Big Ten Unveils 2017-18 Women’s Basketball Schedule

Conference play opens Dec. 28, culminating with 25th annual Big Ten Tournament in Indianapolis.

ROSEMONT, Ill. — The Big Ten announced its 2017-18 women’s basketball conference schedule on Wednesday, with the conference season opening Dec. 28 and leading up to the 25th annual Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament from Feb. 28-March 4 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis.

The Big Ten will once again play a 16-game women’s basketball conference schedule this season, with each school facing three opponents twice in a home-and-away series, while playing the other 10 schools once (five at home, five on the road).

All 14 Big Ten programs will be in action on Dec. 28, the opening day of the conference season. Michigan State visits Indiana, Illinois will travel to three-time defending Big Ten champion Maryland and Penn State debuts at Michigan. Last year’s Big Ten co-champion Ohio State begins conference play at Nebraska, Minnesota will open at Northwestern (which is playing its home games this season at Evanston Township High School due to ongoing renovations at Welsh-Ryan Arena), Purdue tips off at Rutgers and Iowa heads to Wisconsin.

The Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament will be held in Indianapolis for the 21st time, with the event to remain at Bankers Life Fieldhouse through 2022. All 14 conference schools will participate in the tournament, which tips off Wednesday, Feb. 28, with first-round games between the No. 11 and 14 seeds, and the No. 12 and 13 seeds. The top four teams during regular season play will earn first- and second-round byes and make their tournament debuts in the quarterfinal round on Friday, March 2, with the championship game slated for Sunday, March 4.

Times and television designations for the 2017-18 Big Ten Conference women’s basketball season and the 2018 Big Ten Tournament will be announced at a later date.


Thursday, Dec. 28

Michigan State at Indiana

Illinois at Maryland

Penn State at Michigan

Ohio State at Nebraska

Minnesota at Northwestern

Purdue at Rutgers

Iowa at Wisconsin


Sunday, Dec. 31

Northwestern at Illinois

Michigan at Iowa

Rutgers at Michigan State

Nebraska at Minnesota

Indiana at Ohio State

Maryland at Penn State

Wisconsin at Purdue


Wednesday, Jan. 3

Northwestern at Michigan State

Indiana at Penn State

Illinois at Rutgers


Thursday, Jan. 4

Iowa at Maryland

Minnesota at Ohio State

Michigan at Wisconsin


Saturday, Jan. 6

Purdue at Indiana

Penn State at Rutgers


Sunday, Jan. 7

Iowa at Illinois

Ohio State at Michigan

Michigan State at Minnesota

Nebraska at Northwestern

Maryland at Wisconsin


Wednesday, Jan. 10

Nebraska at Illinois

Indiana at Michigan

Minnesota at Penn State

Rutgers at Purdue


Thursday, Jan. 11

Michigan State at Maryland

Wisconsin at Northwestern


Saturday, Jan. 13

Ohio State at Indiana

Purdue at Iowa

Michigan at Nebraska

Minnesota at Rutgers


Sunday, Jan. 14

Penn State at Wisconsin


Tuesday, Jan. 16

Michigan State at Illinois

Indiana at Maryland

Iowa at Nebraska

Michigan at Ohio State


Thursday, Jan. 18

Wisconsin at Minnesota

Rutgers at Penn State

Northwestern at Purdue


Saturday, Jan. 20

Illinois at Michigan

Indiana at Michigan State


Sunday, Jan. 21

Iowa at Minnesota

Nebraska at Rutgers

Northwestern at Wisconsin


Monday, Jan. 22

Ohio State at Maryland


Tuesday, Jan. 23

Michigan State at Michigan

Illinois at Penn State


Wednesday, Jan. 24

Wisconsin at Indiana

Purdue at Nebraska


Thursday, Jan. 25

Ohio State at Iowa

Maryland at Northwestern


Saturday, Jan. 27

Rutgers at Indiana


Sunday, Jan. 28

Wisconsin at Illinois

Nebraska at Iowa

Michigan at Northwestern

Michigan State at Ohio State

Penn State at Purdue


Wednesday, Jan. 31

Penn State at Ohio State

Minnesota at Wisconsin


Thursday, Feb. 1

Rutgers at Maryland

Purdue at Michigan

Iowa at Michigan State

Illinois at Nebraska


Saturday, Feb. 3

Ohio State at Wisconsin


Sunday, Feb. 4

Purdue at Illinois

Northwestern at Indiana

Minnesota at Iowa

Maryland at Nebraska

Michigan State at Penn State

Michigan at Rutgers


Thursday, Feb. 8

Illinois at Indiana

Penn State at Iowa

Northwestern at Michigan

Maryland at Michigan State

Rutgers at Ohio State

Minnesota at Purdue


Sunday, Feb. 11

Michigan at Michigan State

Penn State at Minnesota

Wisconsin at Nebraska

Iowa at Northwestern

Maryland at Rutgers


Monday, Feb. 12

Indiana at Purdue
Tuesday, Feb. 13

Ohio State at Illinois


Wednesday, Feb. 14

Nebraska at Michigan State

Michigan at Minnesota

Northwestern at Penn State

Rutgers at Wisconsin


Thursday, Feb. 15

Purdue at Maryland


Saturday, Feb. 17

Nebraska at Indiana


Sunday, Feb. 18

Wisconsin at Iowa

Maryland at Minnesota

Illinois at Northwestern

Purdue at Ohio State


Tuesday, Feb. 20

Indiana at Minnesota


Wednesday, Feb. 21

Wisconsin at Michigan State

Northwestern at Ohio State

Illinois at Purdue

Iowa at Rutgers


Thursday, Feb. 22

Maryland at Michigan

Penn State at Nebraska


Saturday, Feb. 24

Indiana at Iowa

Rutgers at Northwestern

Michigan State at Purdue
Sunday, Feb. 25

Minnesota at Illinois

Nebraska at Maryland

Ohio State at Penn State


Wednesday, Feb. 28*

Big Ten Tournament Game #1

Big Ten Tournament Game #2


Thursday, March 1*

Big Ten Tournament Game #3

Big Ten Tournament Game #4

Big Ten Tournament Game #5

Big Ten Tournament Game #6


Friday, March 2*

Big Ten Tournament Game #7

Big Ten Tournament Game #8

Big Ten Tournament Game #9

Big Ten Tournament Game #10


Saturday, March 3*

Big Ten Tournament Semifinal #1

Big Ten Tournament Semifinal #2


Sunday, March 4*

Big Ten Tournament Championship



All dates subject to change

* – to be played in Indianapolis, Indiana (Bankers Life Fieldhouse)

NOTE: Due to renovations at Welsh-Ryan Arena, all Northwestern home games will be played at Evanston Township High School