Big Ten Men’s Soccer Coaches Poll

Big Ten announces coaches preseason poll and preseason honors list

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced its 2017 men’s soccer preseason coaches poll and preseason honors list on Wednesday, with Maryland unanimously claiming the top spot among the nine conference teams.

The Terrapins concluded the 2016 campaign with an 18-1-2 record (7-0-1 Big Ten), and claimed the Big Ten Tournament title for the third straight season. Maryland made its 34th NCAA Tournament appearance and 22nd in the past 23 seasons.


Indiana checked in at No. 2 in the preseason poll, followed by third-place Wisconsin, No. 4 Michigan State and Michigan in fifth place.


The 2017 preseason honors list features Maryland’s Gordon Wild, last season’s unanimous Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, and Wisconsin’s NSCAA All-American Chris Mueller. The list includes six 2016 first-team All-Big Ten honorees, seven second-team selections and three All-Freshman Team recipients. In addition, eight of this year’s preseason recipients were named to the 2016-17 Academic All-Big Ten team.


All nine conference teams kick off the 2017 campaign on Friday, Aug. 25.


The complete preseason coaches poll and players to watch list can be found below.




  1. Maryland
  2. Indiana
  3. Wisconsin
  4. Michigan State
  5. Michigan
  6. Penn State
  7. Ohio State
  8. Northwestern
  9. Rutgers




Andrew Gutman, Indiana, Jr., Back

Jeremiah Gutjahr, Indiana, Jr., Midfield

Grant Lillard, Indiana, Sr., Back

Amar Sejdic, Maryland, Jr. Midfielder

Gordon Wild, Maryland, Jr., Forward

Eryk Williamson, Maryland, Jr. Midfielder

Francis Atuahene, Michigan, Jr., Forward

Marcello Borges, Michigan, Jr., Defender

Jack Hallahan, Michigan, So., Forward

Jimmy Fiscus, Michigan State, Sr., Defender

Ken Krolicki, Michigan State, Sr., Midfield

Ryan Sierakowski, Michigan State, Jr., Forward

Elo Ozumba, Northwestern, Sr., Forward

Mattias Tomasino, Northwestern, So., Midfielder

Rouven Wahlfeldt, Northwestern, Sr., Midfielder

Nate Kohl, Ohio State, Sr., Forward

Abdi Mohamed, Ohio State, Jr., Midfielder

Hunter Robertson, Ohio State, Sr., Defender

Evan Finney, Penn State, Sr., Goalkeeper

Aaron Molloy, Penn State, Jr., Midfielder

Pierre Reedy, Penn State, So., Midfielder

Ethan Decker, Rutgers, Sr., Forward

Niel Guzman, Rutgers, Sr., Defender

Erik Sa, Rutgers, Sr., Midfielder

Mike Catalano, Wisconsin, Sr. Midfielder

Chris Mueller, Wisconsin, Sr. Forward

Philipp Schilling, Wisconsin, Sr., Goalkeeper