University’s Knights Hall in Louisville. The final game against Kentucky will be June 8 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.

All three dates will be doubleheaders with the IndyStar Indiana Girls All-Stars.

The Indiana Junior All-Stars, boys and girls, also will play home-and-home doubleheaders against the Kentucky Junior All-Stars. Those games tentatively are set for June 1 (or possibly on June 2) at a Kentucky site to be announced and June 3 at Jeffersonville High School.

The Indiana All-Stars program was founded in 1939 when the Indiana Boys All-Stars played the state champion Frankfort Hot Dogs. The series with Kentucky began in 1940, and the girls portion of the All-Stars was added in 1976. The Junior All-Stars, boys and girls, were added in 1996.

The Indiana portion of the All-Star Games is organized and produced by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association. The Indianapolis Star, with its IndyStar brand, is a title sponsor.

Mr. Basketball is selected through a balloting process of coaches and media overseen by game organizers from the IBCA. The remainder of the team is finalized by All-Star game director Mike Broughton after observing numerous games and events throughout the season, conferring with coaches, school officials and media across the state and reviewing votes submitted by coaches and media who each could recommend up to 10 players.

A complete list of those chosen as 2019 IndyStar Indiana Boys All-Stars follows.

2019 IndyStar Indiana Boys All-Stars

Name, School, Height, Pos., PPG, College Choice

*Ali Ali, East Noble, 6-8, F, 17.1, Akron

Cobie Barnes, Floyd Central, 6-6, F, 25.3, Indiana State

Jesse Bingham, Warren Central, 6-5, F, 14.4, Indianapolis

Ethan Brittain-Watts, Culver Academy, 6-1, G, 16.0, Boston University

Luke Bumbalough, New Castle, 6-0, G, 31.3, Ball State

Armaan Franklin, Cathedral, 6-5, G, 23.8, Indiana

*Mason Gillis, New Castle, 6-7, F, 21.6**, Purdue

Alex Hemenway, Castle, 6-4, G, 28.2, Clemson

Trayce Jackson-Davis, Center Grove, 6-9, F, 22.0, Indiana

Dawand Jones, Ben Davis, 6-9, C, 17.9, Ohio State

Jake LaRavia, Lawrence Central, 6-7, F, 17.3, undecided

John Michael Mulloy, Carmel, 6-10, F, 14.3, Butler

Brandon Newman, Valparaiso, 6-4, G, 27.2, Purdue

Isaiah Thompson, Zionsville, 6-1, G, 22.9, Purdue

Jalen Windham, Ben Davis, 6-4, G/F, 17.9, undecided

Head coach: Criss Beyers, Warren Central / Franklin Central

Assistant coaches: Aaron Garrett, Batesville; Dave Milausnic, Lake Central

*injured, honorary selection; **Gillis’ PPG is from 2017-18 season.