Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Big Ten Announces 2019 Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients


ROSEMONT, Ill. — The Big Ten Conference office announced its annual postgraduate scholarship recipients on Thursday. Two students competing in intercollegiate athletics from each of the 14 Big Ten institutions who plan to continue their education at a graduate degree program were each awarded a $7,500 scholarship, based on primarily academic achievements.


This year’s recipients span 20 different sports and will continue their education in a variety of different disciplines, including: biochemistry, biological sciences, business, English, engineering physics, exercise science, healthcare management policy, kinesiology, mechanical engineering, movement and sports sciences, nutrition and health sciences, physical therapy, pre-medicine, pre-pharmacy, psychology, public health, speech language and hearing sciences, special education and women’s studies


Three of the recipients have earned the Big Ten Medal of Honor from their respective schools this spring: Sarah Johanek (Rutgers), Annie Pankowski (Wisconsin) and Anton Stephenson (Nebraska). Five of the recipients have been named Big Ten Sportsmanship honorees in their respective sports during this academic year: Illinois’ Joseph Haight (indoor track & field), Maryland’s Louis Dubick (men’s lacrosse), Northwestern’s William Hofstadter (men’s swimming & diving), Ohio State’s Joey Bonanno (men’s gymnastics) and Purdue’s Ben Thornton (wrestling). Stephenson was awarded the Wayne Duke Postgraduate Scholarship in February 2019. April Bockin of Minnesota women’s soccer was named a 2018 second-team Google Cloud Academic All-American.


Pankowski contributed to Wisconsin’s 2019 women’s hockey national championship team. Stephenson was a Big Ten Champion in the vault and earned All-Big Ten first-team honors. Janelle McClelland of Ohio State women’s gymnastics was named to the Big Ten All-Championships Team.


Each Big Ten institution developed its own on-campus selection process when awarding the scholarship. Students must have maintained at least a 3.2 grade-point-average, demonstrated leadership qualities, served as an excellent role model and intended to continue their academic work beyond their baccalaureate degree at a graduate degree program. The scholarship will be used to pay expenses of the student’s postgraduate education to include such related activities as research and teaching, as well as other expenses such as tuition, fees, room and board, required course-related supplies and books. In order to retain the scholarship, the recipient must be accepted into a full-time graduate degree program within three years from the fall semester after selection. The complete list of 2018-19 Big Ten Postgraduate Scholarship recipients can be found below.



Stephanie Abello, Softball

Joseph Haight, Men’s Track & Field


Michael McGinnis, Football
Grace Withrow, Women’s Basketball


Andrew Jatis, Men’s Track & Field
Sommer Sharpe, Women’s Track & Field


Louis Dubick, Men’s Lacrosse
Gaby Go, Women’s Cross County/Track & Field


Marleise Emrhein, Field Hockey

Alec Krystek, Men’s Gymnastics


Michigan State


Daniel Chmielewski, Baseball

Ellie Roche, Women’s Swimming & Diving



April Bockin, Women’s Soccer

Alan LeBlang, Men’s Swimming & Diving


Angela Mercurio, Women’s Track & Field

Anton Stephenson, Men’s Gymnastics


William Hofstadter, Men’s Swimming & Diving

Ella Lombard, Women’s Fencing


Ohio State
Joey Bonanno, Men’s Gymnastics

Janelle McClelland, Women’s Gymnastics


Penn State
Jessica Jones, Women’s Gymnastics

Gavin Turner, Men’s Fencing


Alexandra Clarke, Women’s Swimming & Diving

Benjamin Thornton, Wrestling


Sarah Johanek, Women’s Rowing

Brian Shushkovsky, Men’s Soccer


Zander Neuville, Football

Annie Pankowski, Women’s Ice Hockey