Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Big Ten Announces Baseball All-Big Ten Honors and Individual Award Winners

Michigan’s Jordan Brewer earns Big Ten Player of the Year plaudits


ROSEMONT, Ill. — The Big Ten on Tuesday announced the 2019 baseball individual award winners and All-Big Ten teams, as selected by the conference coaches. Michigan’s Jordan Brewer was named the Big Ten Player of the Year, Indiana’s Andrew Saalfrank earned Pitcher of the Year, Maryland’s Maxwell Costes claimed Freshman of the Year recognition and Indiana head coach Jeff Mercer was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year.


Brewer becomes the ninth Michigan standout to claim Big Ten Player of the Year honors, and the first since Nate Recknagel in 2008. An outfielder for the Wolverines, Brewer ranks first overall in batting average (.358), second in slugging percentage (.637), stolen bases (19), hits (69) and RBI (52), and third in runs scored (51) and doubles (18).


Saalfrank becomes the fourth Indiana hurler to earn Big Ten Pitcher of the Year accolades and first since Joey DeNato in 2014. In 69.2 innings pitched, the left-handed starter currently ranks second in the Big Ten in wins (8), third in strikeouts (96) and fifth with a 2.58 ERA.


Costes becomes the second Maryland player to capture Big Ten Freshman of the Year plaudits and first since 2017. The first baseman leads the conference in fielding double plays (22), is tied for first in the Big Ten with eight home runs and is tied for second overall with 23 RBI. 


Mercer was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year, becoming the third Indiana head coach to earn the honor. Mercer guided the Hoosiers to their seventh Big Ten Championship and first since 2014.


The Big Ten also announced the Sportsmanship Award honorees from each institution. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.


The complete list of All-Big Ten teams and award winners can be found below.


Player of the Year: Jordan Brewer, Michigan

Pitcher of the Year: Andrew Saalfrank, Indiana

Freshman of the Year: Maxwell Costes, Maryland

Coach of the Year: Jeff Mercer, Indiana


All-Big Ten First Team

C – Eli Wilson, Minnesota

1B – Maxwell Costes, Maryland

2B – Michael Massey, Illinois

SS – Jack Dunn, Northwestern

3B – Alex Erro, Northwestern

OF – Zac Taylor, Illinois

OF – Jordan Brewer, Michigan

OF – Dominic Canzone, Ohio State

SP – Andy Fisher, Illinois

SP – Andrew Saalfrank, Indiana

SP – Jeff Criswell, Michigan

RP – Garrett Acton, Illinois

DH – Jordan Nwogu, Michigan

At-Large – Matt Lloyd, Indiana


All-Big Ten Second Team

C – Dillon Dingler, Ohio State

1B – Scotty Bradley, Indiana

2B – Royce Ando, Michigan State

SS – Jack Blomgren, Michigan

3B – Cole Barr, Indiana

OF – Randy Bednar, Maryland

OF – Matt Gorski, Indiana

OF – Aaron Palensky, Nebraska

SP – Max Meyer, Minnesota

SP – Dante Biasi, Penn State

SP – Tevin Murray, Rutgers

RP – Grant Leonard, Iowa

DH – Cam Chick, Nebraska

At-Large – Brady Cherry, Ohio State


All-Big Ten Third Team

C – Joe Donovan, Michigan

1B – Jimmy Kerr, Michigan

2B – Shawn Goosenberg, Northwestern

SS – AJ Lee, Maryland

3B – Taylor Wright, Maryland

OF – Jack Yalowitz, Illinois

OF – Elijah Dunham, Indiana

OF – Jesse Franklin, Michigan

SP – Hunter Parsons, Maryland

SP – Karl Kauffmann, Michigan

SP – Seth Lonsway, Ohio State

RP – Bo Hofstra, Purdue

DH – Michael Pineiro, Maryland

At-Large – Cole McKenzie, Purdue


All-Big Ten Freshman Team

C – Michael Trautwein, Northwestern

1B – Maxwell Costes, Maryland

2B – Shawn Goosenberg, Northwestern

SS – Zach Dezenzo, Ohio State

3B – Justin Williams, Penn State

OF – Cam McDonald, Illinois

OF – Grant Richardson, Indiana

OF – Zaid Walker, Michigan State

SP – Michael Doherty, Northwestern

SP – Garrett Burhenn, Ohio State

SP – Seth Lonsway, Ohio State

RP – Willie Weiss, Michigan

DH – Cam Chick, Nebraska

At-Large – Michael Pineiro, Maryland


Sportsmanship Award Honorees

David Craan, Illinois

Drew Ashley, Indiana

Mitchell Boe, Iowa

Taylor Wright, Maryland

Jimmy Kerr, Michigan

Marty Bechina, Michigan State

Jeff Fasching, Minnesota

Joe Acker, Nebraska

Danny Katz, Northwestern

Ridge Winand, Ohio State

Blake Hodgens, Penn State

Bryce Bonner, Purdue

Tyler McNamara, Rutgers