Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Baseball Tops Spring Sports With Most All-Academic Selections

CHICAGO — Of the nine spring sports, baseball came away with the most all-academic selections when the Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference office made the announcement Wednesday morning. The 11 member schools sponsoring the sport boasted 103 total recipients with five of the 11 producing double-figure totals.

Earning the most spots on the team was Robert Morris University Illinois with 21 total selections followed by Olivet Nazarene University with 16, Saint Xavier University with 11 and Indiana University South Bend and University of St. Francis with ten each.

The rest of the field had Roosevelt University and Trinity International University with nine honorees each, St. Ambrose University and Trinity Christian College with seven each, Judson University with two and Calumet College of St. Joseph one.

A total of 43 individuals that gained the honor were a part of the team last year with 16 being three-peat selections. Six players also turned in perfect 4.00 cumulative grade point averages.

To be nominated for the award, a student-athlete must have been enrolled at his respective CCAC school for a minimum of one academic year, have completed at least 30 semester hours and boast no less than a 3.25 cumulative grade point average.

Position Name Class School Hometown
INF/P Michael Biegel SO Calumet St. Joseph St. John, Ind.
RHP Kage Haeck SO Indiana South Bend South Bend, Ind.
LHP Kyle Hallberg SR Indiana South Bend Lansing, Ill.
INF Colin Mack SO Indiana South Bend Wanatah, Ind.
OF Matthew Miller SR Indiana South Bend Middlebury, Ind.
C Jordan Moore SR Indiana South Bend Flat Rock, Mich.
C Greg Pietsch JR Indiana South Bend Crawfordsville, Ind.
RHP Matt Rose SO Indiana South Bend Manteno, Ill.
INF Austin Thomas SR Indiana South Bend Crown Point, Ill.
RHP John Ward SR Indiana South Bend Logansport, Ind.
INF/RHP Tyler Welborn SO Indiana South Bend Lebanon, Ind.
INF Jordan Babcock SO Judson Markham, ON, Canada
INF/C Adam Zeratsky SO Judson Appleton, WI
OF/INF Jacob Bulthuis JR Olivet Nazarene Tinley Park, Ill.
RHP Graham Burke JR Olivet Nazarene Victoria, Minn.
OF Alex Campe SR Olivet Nazarene Manteno, Ill.
INF/C Tyler Fisher SR Olivet Nazarene Limestone, Ill.
RHP Tyler Guertin JR Olivet Nazarene Bourbonnais, Ill.
LHP Aren Gustafson SO Olivet Nazarene Rockton, Ill.
INF/OF Parker Hale JR Olivet Nazarene Fort Wayne, Ind.
RHP Mason Madalinski JR Olivet Nazarene Aurora, Ill.
INF Nathan Moonen JR Olivet Nazarene Fort Wayne, Ind.
RHP Andrew Nelson JR Olivet Nazarene Wheaton, Ill.
LHP/OF Owen Oliver JR Olivet Nazarene Spring Arbor, Mich.
C/INF Braedon Payne SO Olivet Nazarene Avon, Ind.
INF Gunnar Pullins SO Olivet Nazarene Valparaiso, Ind.
OF R.W. Rienow SR Olivet Nazarene Wheaton, Ill.
LHP Isaiah Robles SR Olivet Nazarene Potomac, Ill.
LHP Mason Sherrill SR Olivet Nazarene Bellbrook, Ohio
C AJ Anderson JR Robert Morris Illinois Chicago, Ill.
1B/P Jake Arsenault SR Robert Morris Illinois Aurora, Ill.
SS/2B Ryan Ballard JR Robert Morris Illinois Tinley Park, Ill.
2B Chris Broccolino SR Robert Morris Illinois Schaumburg, Ill.
P Mike Casterline SR Robert Morris Illinois Grand Rapids, Mich.
OF Ty Castillo SR Robert Morris Illinois Defiance, Ohio
P Jimmy Christian SR Robert Morris Illinois Midlothian, Ill.
C Aaron Cook SO Robert Morris Illinois Hammond, Ind.
2B/3B Kevin Cronin SR Robert Morris Illinois Orland Park, Ill.
SS/2B Vincent Dellamorte SR Robert Morris Illinois Plainfield, Ill.
C Jordan Fox SR Robert Morris Illinois Homewood, Ill.
OF Shane Guilfoyle SO Robert Morris Illinois Midlothian, Ill.
3B Ricky Kemp JR Robert Morris Illinois Brunswick, Ohio
OF Adam Knerr SR Robert Morris Illinois New Lenox, Ill.
P Ben Koopman SR Robert Morris Illinois Prior Lake, Wis.
C Thomas Langley JR Robert Morris Illinois Joliet, Ill.
3B Connor McNamara SR Robert Morris Illinois Vernon Hills, Ill.
3B/2B Jalen Preston SO Robert Morris Illinois Chicago, Ill.
2B Armani Quintero JR Robert Morris Illinois Chicago, Ill.
OF Diego Rincon SR Robert Morris Illinois Valencia, Venezuela
C Ryan Rodriguez SR Robert Morris Illinois Corpus Christi, Texas
1B/C Jordan Coakley SR Roosevelt Warrenville, Ill.
IF/P Matt Donahue JR Roosevelt Palos Heights, Ill.
P Matt Garbacz SR Roosevelt Villa Park, Ill.
OF Chandler Giampietro SO Roosevelt Pleasant Prairie, Wis.
IF Connor Graefen SO Roosevelt Bolingbrook, Ill.
C/OF Jake Hutchinson JR Roosevelt Orland Park, Ill.
IF Matt Marrera SR Roosevelt Darien, Ill.
IF/P Jake Meyer SO Roosevelt Barrington, Ill.
IF Lou Reynolds SR Roosevelt Lansing, Ill.
OF Cole Aughenbaugh JR St. Ambrose Oswego, Ill.
C/RHP Lucas Benda JR St. Ambrose Cedar Falls, Iowa
LHP James Cormier SO St. Ambrose Crystal Lake, Ill.
LHP/OF Tyler Franc JR St. Ambrose Manhattan, Ill.
RHP James Hay SO St. Ambrose Aledo, Ill.
C Cooper Kilberg SR St. Ambrose Rock Falls, Ill.
1B/P Malcolm Walker SO St. Ambrose Shorewood, Ill.
IF Kian Baron SO Saint Xavier Bourbonnais, Ill.
OF/IF Griffin Bright JR Saint Xavier Crystal Lake, Ill.
P Tim Brokop SR Saint Xavier Bourbonnais, Ill.
OF David Chianelli JR Saint Xavier Tinley Park, Ill.
IF Nick Dombroski SO Saint Xavier Crestwood, Ill.
IF Tyler Hedman SO Saint Xavier Hoffman Estates, Ill.
OF Drew Hunniford JR Saint Xavier Frankfort, Ill.
P Zach Pirc JR Saint Xavier Plainfield, Ill.
IF Sam Ryan SO Saint Xavier Hoffman Estates, Ill.
OF/P Noah Valin SO Saint Xavier Dekalb, Ill.
1B Ben Zordani SR Saint Xavier New Lenox, Ill.
Infield Liam Blake SR Trinity Christian Oak Lawn,Ill
Outfield Sam Herzog SR Trinity Christian Hudsonville, Mich
Pitcher Zach Huisman JR Trinity Christian St. John, Ind
Pitcher Mike McIntyre SO Trinity Christian Oak Lawn,Ill
Outfield Brandon Riemersma SR Trinity Christian Zeeland, Mich
Infield Frank Romano SR Trinity Christian Elmhurst,Ill
Pitcher Dan Vos JR Trinity Christian Orland Park,Ill
1B/LHP Jalen Austin SR Trinity International Battle Creek, Mich.
2B Sam Hardy SR Trinity International Loveland, Colo.
OF Matt Latimer SR Trinity International Georgetown, ON, CAN
3B Blake Lazaris SO Trinity International Colgate, Wisc.
P/C Dominik Olech SO Trinity International Chicago, Ill.
1B Matt Pierson SR Trinity International Carlsbad, Calif.
RHP/2B Ian Ryan SO Trinity International Oak Forest, Ill.
RHP Kurtis Sippy JR Trinity International Oak Creek, Wisc.
SS/RHP Sam Willis JR Trinity International Chicago, Ill.
C Adam Cibulka SR St. Francis Grafton, Wis.
IF Hunter Darnell SO St. Francis Plainfield, Ill.
IF Foster Heise JR St. Francis Lisle, Ill.
IF Noah Kararo JR St. Francis Oswego, Ill.
P Kevin Kardas SO St. Francis Hampshire, Ill.
C Jake LaSota SO St. Francis Marengo, Ill.
OF Eric Maffie FR St. Francis Coal Valley, Ill.
IF/OF Joe McGuire SR St. Francis Lockport, Ill.
IF/C Josh Tesch SR St. Francis Lockport, Ill.
IF Jonathan Wolf SO St. Francis Kalamazoo, Mich.