BIG TEN names Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

by | Jun 7, 2017 | Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners

The Big Ten announced on Tuesday the 28 honorees named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2016-17 academic year


ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten announced on Tuesday the 28 honorees named Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2016-17 academic year. These standouts were chosen from a group of more than 350 students honored throughout the academic year who had displayed positive sportsmanship.


One member of each varsity sports team on every campus was chosen by his or her institution as a Sportsmanship Award honoree, and two Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners were then selected from each institution. All of the Sportsmanship Award winners have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, these honorees must be in good academic standing and must have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.


The 2017 Big Ten Outstanding Sportsmanship Award winners appear below, and the complete list of Sportsmanship Award honorees for all sports from each school is attached as a PDF.


2017 Outstanding Sportsmanship Award Winners



Joe Spencer, Football

Jenna Miller, Women’s Soccer



Matt Schwartzer, Men’s Cross Country

Amanda Cahill, Women’s Basketball



Nicholas Baer, Men’s Basketball

Sophie Plasteras, Field Hockey



Alex Leto, Men’s Track & Field

Hannah Dewey, Softball



Jake Butt, Football

Grace Choi, Women’s Golf



Joe Cox, Men’s Hockey

Allyssah Fitterer, Women’s Volleyball



Bakary Konate, Men’s Basketball

Temi Ogunrinde, Women’s Indoor Track & Field



Ben Miller, Baseball

Emily Wood, Women’s Basketball



Sanjay Lumpkin, Men’s Basketball

Kacie Komoto, Women’s Golf



Josh Tublin, Men’s Volleyball

Sandy Niehaus, Women’s Tennis



Matt Stasiunas, Men’s Swimming & Diving

Erika Spilker, Women’s Lacrosse



Matt Bouggy, Men’s Tennis

Faye Adelaja, Women’s Volleyball



Julian Pinnix-Odrick, Football

Tori Prager, Women’s Soccer



Vitto Brown, Men’s Basketball

Sydney McKibbon, Women’s Hockey

Related Content

Apr 15 2024

Rosters named for 2024 IndyStar boys’ All-Star ‘Futures Game’  

Rosters named for 2024 IndyStar boys' All-Star 'Futures Game' April 14, 2024 IBCA Director of Special Projects Two players each from Fishers, Lawrence North and Mt....
Apr 15 2024

Cali Topolski named new IU South Bend Head Volleyball Coach

SOUTH BEND, Ind.- Indiana University South Bend welcomed Cali Topolski as its new volleyball coach for the upcoming 2024 season. A local standout from Saint Joseph High...
Apr 15 2024

Crossroads League Announces Athletes of the Week | April 8-14

Crossroads League Announces Athletes of the Week | April 8-14   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League Athletes of the Week were announced on Monday, recognizing the...
Apr 13 2024

Bethel softball drops doubleheader to Grace

MISHAWAKA, Ind. --- The Bethel Pilots (8-32, 4-22) battled Grace College on Senior Day (12-20, 8-16) but fell in both Crossroads League games.   GAME 1 The Pilots...
Apr 13 2024

Bethel Men’s Volleyball Sweeps Siena Heights

ADRIAN, Mich. --- The Bethel Pilots (10-15, 5-13) bounced back as they defeated Siena Heights University (12-14, 9-9) 3-0 Saturday afternoon. Bethel kept a slight lead...