Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Big Ten Announces Baseball All-Big Ten Honors and Individual Award Winners

Nebraska’s Spencer Schwellenbach earns Big Ten Player of the Year plaudits


ROSEMONT, Ill. — The Big Ten on Sunday announced the 2021 baseball individual award winners and All-Big Ten teams, as selected by the conference coaches. Nebraska’s Spencer Schwellenbach was named the Big Ten Player of the Year, Iowa’s Trenton Wallace earned Pitcher of the Year honors, Nebraska’s Max Anderson claimed Freshman of the Year recognition and Huskers head coach Will Bolt was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year.

Schwellenbach becomes the first Nebraska standout to claim Big Ten Player of the Year honors. A shortstop and reliever for the Huskers, Schwellenbach ranks thrid overall in saves (8), fourth in assists (109), third in runs (41), sixth in walks (27) and seventh in RBI (35). The team captain has pitched 25.1 innings with a 0.71 ERA and 29 strikeouts.

Wallace becomes the first Iowa hurler to earn Big Ten Pitcher of the Year accolades. In 73.0 innings pitched, the left-handed starter currently paces the Big Ten in wins (7), strikeouts (106) and ERA (2.34). Wallace is the second Hawkeye pitcher to strike out more than 100 batters in a single season, joining Jim Magrane, who struck out 110 during the 1999 season.


Anderson becomes the second Nebraska player to capture Big Ten Freshman of the Year plaudits and the first since 2016. The third baseman leads the conference in hits (60) and is eighth in the league with a .337 average.

Bolt was named the Big Ten Coach of the Year, becoming the second Nebraska head coach to earn the honor. Bolt guided the Huskers to their second Big Ten Championship and first since 2017.

The Big Ten also announced the Sportsmanship Award honorees from each institution. The students chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These students must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The complete list of All-Big Ten teams and award winners can be found below.
Player of the Year: 
Spencer Schwellenbach, Nebraska
Pitcher of the Year: Trenton Wallace, Iowa
Freshman of the Year: Max Anderson, Nebraska
Coach of the Year: Will Bolt, Nebraska

All-Big Ten First Team

C – Luke Roskam, Nebraska
1B – Anthony Calarco, Northwestern
2B – Ted Burton, Michigan
SS – Benjamin Cowles, Maryland
3B – Jackson Raper, Illinois

OF – Grant Richardson, Indiana

OF – Ben Norman, Iowa

OF – Jaxon Hallmark, Nebraska
SP – Trenton Wallace, Iowa

SP – Steven Hajjar, Michigan

SP – Cade Povich, Nebraska
RP – Spencer Schwellenbach, Nebraska
DH – Justin Janas, Illinois
At-Large – Shawn Goosenberg, Northwestern

All-Big Ten Second Team

C – Griffin Mazur, Michigan
1B – Conner Pohl, Ohio State
2B – Zack Raabe, Minnesota
SS – Benjamin Sems, Michigan
3B – Max Anderson, Nebraska
OF – Chris Alleyne, Maryland

OF – Tito Flores, Michigan

OF – Kade Kern, Ohio State

SP – Gabe Bierman, Indiana

SP – McCade Brown, Indiana

SP – Cameron Weston, Michigan
RP – Ryan Ramsey, Maryland
DH – Matt Wood, Penn State
At-Large – Michael Trautwein, Northwestern

All-Big Ten Third Team*

C – Ryan Hampe, Illinois
1B – Jimmy Obertop, Michigan
2B – Izaya Fullard, Iowa
SS – Branden Comia, Illinois
3B – Chris Brito, Rutgers
OF – Zaid Walker, Michigan State

OF – Ben Nisle, Purdue

OF – Miles Simington, Purdue
SP – Andrew Hoffmann, Illinois

SP – Garrett Burhenn, Ohio State
SP – Seth Lonsway, Ohio State
RP – Willie Weiss, Michigan

RP – TJ Brock, Ohio State
DH – Mike Bolton, Purdue
At-Large – Cole Barr, Indiana

All-Big Ten Freshman Team

C – Luke Shliger, Maryland
2B – Paul Toetz, Indiana
SS – Mitch Jebb, Michigan State
3B – Max Anderson, Nebraska

OF – Morgan Colopy, Indiana
OF – Kade Kern, Ohio State
OF – Ryan Lasko, Rutgers
SP – Riley Gowens, Illinois

SP – Jason Savacool, Maryland
SP – Nick Powers, Michigan State
RP – John Modugno, Indiana
DH – Ethan O’Donnell, Northwestern
At-Large – Matthew Shaw, Maryland

At-Large – Brice Matthews, Nebraska

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Nate Lavender, Illinois

Collin Hopkins, Indiana

Grant Leonard, Iowa

Elliot Zoellner, Maryland

Joe Pace, Michigan

Andrew Morrow, Michigan State

Jack Wassel, Minnesota

Joe Acker, Nebraska

Charlie Bourbon, Northwestern

Joe Gahm, Ohio State

Conor Larkin, Penn State

Trent Johnson, Purdue

Kyle Muller, Rutgers



*Additional honorees due to ties