Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Big Ten Men’s Basketball Final Four Central


• Michigan State will play in the NCAA Final Four for the 10th time in school history after beating No. 1 seed Duke, 68-67, in Washington, D.C., on Sunday. The No. 2 seed Spartans will take on No. 3 seed Texas Tech in the second national semifinal on Saturday, April 6, in Minneapolis, Minn., at 8:49 p.m. ET, on CBS.

• Michigan State, the Big Ten co-champion with Purdue and Big Ten Tournament champion, is making its 33rd appearance in the NCAA Tournament, including its 22nd appearance in a row, and owns a 69-31 (.690) overall record. The Spartans won the national championship in 1979 and 2000, and most recently advanced to the Final Four in 2015. Michigan State has advanced to the Final Four for the 10th time in program history and for the eighth time under Head Coach Tom Izzo.

• With Michigan State in the Final Four, current Big Ten programs have combined for 53 Final Four appearances, including eight in the last 10 seasons and 10 in the last 13 years.

• Since the inception of the Big Ten Tournament in 1998, the conference has now sent 18 teams to the Final Four and eight have advanced to the NCAA Championship Game.

• Over the last 15 years, the Big Ten has sent 12 different teams to the Final Four, including at least one participant in six of the past eight years. Illinois and Michigan State advanced to the Final Four in 2005, followed by Ohio State in 2007 and 2012, the Spartans in 2009, 2010, 2015 and 2019, Michigan in 2013 and 2018 and Wisconsin in 2014 and 2015.

• Since 2005, a Big Ten program has advanced to the NCAA Championship game six times with five different teams appearing in the final. Illinois (2005), Michigan (2013, 2018), Michigan State (2009), Ohio State (2007) and Wisconsin (2015).

• Current Big Ten programs have combined to win 11 national championships, with 10 coming as members of the Big Ten. The last school to win an NCAA title as a member of the Big Ten was Michigan State in 2000. Maryland is the last current Big Ten program to win a title, capturing the 2002 crown prior to joining the Big Ten.

• The Spartans (1979 and 2000) are one of two Big Ten programs to win multiple NCAA Championships. Indiana has won five titles, last winning in 1987.

• Michigan State will play the 20th NCAA Tournament game for Big Ten programs in 2019, on Saturday. Should the Spartans win and advance to Monday’s National Championship, that 21st game will tie for the most games played by Big Ten teams in a single NCAA Tournament. In 2013, Big Ten programs played 21 games, posting a 14-7 mark with Michigan advancing the NCAA title game. In 2000, Big Ten programs played 20 games, posting a 15-5 record.

• Big Ten teams are a combined 13-7 in the 2019 NCAA Tournament, standing two wins shy of the conference record for wins in an NCAA Tournament. The record of 15 wins was set in 2000 when Michigan State last won the National Championship.

• In 2019, ten programs qualified for the postseason including a record eight in the NCAA Tournament, and two in the NIT. The ten teams in the postseason, equals the record achieved in 2017 (seven NCAA Tournament teams and three NIT teams).

• Eight schools qualified for the NCAA Tournament, surpassing the previous conference record of seven, set most recently in 2017.

• Seven schools advanced to the Second Round, surpassing the previous conference record of six set in 1994 and 2013.

• With seven schools advancing to the Second Round, the Big Ten equalled the NCAA record for most teams from one conference in the Round of 32, tying the Big East in 2008 and 2011.

• With three teams in the Sweet 16, the Big Ten is the only conference to send multiple conference teams to the Sweet 16 in each of the last 12 years.

• Six or more Big Ten teams have advanced to the NCAA Tournament in 11 of the previous 14 seasons.