Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

37 Big Ten Softball Students Earn NFCA All-Region Honors

12 conference schools represented on this year’s all-region teams


ROSEMONT, Ill. — A total of 37 Big Ten softball students from 12 different conference schools earned National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) Division I All-Region honors, it was announced Thursday by the NFCA.

The awards honor softball students from the Association’s 10 regions with first-, second- and third-team selections. NFCA member coaches from each respective region voted on the teams, and all the honorees now become eligible for selection to the 2019 NFCA Division I All-America squads. The NFCA will announce this year’s All-America selections at approximately 5 p.m. (ET) on May 29 on the Association’s web site, nfca.org.

Of the 37 Big Ten students to receive all-region accolades this year, 18 of them are prior Academic All-Big Ten honorees, including nine who have previously been recognized as Big Ten Distinguished Scholars. Five of this year’s Big Ten all-region standouts have earned Google Cloud Academic All-District plaudits from the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA), while 13 have received NFCA All-America Scholar-Athlete citations at least once in their careers.

The following is a list of the Big Ten students who earned NFCA Division I All-Region honors this season. The full list of 2019 NFCA Division I All-Region Teams can be seen by CLICKING HERE.

Great Lakes Region First Team

P – Meghan Beaubien, Michigan

P – Amber Fiser, Minnesota*^+

P – Danielle Williams, Northwestern

C – Jordyn Rudd, Northwestern

1B – Kayla Konwent, Wisconsin

2B – Faith Canfield, Michigan

3B – Taylor Johnson, Wisconsin

OF – Lexie Blair, Michigan

OF – Natalie DenHartog, Minnesota

Great Lakes Region Second Team

P – Alex Storako, Michigan

P – Kaitlyn Menz, Wisconsin*

C – Katie Wingert, Rutgers

1B – Hope Brandner, Minnesota

2B – MaKenna Partain, Minnesota*

SS – Jess Hughes, Rutgers#

OF – Ebonee Echols, Michigan State

DP or UTL/Non-Pitcher – Anyssa Iliopoulos, Rutgers*^#

Great Lakes Region Third Team

P – Haley Hestekin, Wisconsin

1B – Alex Sobczak, Michigan**^+#

SS – Maeve Nelson, Northwestern

OF – Natalie Peters, Michigan**^

OF – Maddie Houlihan, Minnesota**^#

Midwest Region First Team

P – Tara Trainer, Indiana**##

P – Morgan Ray, Ohio State**^+##

C – Bella Loya, Illinois

2B – Emily Clark, Ohio State*

SS – Lilli Piper, Ohio State*#

OF – Kiana Sherlund, Illinois*#

OF – Carly Thomas, Illinois***^+#

Midwest Region Second Team

P – Allison Doocy, Iowa*#

3B – Jenny Behan, Purdue#

DP or UTL/Non-Pitcher – Maddie Westmoreland, Indiana

Midwest Region Third Team

P – Lauren Rice, Ohio State

C – Bri Cassidy, Nebraska**^#

SS – Tristen Edwards, Nebraska*#

3B – Annie Fleming, Illinois***^^++##

OF – Bri Betschel, Ohio State**

* – Academic All-Big Ten selection (number of asterisks indicates times chosen – 2019 honorees not yet announced)

^ – Big Ten Distinguished Scholar (number of carats indicates times chosen – 2019 honorees not yet announced)

+ – CoSIDA/Google Cloud Academic All-District selection (number of pluses indicates times chosen, including 2019 season – 2019 Academic All-America teams not yet announced)

# – NFCA All-America Scholar-Athlete selection (number of hashtags indicates times chosen – 2019 honorees not yet announced)