Big Ten Recognizes Spring and At-Large Sports Academic All-Big Ten Honorees

ROSEMONT, Ill. — The Big Ten Conference on Wednesday recognized a total of 1,644 students competing in spring and at-large sports who have been named to the Academic All-Conference team. The list of honorees features 146 individuals in baseball, 141 in softball, 171 in women’s rowing, 67 in men’s and 74 in women’s golf, 94 in men’s and 121 in women’s lacrosse, 64 in men’s and 74 in women’s tennis, 217 in men’s and 270 in women’s track and field and 53 in men’s (representing fencing, rifle and pistol, rowing and volleyball) and 152 in women’s (representing bowling, fencing, ice hockey, lightweight rowing, rifle and pistol, sand volleyball, synchronized swimming and water polo) at-large sports.


To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be letterwinners who are in at least their second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.


At least 22 students competing in spring and at-large sports have maintained unblemished cumulative GPAs:

Nick Bachinski, Minnesota men’s track and field (Gr., Human Resource Development)

Lexi Baylis, Michigan State women’s tennis (Jr., Mechanical Engineering)

Bobby Browning, Indiana men’s track and field (Jr., Finance and Business Analytics)

Dan Chmielewski, Michigan State baseball (Jr., Psychology)

Sydney Clute, Indiana women’s track and field (Sr., Tourism Management)

Madison Day, Penn State women’s lacrosse (Jr., Bio Behavioral Health)

Kieran Gallagher, Michigan women’s track and field (Gr., Epidemiology)

Olin Hacker, Wisconsin men’s track and field (So., Undecided)

Joe Haight, Illinois men’s track and field (So., Engineering Physics)

Isaac Hale, Wisconsin men’s track and field (So., Biomedical Engineering)

Max Herrmann, Rutgers baseball (Gr., Labor Studies and Employment Relations)

Michael Hyc, Illinois men’s track and field (Jr., Accountancy)

Rok Krizaj, Nebraska men’s tennis (So., Management)

Nakel McClinton, Indiana women’s track and field (Sr., Media)

Angela Mercurio, Nebraska women’s track and field (Jr., Biochemistry)

Logan Otter, Michigan State women’s golf (So., Neuroscience)

Donovan Robertson, Ohio State men’s track and field (Gr., Sport Management)

Matt Schwartzer, Indiana men’s track and field (Sr., Data Science)

Will Sheeran, Michigan men’s track and field (Gr., Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology)

Emily Steffke, Michigan State women’s track and field (Jr., Neuroscience)

Zoe Stukenberg, Maryland women’s lacrosse (Sr., Biological Sciences)

Kristina Zalewski, Michigan State softball (Sr., Nutritional Science)


The conference office will also present the Distinguished Scholar Award in July. Students eligible for the Distinguished Scholar Award must be letterwinners in at least their second year in residence at their institution. Qualifying students must have earned a GPA of 3.7 or higher for the current academic year, excluding summer school. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference’s Academic All-Big Ten program.