Big Ten Women’s Soccer Tournament Bracket Announced

by | Oct 26, 2017 | RRSN News, Soccer Blogs | 0 comments

Big Ten Women’s Soccer Tournament Bracket Announced

Ohio State earns No. 1 seed for tournament, while Minnesota, Northwestern and Rutgers will also host quarterfinals on Sunday


ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced the 2017 Big Ten Women’s Soccer Tournament bracket on Wednesday, with Ohio State earning the tournament’s No. 1 seed for the first time in school history after clinching the outright Big Ten Championship earlier in the evening.


As the top seed, the Buckeyes (14-3-1, 9-2-0 Big Ten) will play host to No. 8 seed Iowa (9-7-2, 4-5-2), which is making its first tournament appearance since 2014, in a quarterfinal match at 4 p.m. (ET) Sunday. OSU defeated the Hawkeyes, 2-0 in the schools’ regular-season matchup on Sept. 24 in Iowa City.


Northwestern (10-6-2, 7-3-1) tied Minnesota (11-4-3, 7-3-1) for second place in the Big Ten standings, with the Wildcats earning the No. 2 seed by virtue of their 2-0 win over the Golden Gophers on Oct. 12 in Evanston. Northwestern will entertain seventh-seeded Purdue (10-6-2, 5-4-2) in a tournament quarterfinal at 3:30 p.m. (ET) Sunday. The Boilermakers, who are making their first Big Ten Tournament appearance since 2008, defeated the Wildcats, 2-0 in their regular-season encounter on Oct. 1 in West Lafayette.


As the No. 3 seed, Minnesota welcomes sixth-seeded Wisconsin (12-4-2, 6-3-2) to town for a tournament quarterfinal at 2 p.m. (ET) Sunday in a contest that will be televised live on BTN. The Badgers edged the Gophers, 1-0 in the schools’ Big Ten opener back on Sept. 16 in Madison. Minnesota is the reigning Big Ten Tournament champion, earning its first title since 1995 with a 2-1 win over Rutgers in last year’s championship match.


Rounding out the field, No. 4 seed Rutgers (12-2-4, 6-2-3) will play host to fifth-seeded Penn State (10-4-3, 6-2-3) in a quarterfinal contest at 1 p.m. (ET) Sunday. The Scarlet Knights and Nittany Lions both finished Big Ten play with 21 points, with RU earning the final host berth by virtue of the third tiebreaker, which counts the best record by points against mutually-played conference teams seeded above the tied schools at the start of the process (RU had a combined four points against OSU/NU, while PSU had three points against that pair).


Following Sunday’s quarterfinals, the Big Ten Women’s Soccer Tournament will continue with the semifinals at 1 p.m. and 3:30 p.m. (ET) Nov. 3 and the championship match at 2 p.m. (ET) Nov. 6. The semifinals and championship match will be played at Grand Park in Westfield, Ind., with both semifinals and the title contest televised by BTN (the second semifinal and championship will be broadcast live, while the first semifinal will be televised live on BTN2Go and can be seen on BTN on a tape-delayed basis at 9:30 p.m. (ET) Nov. 3).


This year’s Big Ten Tournament champion will earn the conference’s automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament. Follow all the Big Ten Tournament action at and on Twitter @B1GSoccer.

Related Content

Dec 06 2023

Indiana high school football players winning both on the gridiron and the classroom

By Paul Condry and Matt Kopsea Jake Tippmann has had plenty of things to be thankful for in 2023. Not only did the Fort Wayne Snider linebacker help the Panthers...
Dec 05 2023


Things were a little above average the second time around as I went 21-7 (78 percent) last week. My overall record is 34-11, which leaves me at 76 percent for the...
Dec 04 2023


SENSATIONAL SEVEN Riley (4-0): Ayden Kent scored 16 points as the Wildcats are 4-0 for the first time since the 2020-21 season with an 80-70 win over Merrillville. Penn...
Dec 03 2023

No.2 Indiana Wesleyan WBB roll past Bethel

MARION, Ind. --- Bethel University Women's Basketball team (2-7, 0-3) couldn't upset the #3 Indiana Wesleyan University Wildcats (7-1, 3-0) on the road and fell 92-56....
Dec 03 2023

Early Hot Shooting Helps Bruins Top Beacons

Early Hot Shooting Helps Bruins Top Beacons Belmont started the game red hot from 3-point territory, hitting three 3-pointers over the game’s first 90 seconds to jump...