Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

2021-22 Big Ten Women’s Basketball Opponents Announced

by | Jun 17, 2021 | Basketball Blogs, Headlines | 0 comments

Big Ten returns to 18-game conference schedule for the third time in four years

ROSEMONT, Ill. — The Big Ten unveiled a full breakdown of conference opponents for all 14 schools for the 2021-22 women’s basketball season. Each school will play an 18-game conference schedule, facing five schools both home and away and playing the eight remaining schools once. Of the single-play opponents, schools will play four at home and four on the road.

The 2021-22 Big Ten season will culminate March 2-6 with the 29th Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament, which will be held at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. Maryland is the three-time defending Big Ten champion and two-time reigning Big Ten Tournament champion.

The 2022 NCAA Women’s Final Four will also be held on Big Ten soil, with Minnesota serving as the host institution for this year’s event on April 1 & 3 at the Target Center in Minneapolis.

The Big Ten is coming off a historic ’20-21 season that saw conference records set or tied for most schools selected to the NCAA Tournament (7), most teams advancing to the second round (5) and most teams reaching the NCAA Sweet 16 (4), highlighted by Indiana reaching the NCAA Elite Eight for the first time in school history. In addition, eight Big Ten programs were ranked or receiving votes in last year’s final Associated Press or Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA)/USA Today Top 25 polls, and the Big Ten led all conferences with seven of the nation’s top 35 scoring teams, including the country’s two highest-scoring offenses in No. 1 Maryland and No. 2 Iowa.

Nearly 70 percent of last year’s All-Big Ten honorees are expected to return next season, including nine of the coaches’ 10 first-team selections. That group features seven All-Americans, led by Big Ten Player of the Year Naz Hillmon (Michigan), Big Ten Freshman of the Year/Co-National Freshman of the Year Caitlin Clark (Iowa), two-time Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year Veronica Burton (Northwestern), Big Ten Sixth Player of the Year Maddie Burke (Penn State) and 2021 Big Ten Tournament Co-Most Outstanding Players Diamond Miller and Ashley Owusu (Maryland).

Hillmon, Burton, Miller and Owusu, along with Indiana’s Grace Berger, are currently competing with the USA Basketball AmeriCup Team that has gone 3-0 thus far and reached Thursday’s FIBA AmeriCup quarterfinals in San Juan, Puerto Rico. With a win over the U.S. Virgin Islands, Team USA would secure a berth in one of four 2022 FIBA World Cup Qualifying Tournaments which will determine the 12 participating countries for the 2022 FIBA World Cup.

Clark has been selected to the USA Basketball U19 World Cup Team that will compete Aug. 7-19 in Debrecen, Hungary. Maryland’s Angel Reese is among five finalists for the remaining three roster spots on the USA U19 squad.

The complete list of 2021-22 Big Ten single-play and repeat conference opponents follows, while dates, times and television coverage will be announced at a later date.


Home & Away – Indiana, Northwestern, Ohio State, Purdue, Wisconsin

Home Only – Maryland, Michigan, Nebraska, Rutgers

Away Only – Iowa, Michigan State, Minnesota, Penn State


Home & Away – Illinois, Iowa, Maryland, Nebraska, Purdue

Home Only – Michigan State, Minnesota, Northwestern, Penn State

Away Only – Michigan, Ohio State, Rutgers, Wisconsin


Home & Away – Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern

Home Only – Illinois, Maryland, Michigan State, Ohio State

Away Only – Penn State, Purdue, Rutgers, Wisconsin


Home & Away – Indiana, Michigan, Ohio State, Penn State, Rutgers

Home Only – Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue, Wisconsin

Away Only – Illinois, Iowa, Michigan State, Minnesota


Home & Away – Iowa, Maryland, Michigan State, Ohio State, Wisconsin

Home Only – Indiana, Minnesota, Purdue, Rutgers

Away Only – Illinois, Nebraska, Northwestern, Penn State


Home & Away – Michigan, Minnesota, Northwestern, Ohio State, Penn State

Home Only – Illinois, Maryland, Nebraska, Purdue

Away Only – Indiana, Iowa, Rutgers, Wisconsin


Home & Away – Iowa, Michigan State, Nebraska, Rutgers, Wisconsin

Home Only – Illinois, Maryland, Northwestern, Ohio State

Away Only – Indiana, Michigan, Penn State, Purdue


Home & Away – Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Penn State, Wisconsin

Home Only – Michigan, Northwestern, Purdue, Rutgers

Away Only – Illinois, Maryland, Michigan State, Ohio State


Home & Away – Illinois, Iowa, Michigan State, Penn State, Purdue

Home Only – Michigan, Ohio State, Rutgers, Wisconsin

Away Only – Indiana, Maryland, Minnesota, Nebraska


Home & Away – Illinois, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Rutgers

Home Only – Indiana, Nebraska, Penn State, Wisconsin

Away Only – Iowa, Minnesota, Northwestern, Purdue


Home & Away – Maryland, Michigan State, Nebraska, Northwestern, Rutgers

Home Only – Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota

Away Only – Indiana, Ohio State, Purdue, Wisconsin


Home & Away – Illinois, Indiana, Northwestern, Rutgers, Wisconsin

Home Only – Iowa, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State

Away Only – Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Nebraska


Home & Away – Maryland, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue

Home Only – Indiana, Iowa, Michigan State, Wisconsin

Away Only – Illinois, Michigan, Nebraska, Northwestern


Home & Away – Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Purdue

Home Only – Indiana, Iowa, Michigan State, Penn State

Away Only – Maryland, Northwestern, Ohio State, Rutgers