43 Indiana high school seniors win IBCA scholarships

by | May 10, 2017 | Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

43 Indiana high school seniors win IBCA scholarships

Crawley, Mannies, Aikman awards announced by statewide coaches group

Forty-three Indiana high school seniors have been presented 2017 scholarship awards from the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association, it was announced Wednesday (May 10).

The IBCA — a statewide coaches group with about 2,400 members — presents a grant of $750 to each recipient in the names of Marion Crawley, Junior Mannies and Pat Aikman. Through the years, the IBCA has awarded more than $665,000 in scholarships to Indiana students.

“I would like to congratulate you for being selected as a recipient,” IBCA executive director Steve Witty wrote in informing winners of the various selections. “… Thanks for your contributions to Indiana high school basketball, and best of luck as you move on to the college of your choice.”
Wapahani player Brad Clayton, Lanesville player Katelyn Pavey, Hamilton Heights manager Brayden Branstetter and South Spencer manager Madison Melton were winners of Junior Mannies Scholarships for 2017.
Mannies Scholarships are presented to students who have a physical handicap but have contributed to their respective school’s athletic program. Mannies won 311 games as the boys basketball coach at Elwood, Mississinewa, Delphi and other schools. He served as the IBCA Job Placement Director from 1977-83.

A total of 37 Crawley Scholarships were presented to a variety of boys players (18), girls players (13), student managers/trainers (five) and cheerleaders (one). Criteria for the Crawley Scholarship includes achievement in basketball, achievement in academics, participation in extracurricular activities and service to one’s school and community. A list of the 2017 winners is below.

Crawley was a former four-time boys basketball state championship coach — two with the Washington Hatchets and two with the Lafayette Jeff Bronchos — who amassed 644 career wins. He later became the first executive director of the IBCA.
Olivia Collins of Lewis Cass and Jacob Thompson of Eastside were chosen as winners of the seventh Pat Aikman Character and Leadership Awards, named for the former Indiana All-Star game director and former IBCA Coordinator of Special Projects.

Criteria for the Aikman Scholarship include achievements and contributions in basketball, scholastic achievement, extra-curricular activities, and service to school and community. Also, those considered for the Aikman Scholarship are students who plan to enter the fields of journalism, sports management, athletic training or physical therapy.

“These are deserving young people who help make coaching a great profession,” Witty said of all the winners.

A list of the 2017 IBCA Scholarship winners is below.



Student, School, Coach, Position
Brayden Branstetter, Hamilton Heights, Chad Ballenger, manager
Brad Clayton, Wapahani, Matt Luce, player
Madison Melton, South Spencer, Jason Mayes, manager
Katelyn Pavey, Lanesville, Kevin Smith, player



Boys Players: Student, School, Coach
Devon Belcher, Roncalli, Michael Wantz
Jonathon Bounds, Jasper, John Goebel
C.J. Detweiler, Goshen, Michael Wohlford
Mario Dippel, Indianapolis Scecina, Rob New
Gavin Griggs, Shenandoah, David McCollough
Timothy Harris, Gary West, Christopher Buggs
Jacob Heerema, Covenant Christian (DeMotte), John Heerema
Blake Morehead, Alexandria, Dean Morehead
Cameron Northern, Jeffersonville, Joe Luce
Sam Sehlhorst, East Central, David Disbro
Jordan Smith, Hanover Central, Bryon Clouse
Matt Stamper, Centerville, Steve Beach
Jeff Terpstra, Covenant Christian (DeMotte), John Heerema
Will Therber, Indianapolis Scecina, Rob New
Tyler Vogel, Jennings County, Josh Land
Justin Wagler, Loogootee, Kent Chezem
Jonathan Walker, Barr-Reeve, Bryan Hughes
Reeve Zolman, Central Noble, John Bodey

Girls Players: Student, School, Coach

Melinda Bontrager, Northridge, Doug Springer
Sydney Boyd, Angola, Brandon Appleton
Allyssa Edwards, Corydon Central, Michael Uhl
Danielle Fowler, Highland, Tracie Juarez
Stacy Fox, South Decatur, Kelly Fox
Claire Higgins, Shawe Memorial, Camille Leach
Haleigh Hipsher, Vincennes Lincoln, Travis Connor
Lauren Hipsher, Vincennes Lincoln, Travis Connor
Regan Hubbard, Speedway, Jordan Dever
Ashlyn Huffman, Columbus North, Pat McKee
Baili Miller, Jac-Cen-Del, Scott Smith
Andrea Robertson, North Central, DeeAnn Ramey
Michaela Ruiz, Clinton Prairie, Jessica Johnson

Student Managers/Trainers: Student, School, Coach

Matthew Hamon, Columbus East, Brent Chitty
Reagan Lashley, Heritage Hills, Nate Hawkins
Colton Rector, Lawrenceburg, John Blackwell
McClane Rush, Oak Hill, Todd Law
Christian Williams, Alexandria, Dean Morehead


Cheerleader: Student, School, Coaches

Brittany Norman, Union (Modoc), Dan Carmony/Andrew Moore


Student, School, Coach
Olivia Collins, Lewis Cass, Mike Collins
Jacob Thompson, Eastside, Ryan Abbott

Related Content

Jul 11 2024

Marian’s Tipping Named the Crossroads League Male Athlete of the Year

Marian’s Tipping Named the CL Male Athlete of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Isaiah Tipping of the Marian University men’s...
Jul 11 2024

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named Crossroads League Female Athlete-of-the-Year

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named CL Female Athlete-of-the-Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Eva Joldersma of the Indiana Wesleyan...
Jul 10 2024

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year   UPLAND, Ind. – Aidan Craig was recognized on Wednesday for his record-setting season with the Taylor men’s lacrosse...
Jul 10 2024

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Marian’s Steve Downing has been named...
Jul 10 2024

Grace’s Josh Neuhart Voted Crossroads League SID of the Year

Neuhart Voted Crossroads League SID of the Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Josh Neuhart of Grace College had been named its...