Executive Committee approves Unified Flag Football for Sponsorship this Fall

The IHSAA Board of Directors approved 17 rules proposals, one failed to receive support, and one was tabled for further study during its annual review of the By‐Laws and Articles of Incorporation this morning in Indianapolis.

Among them was an amendment to the Participation Rule that affects out‐of‐season student‐athletes in team sports (baseball, basketball, football, soccer, softball, volleyball). After being tabled by the Board of Directors a year ago for further study, the body voted 19‐0 to establish a Limited Contact Program with specific start and end dates for each season and a separate Conditioning Program.

The Limited Contact Program replaces what was previously known as “open facility” and now allows coaches to work directly with student‐athletes two days a week for two hours per day providing instruction in a practice setting with balls, goals, nets, etc. The restriction of working with only two athletes also was removed.

For fall sports, Limited Contact Programs may be conducted Monday of Week 9 to Saturday of Week 15. In winter sports, it will be Monday of Week 23 to Saturday of Week 31. And for spring sports, it will be Monday of Week 40 to Saturday of Week 45.

The Executive Committee also approved sponsorship of Unified Flag Football, the second co‐ed sport offered in partnership with Special Olympics Indiana, and 22nd overall. The program combines students with and without intellectual disabilities on the same team for sports training and competition, similar to Unified Track & Field, which is now in its fifth year of sponsorship. The tournament will be limited to the first 64 teams that commit to fielding a team with each receiving a “start‐up grant” of equipment and financial assistance from Special Olympics Indiana.

The program would begin this summer.

A proposal submitted by Lebanon principal Kevin O’Rourke was approved 18‐1 which would ensure that, in team sports other than football, a school placed in a class based upon its enrollment, will remain in that class and not be bumped down a class due to another school moving up due to the Tournament Success Factor.

Rule 7‐1.4 pertaining to Mandatory Coach Accreditation was completely re‐written and was approved unanimously 19‐0. The new rule now requires all coaches to complete three specific education courses to be accredited: NFHS Concussion in Sports, NFHS Heat Illness Prevention and; NFHS Sudden Cardiac Arrest. These courses must be repeated every two years or when the edition of the course changes, whichever comes first. The rule previously outlined three levels of coach accreditation – registered, certified and professional – and steps required to attain each level.

An amendment to Rule 15‐2.2 of the Participation Rule was approved 14‐5 which increased the number of soccer participants from a member school permitted on a non‐school team during the school year out‐of‐season from six (6) individuals to seven (7) individuals.

The Board unanimously rejected a proposal submitted by the commissioner on behalf of the soccer state coaches’ association that would have restricted, during the summer, the soccer activities of a school’s players to an open facility program under one of three participation options.

Formally ratified an amendment to Rule 17‐8.1 clarifying contest ejections and contest officials decisions are not waivable. This amendment had been adopted as a temporary regulation by the Executive Committee at its December 14 meeting.

The Board tabled an amendment to Rule 19‐6.1 authored by South Knox principal David Couchenour that would have permitted full eligibility following a transfer by a student without a corresponding change of residence by the parent/guardian when the transfer occurs before the student’s sophomore year.

Approved unanimously an amendment to Rule 19‐6.1 allowing a student up to two moves with full eligibility instead of one when moving between divorced or separated parents.

Formally adopted the change to a single baseball pitch count for both varsity and sub‐varsity pitchers (Rule 51‐4). This rule had been approved at the March 23 meeting of the Executive Committee in time for the start of the new baseball season.

An amendment made by the commissioner on behalf of the soccer coaches association to the boys and girls soccer rules limiting participation in soccer jamborees to halves and to require each half to be against a different opponent was approved 19‐0.

Two proposals made by the commissioner on behalf of the wrestling coaches association were approved including reducing the number of regular season tournaments from seven (7) to six (6) and increasing the number of additional team members in each weight class who may weigh in at meets from one (1) to two (2).

The commissioner proposed an amendment on behalf of the volleyball coaches association decreasing the number of permitted volleyball contests from 25 to 23 matches which was approved 19‐0.

An amendment to Rule 111‐4 written by Westview principal Rich Cory was passed 19‐0 increasing the number of permitted volleyball sets a player may play in a day, against players from a single school, from  five (5) to six (6).

he elections for next year’s leadership of the Board and Executive Committee also were held. Fishers athletic director Jim Brown was voted president of the 2018‐19 Board of Directors and Jimtown athletic director Nathan Dean was elected vice president. Logansport athletic director Brian Strong was named chairman of the 2018‐19 Executive Committee and Indianapolis Cathedral principal Dave Worland was confirmed as vice chairman.

2017‐18 IHSAA Board of Directors

The IHSAA is governed by its legislative body, the Board of Directors. Composed of 19 individuals elected by member school principals from three legislative districts, they serve staggered three‐year terms. Twelve board seats are filled by any qualified individual (open seats), and seven board seats are filled by two qualified female representatives, two qualified minority representatives, two qualified urban school representatives and one qualified private school representative. The Board of Directors meets annually with the responsibility of establishing the Association’s By‐Laws and regulations.

District, Seat Board Member Term Ends

District I, Class A David Amor, LaCrosse June 2020

District I, Class AA Don Gandy, Wheeler June 2018

District I, Class AAA Nathan Dean, Jimtown June 2020

District I, Class AAAA Ed Gilliland, LaPorte June 2018

District II, Class A Charlie Martin, Riverton Parke June 2018

District II, Class AA Matt Martin, Knightstown June 2020

District II, Class AAA Steve Cox, Beech Grove City Schools June 2018

District II, Class AAAA Jim Brown, Fishers June 2020

District III, Class A Jeff Doyle, Barr‐Reeve June 2020

District III, Class AA Tim Grove, South Knox School Corporation June 2018

District III, Class AAA Mike Whitten, Boonville June 2020

District III, Class AAAA Mike Broughton, Jennings County June 2018

North District, Female Patti McCormack, Lowell* June 2019

North District, Minority Stacy Adams, Griffith June 2019

North District, Urban Brian Strong, Logansport June 2019

South District, Female Rae Woolpy, Richmond June 2019

South District, Minority Victor Bush, MSD Lawrence Township June 2019

South District, Urban Chad Gilbert, Charlestown June 2019

Private School Dave Worland, Indianapolis Cathedral** June 2019

* President

** Vice‐President