KANSAS CITY, Mo. –The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics has officially announced the teams and Opening Round pairings for the 2019 NAIA Volleyball National Championship. The 44-team event will get underway with 12 National Championship Opening Round matches at campus locations on Nov. 23.

The top 19 seeds and championship host Morningside (Iowa) automatically advance to the national championship final site in Sioux City, Iowa. Action inside the Tyson Events Center starts with three days of pool play from Dec. 3-5. The top two teams in each pool will advance to the elimination bracket on Dec. 6, and the national champion will be crowned Dec. 7 with first serve set for 7 p.m. CST on ESPN3.

This year’s field includes 36 automatic qualifiers, 7 at-large selections and one host berth (Morningside). The automatic berths are determined by regular-season champions or runner-ups, conference tournament title winners or runner-ups. The remaining at-large bids were determined by the final regular-season Women’s Volleyball Coaches’ Top 25 Poll announced Monday. Final site pools will be determined on Sunday, Nov. 24, and released by 5 p.m. CST

The NAIA Network – the association’s official video-streaming home – will broadcast all matches excluding the semifinals and championship matches live at the 2019 NAIA Volleyball National Championship final site in Sioux City, Iowa. The video platform, powered by Stretch Internet, allows users access to live video, statistics and social interaction on a number of devices, including mobile. Single-day passes can be purchased for $9.95, while a pool play pass is $24.95 (Dec. 3-5) and a championship package is available at $39.95. You can also buy an All-Championship pass and watch every championship streamed on the NAIA Network in 2018.

The semifinal and championship matches will be streamed via ESPN3.

Qualifier Highlights

  • The Great Plains Athletic Conference dominates the field with five qualifying teams: Concordia (Neb.), Jamestown (N.D.), Morningside (Iowa), Northwestern (Iowa) and Saint Mary (Neb.).
  • Four conferences had three qualifying teams: Appalachian Athletic Conference, American Midwest Conference, Cascade Collegiate Conference, and the North Star Athletic Association.
  • There are nine teams in the 2019 field that are making an appearance in the championship for the first time: Point (Ga.), Lincoln (Ill.), Saint Mary (Kan.), Dakota State (S.D.), Martin Methodist (Tenn.), William Carey (Miss.), Florida Memorial and Lawrence Tech (Mich.).
  • There are eight teams in the 2019 field that are making their 10th or higher appearance at the national championship: Texas Wesleyan, Missouri Baptist, Southern Oregon, Bellevue (Neb.), Westmont (Calif.), Northwestern (Iowa), Madonna (Mich.), Columbia (Mo.).
  • Columbia holds the highest number of appearances overall in the national tournament at 26. They are the only team in the 2019 field and in all of NAIA women’s volleyball that has more than 20 tournament appearances. The closest team to them is Georgetown (Ky.) with 20 total tournament appearances.
  • The 2018 national champion Park (Mo.) returns to the championship as the American Midwest Conference Tournament Champion. The Pirates entered the 2019 season at No. 1 and return to the No. 1 spot in the Top 25 poll for NAIA postseason.
  • There are three teams in the 2019 field that have previously won a title: Columbia (1998, 1999, 2001, 2015), Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) (2017) and Park (2014, 2018).
  • Columbia is the only team in the tournament field to have won more than one title as well as the only team in the field to win a title in consecutive years (1998-99-01-15).
  • Indiana and Missouri yield the highest number of championship qualifiers with four each. Illinois, Iowa, Nebraska and Oregon followed with three.
  • Twenty-seven teams return to the championship after competing in the 2018 championship.
  • Saint Mary (Neb.) returns to the championship field after a 12-year drought. The Flames return to the national championship for the first time since 2006.


Qualifier Information

School Qualifications Appearances Last Qualified Titles
Bellevue (Neb.) At-Large 12 2018
Brescia (Ky.) River States Regular-Season Champion 2 2018
Central Methodist (Mo.) Heart of America Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 2 2018
Columbia (Mo.) At-Large 26 2018 4
Concordia (Neb.) At-Large 2 2015
Corban (Ore.) At-Large 4 2018
Dakota State (S.D.) At-Large 1 0
Eastern Oregon Cascade Collegiate Conference Tournament Runner-Up 6 2018
Embry-Riddle (Ariz.) California Pacific Conference Tournament Champion 7 2018
Florida Memorial The Sun Tournament Champion 1 0
Grand View (Iowa) Heart of America Athletic Conference Regular-Season Champion 9 2018
Huston-Tillotson (Texas) Red River Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 1 0
Indiana Wesleyan Crossroads League Regular Season Champion/Tournament Champion 8 2017
IU Kokomo (Ind.) River States Conference Tournament Champion 5 2018
IU South Bend (Ind.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Runner-Up 2 2016
Jamestown (N.D.) Great Plains Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 7 2018
Lawrence Tech (Mich.) Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Regular Season Champion/Tournament Champion 1 0
Lincoln (Ill.) Association of Independent Institutions Tournament Champion 1 0
Lincoln Christian (Ill.) Association of Independent Institutions Tournament Runner-Up 2 2017
Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) Mid-South Conference Tournament Champion 9 2018 1
Madonna (Mich.) Wolverine Hoosier Athletic Conference Tournament Runner-Up 18 2017
Marian (Ind.) Crossroads League Tournament Runner-Up 3 2018
Martin Methodist (Tenn.) Southern States Athletic Conference Regular-Season Champion/Tournament Champion 1 0
Menlo (Calif.) Golden State Athletic Conference Tournament Runner-Up 6 2014
Milligan (Tenn.) Appalachian Athletic Conference Tournament Runner-Up 3 2018
Missouri Baptist American Midwest Conference Tournament Runner-Up 11 2018
Montana Tech At-Large 5 2017
Morningside (Iowa) Host Berth 8 2018
Northwestern (Iowa) Great Plains Athletic Conference Regular-Season Champion 15 2018
Oklahoma City Sooner Athletic Conference Regular-Season Champion/Tournament Champion 5 2018
Ottawa (Kan.) Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 7 2018
Park (Mo.) American Midwest Conference Regular-Season Champion/Tournament Champion 7 2018 2
Point (Ga.) Appalachian Athletic Conference Regular-Season Runner-up 1 0
Providence (Mont.) Frontier Conference Tournament Champion 2 2018
Reinhardt (Ga.) Appalachian Athletic Conference Regular-Season Champion 3 2018
Saint Mary (Kan.) Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Regular-Season Champion 1 0
Saint Mary (Neb.) At-Large 9 2006
Southern Oregon Cascade Collegiate Conference Regular-Season Champion/Tournament Champion 11 2018
Texas Wesleyan Sooner Athletic Conference Tournament Runner-Up 10 2018
Trinity Christian (Ill.) Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Regular-Season Champion/Tournament Champion 6 2018
Viterbo (Wis.) North Star Athletic Association Tournament Champion 7 2018
Westmont (Calif.) Golden State Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 13 2018
William Carey (Miss.) Southern States Athletic Conference Tournament Runner-Up 1 0
Xavier (La.) Gulf Coast Athletic Conference Tournament Champion 9 2018

Opening Round Match-Ups

  • Lincoln Christian (Ill.) at No. 20 Saint Mary (Neb.)
  • Menlo (Calif.) at No. 21 Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)
  • Lincoln (Ill.) at No. 23 Bellevue (Neb.)
  • Florida Memorial at No. 24 Reinhardt (Ga.)
  • Point (Ga.) at Westmont (Calif.)
  • IU Kokomo (Ind.) at Trinity Christian (Ill.)
  • William Carey (Miss.) at Xavier (La.)
  • IU South Bend (Ind.) at Madonna (Mich.)
  • Brescia (Ky.) at Ottawa (Kan.)
  • Huston-Tillotson (Texas) at Texas Wesleyan
  • Martin Methodist (Tenn.) at Milligan (Tenn.)
  • No. 22 Dakota State (S.D.) at Saint Mary (Kan.)