Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

2020 IndyStar Indiana Boys All-Stars named

13 players selected for squad scheduled to face Kentucky in June


Thirteen players have been selected for the 2020 IndyStar Indiana Boys All-Stars, it was announced Monday (April 6).
Those chosen to the team are scheduled to play three games in June — one exhibition game against the Indiana Junior All-Stars as well as home-and-home contests against the Kentucky All-Stars.

The 2020 Indiana Boys All-Stars, listed alphabetically, are: Tre Coleman of Jeffersonville, Dre Davis of Lawrence Central, Johnell Davis of Gary 21st Century, Malek Edwards of Brownsburg, Trey Galloway of Culver Academy, Anthony Leal of Bloomington South, Mabor Majak of Hamilton Southeastern, Sincere McMahon of Indianapolis Attucks, Nijel Pack of Lawrence Central, Tayson Parker of Northwestern, Tony Perkins of Lawrence North, Kiyron Powell of Evansville Bosse and Charlie Yoder of Westview.

The head coach for the 2020 Boys All-Stars is Ryan Osborn of Carmel. His assistants are Mark Detweiler of Delta and Nate Hawkins of Heritage Hills.

The 2020 IndyStar Indiana Mr. Basketball will be announced from within the group of All-Stars listed above. The Mr. Basketball and Miss Basketball selections were to be announced on May 3 at the IndyStar Sports Awards. With that event postponed because of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Mr. and Miss Basketball announcements are expected soon.

The Junior-Senior exhibition game is set for June 3 at a site to be announced. The first game against Kentucky is scheduled for June 5 at Great Crossing High School in Georgetown, Ky. The final game against Kentucky is scheduled for June 6 at Southport Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.

All three dates are scheduled to be doubleheaders with the IndyStar Indiana Girls All-Stars, who were announced on March 12.

The Indiana Junior All-Stars, boys and girls, are scheduled to play two doubleheaders — one on June 1 against the Kentucky Junior All-Stars at Floyd Central High School and the second on June 3 against the Indiana senior All-Stars. The Girls Junior All-Stars were announced on March 3, and the Boys Junior All-Stars were announced on March 25.

The Indiana All-Stars program was founded in 1939 when the Indiana Boys All-Stars played the state champion Frankfort Hot Dogs. The series with Kentucky began in 1940, and the girls portion of the All-Stars was added in 1976. The Junior All-Stars, boys and girls, were added in 1996.

The Indiana portion of the All-Star Games is organized and produced by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association. The Indianapolis Star, with its IndyStar brand, is a title sponsor.

Mr. Basketball is selected through a balloting process of coaches and media overseen by game organizers from the IBCA. The remainder of the team is finalized by All-Star game director Mike Broughton after observing numerous games and events throughout the season, conferring with coaches, school officials and media across the state and reviewing votes submitted by coaches and media who each could recommend up to 10 players.

A complete list of those chosen as 2020 IndyStar Indiana Boys All-Stars follows.


2020 IndyStar Indiana Boys All-Stars

Name, School, Height, Pos., PPG, College Choice

Tre Coleman, Jeffersonville, 6-6, F, 14.6, Nevada

Dre Davis, Lawrence Central, 6-6, F, 21.6, Louisville

Johnell Davis, Gary 21st Century, 6-4, G, 31.4, Florida Atlantic

Malek Edwards, Brownsburg, 6-6, F, 17.1, Marian

Trey Galloway, Culver Academy, 6-5, G, 21.4, Indiana

Anthony Leal, Bloomington South, 6-5, G, 18.2, Indiana

Mabor Majak, Hamilton Southeastern, 7-0, C, 11.9, Cleveland State

Sincere McMahon, Indianapolis Attucks, 6-1, G, 26.1, Western Illinois

Nijel Pack, Lawrence Central, 6-1, G, 17.7, Kansas State

Tayson Parker, Northwestern, 6-1, G, 28.8, Indiana Wesleyan

Tony Perkins, Lawrence North, 6-4, G, 17.7, Iowa

Kiyron Powell, Evansville Bosse, 6-11, C, 14.2, Houston

Charlie Yoder, Westview, 6-4, G, 27.3, undecided 

Head coach: Ryan Osborn, Carmel

Assistant coaches: Mark Detweiler, Delta; Nate Hawkins, Heritage Hills


2020 IndyStar Indiana All-Star key dates

Monday, June 1 — Junior All-Stars vs. Kentucky Junior All-Stars at Floyd Central High School (6575 Old Vincennes Rd., Floyds Knobs, IN 47119 — girls, 6:00 p.m.; boys, to follow (Core Group, plus Blue Group); admission, $8 at the door.

Wednesday, June 3 — Junior-Senior All-Star game at TBA (address) — girls, 6:00 p.m.; boys, to follow (Core Group, plus Red Group); admission, TBA at the door.

Friday, June 5 — Indiana at Kentucky at Great Crossing High School (120 Betsy Way, Georgetown, KY 40324) — girls, 6:00 p.m.; boys, to follow. Ticket information TBA.

Saturday, June 6 — Indiana vs. Kentucky at Southport Fieldhouse (971 E. Banta Rd., Indianapolis, IN 46227) — girls, 5:00 p.m.; boys, to follow. Ticket information, prices are $75, $22 and $10. Link to purchase tickets – https://ticketracker.com/SelectSection.aspx?eventId=148285