Big Ten Announces Baseball All-Big Ten Honors and Individual Award Winners

by | May 23, 2017 | Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

Iowa’s Jake Adams earns Big Ten Player of the Year plaudits

ROSEMONT, Ill. — The Big Ten on Tuesday announced the 2017 Baseball the individual award winners and All-Big Ten teams, as selected by the conference coaches. Iowa’s Jake Adams was named the unanimous Big Ten Player of the Year, Maryland’s Brian Shaffer earned Pitcher of the Year recognition, Maryland’s Tyler Blohm claimed Freshman of the Year honors and Nebraska head coach Darin Erstad was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year.

Adams becomes the second Iowa standout to claim Big Ten Player of the Year honors, and the first since Brett Backlund in 1992. A first baseman for the Hawkeyes, Adams ranks first in the Big Ten in homeruns (24), RBI (65), hits (73) and total bases (159) and ranks second in runs scored with 48.

Shaffer becomes the first Maryland hurler to earn Big Ten Pitcher of the Year accolades. In all games, the right-handed starter currently leads the Big Ten with a 1.67 ERA, ranks second in strikeouts (98) and third in opponent’s batting average (.206).

Blohm is the first Maryland player to capture Big Ten Freshman of the Year plaudits. The starting pitcher has held his opponents to a .228 batting average and is tied for first in the Big Ten with eight total wins, including four in Big Ten play.

Erstad was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year for the first time in his career and is the first Nebraska coach to receive the honor. Erstad guided the Cornhuskers to their first-ever Big Ten Championship this season.

The Big Ten also announced the Sportsmanship Award honorees from each institution. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The complete list of All-Big Ten teams and award winners can be found below.

Player of the Year


Pitcher of the Year

Brian Shaffer, Maryland

Freshman of the Year

Tyler Blohm, Maryland

Coach of the Year

Darin Erstad, Nebraska

All-Big Ten First Team

C – Cole McDevitt, Minnesota


2B – Ako Thomas, Michigan

SS – Michael Brdar, Michigan

3B – Drew Lugbauer, Michigan

OF – Jack Yalowitz, Illinois

OF – Marty Costes, Maryland

OF – Joe Hoscheit, Northwestern

DH – Scott Schreiber, Nebraska

UTIL – Jake Meyers, Nebraska

SP – Brian Shaffer, Maryland

SP – Oliver Jaskie, Michigan

SP – Lucas Gilbreath, Minnesota

RP – Jackson Lamb, Michigan

All-Big Ten Second Team

C – Tyler Cropley, Iowa

1B – Pat McInerney, Illinois

2B – Dan Durkin, Michigan State

SS – Mason McCoy, Iowa

3B – Micah Coffey, Minnesota

OF – Logan Sowers, Indiana

OF – Robert Neustrom, Iowa

OF – Brandon Hughes, Michigan State

DH – Chad Roskelly, Michigan State

UTIL – Matt Lloyd, Indiana

SP – Nick Gallagher, Iowa

SP – Alex Troop, Michigan State

SP – Sal Biasi, Penn State

RP – Brian Glowicki, Minnesota

All-Big Ten Third Team

C – Nick Matera, Rutgers

1B – Toby Hanson, Minnesota

2B – Michael Massey, Illinois

SS – Angelo Altavilla, Nebraska

3B – AJ Lee, Maryland

OF – Craig Dedelow, Indiana

OF – Johnny Slater, Michigan

OF – Dominic Canzone, Ohio State

DH – Chris Folinusz, Rutgers

UTIL – Mike Carter, Rutgers

SP – Pauly Milto, Indiana

SP – Jake Hohensee, Nebraska

SP – Gareth Stroh, Purdue

RP – Mac Lozer, Michigan

All-Big Ten Freshman Team

C – Bryce Bonner, Purdue

1B – MATT GORSKI, Indiana

2B – Michael Massey, Illinois

SS – Jeremy Houston, Indiana

3B – LUKE ROSKAM, Nebraska

OF – Bryce Kelley, Michigan State


OF – Skyler Hunter, Purdue

DH – Casey Dodge, Illinois

UTIL – Jordan Kozicky, Minnesota

SP – TYLER BLOHM, Maryland

SP – Hank Christie, Northwestern

SP – Cal Krueger, Indiana

RP – Tommy Henry, Michigan

Sportsmanship Award Honorees

Anthony Drago, Illinois

Tony Butler, Indiana

Corbin Woods, Iowa

Zach Jancarski, Maryland

Michael Brdar, Michigan

Dan Durkin, Michigan State

Matt Stemper, Minnesota

Ben Miller, Nebraska

Cooper Wetherbee, Northwestern

Jalen Washington, Ohio State

Alex Malinsky, Penn State

Hayden Grant, Purdue

Max Herrmann, Rutgers

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

Related Content

Dec 09 2023

No. 6 Badgers men’s hockey capture No. 17 Nittany Lions, 6-3

No. 6 Badgers capture No. 17 Nittany Lions, 6-3 Carson Bantle nets first-career hat trick MADISON, Wis. – A hat trick from Onalaska native Carson Bantle on 'Wisconsin...
Dec 07 2023

Former Pilot Erica Dregits to be new Women’s Volleyball Head Coach

MISHAWAKA, Ind. --- The Bethel University Athletic Department hired former three-time NCCAA All-American and 2007 NCCAA Women's Volleyball National Champion Erica...
Dec 07 2023

Class of 2023 Formally Enshrined Into U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame

Class of 2023 Formally Enshrined Into U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame BOSTON — Before a capacity crowd at the Westin Copley Place, the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2023 –...
Dec 07 2023

Purdue WBB Beats SEMO, Extends Streak to 4 in a Row

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. – The Purdue women's basketball team ran away to an 83-57 win over Southeast Missouri State on Wednesday night in Mackey Arena. Purdue moved to 6-3...
Dec 07 2023

Valiant Comeback Effort Falls Shy as Central Michigan Edges Valpo

Valiant Comeback Effort Falls Shy as Central Michigan Edges Valpo The Valparaiso University men’s basketball team showed grit and fight throughout the second half on...