Big Ten Recognizes 872 Winter Academic All-Big Ten Honorees

2017-18 Winter Academic All-Big Ten (PDF)

ROSEMONT, Ill. –  The Big Ten Conference recognized a total of 872 students competing in winter sports who have been named to the Academic All-Conference team Wednesday.

The list of honorees features 45 men’s and 68 women’s basketball students, 76 men’s and 83 women’s gymnasts, 142 men’s and 239 women’s swimming and diving students, 138 wrestlers and 81 men’s ice hockey students.

To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be on a varsity team, as verified by being on the official squad list as of March 1 for winter sports, who have been enrolled fulltime at the institution for a minimum of 12 months and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.

At least 21 of the winter honorees have maintained unblemished cumulative GPAs:

Summer Campbell, Iowa women’s swimming and diving (Sr., Industrial Engineering)

Adam Coon, Michigan wrestling (Sr., Master’s In Space Engineering)

PJ Ransford, Michigan men’s swimming and diving (Sr., Mechanical Engineering)

Taylor Arnold, Michigan State women’s swimming and diving (So., Special Ed-Learn Disabilities)

Courtney Aycock, Michigan State women’s swimming and diving (Jr., Kinesiology)

Nehemiah Mork, Michigan State men’s swimming and diving (Jr., Mechanical Engineering)

Scott Piper, Michigan State men’s swimming and diving (So., Biosystems Engineering)

Elise Turke, Michigan State women’s swimming and diving (So., Neuroscience)

Mariam Khamis, Minnesota women’s swimming and diving (Sr., Psychology)

Chris Pfarr, Minnesota wrestling (Sr., Land & Atmospheric Science)

Danielle Breen, Nebraska women’s gymnastics (Sr., Accounting)

Lindsay Helferich, Nebraska women’s swimming and diving (Jr., Civil Engineering)

Mitch Sliga, Northwestern wrestling (Sr., Post Baccalaureate)

Stephanie Mavunga, Ohio State women’s basketball (Sr., Sports Management)

Reed McGraw, Ohio State men’s swimming and diving (Jr., Biomedical Engineering)

Joey McKenna, Ohio State wrestling (Jr., Operations Management)

Cheyenne Meek, Ohio State women’s swimming and diving (Sr., Public Administration)

Nathan Tomasello, Ohio State wrestling (Sr., Kinesology)

Noah Roberson, Penn State men’s gymnastics (Sr., Biomedical Engineering)

Siena Salvaggio, Penn State women’s swimming and diving (So., Finance)

Eric Geunes, Wisconsin men’s swimming and diving (So., Biochemistry)

The conference office also awards Academic All-Big Ten distinction in the fall and spring seasons and will present the Distinguished Scholar Award at the end of the academic year. To be eligible for selection, students must be a recipient of Academic All-Big Ten Recognition in the previous academic year, must be enrolled for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher during that time. This GPA shall be calculated based on the previous academic year only, excluding summer. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference’s Academic All-Big Ten program.