Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Buckeye Head Coach Steve Rohlik Receives Contract Extension

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Steve Rohlik, back-to-back Big Ten Hockey Coach of the Year, has signed a contract extension with Ohio State, running through the 2023-24 season. Through his first six years at the helm of the program, he has led the squad to a Big Ten championship, three NCAA berths and a Frozen Four appearance.


“We appreciate Coach Rohlik and the leadership he brings to the program on and off the ice,” Shaun Richard, senior associate athletics director for sport administration at Ohio State, said. “He has executed the plan he laid out to elevate this program and the success academically and athletically over the past six years has shown that. We are looking ahead to his continued leadership within the hockey program as we strive to continue moving this program forward on a national level.”


Rohlik, the 2018 and ’19 Big Ten Coach of the Year and a two-time AHCA National Coach of the Year finalist (including a runner-up finish in 2018), has compiled a 113-84-28 record, with three consecutive 20-win seasons. The Buckeyes won the 2019 Big Ten regular season title, the first B1G crown for the program and the team’s first regular season title since 1972.


Under Rohlik, the Buckeyes have been outstanding academically, combining as a team to post a grade-point average of above 3.0 throughout his tenure. He has had 39 players combine for 79 Academic All-Big Ten accolades and 46 accumulate 106 Ohio State Scholar-Athlete nods.


During his time, four Buckeyes have garnered All-America honors, two have won major conference awards, his players have compiled 14 First/Second Team All-Big Ten honors and seven have earned a spot on the Big Ten All-Freshman Team. Under his direction, two players have been Hobey Baker Award finalists and two garnered Mike Richter Award semifinalist mention. Not just standouts on the ice, Buckeyes have won the Derek Hines Unsung Hero award, been named a Hockey Humanitarian Award finalist and claimed Senior CLASS Award First Team All-America accolades.


The squad improved a spot in the Big Ten final standings each of the last four years, culminating with the conference regular season crown in 2018-19. The past season began with high expectations for the team, as it was selected first in the Big Ten preseason poll and started the year ranked in the Top 3 in the national polls, moving to No. 1 before the squad even played its first game. It was the first time Ohio State was atop a national poll since Fall 1983. The Buckeyes responded to the expectations, winning the B1G with a 13-7-4-3 record and a nine-point cushion in the final standings.


The Buckeyes have earned an at-large berth into the NCAA Tournament each of the last three seasons, matching the feat first set by the program from 2003-05. In 2018, Ohio State was an NCAA Tournament No. 1 seed for the first time. That squad won the NCAA Midwest Regional, defeating defending national champion Denver in the regional final, to advance to the NCAA Frozen Four for the second time in program history and marking the first appearance in 20 years.


On the ice, the team led the NCAA on the power play in 2016-17 and on the penalty kill in 2017-18. The squad has ranked in the Top 10 nationally in scoring offense and in the Top 12 on the power play three of the last four years. The Buckeyes allowed just 2.07 goals a game in 2017-18, the best mark in program history.


Heading into 2019-20, the Buckeyes return 20 players from the Big Ten championship squad, looking to compete in the NCAA Tournament for a program-record fourth year in a row.