College Football Playoff Announces Championship Sites for 2021-2024

by | Nov 2, 2017 | Football Blogs, RRSN News | 0 comments



Four communities complete “ten in ten:” Miami-South Florida in 2021;

Indianapolis in 2022; Los Angeles in 2023; Houston in 2024


ROSEMONT, Illinois – Bill Hancock, Executive Director of the College Football Playoff (CFP), announced today that the CFP’s Management Committee has selected four more communities to host the national championship games. They are:


2021:    Miami-South Florida (Hard Rock Stadium, Miami Gardens, Florida)

2022:    Indianapolis (Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis, Indiana)

2023:    Los Angeles (Los Angeles Stadium at Hollywood Park, Inglewood, California)

2024:    Houston (NRG Stadium, Houston, Texas)


“When we created the playoff, we said we wanted to move the national championship game around,” Hancock said. “We have done that. We call it ‘ten in ten’—ten different communities will have hosted the national championship game in the first ten years of the playoff. The CFP National Championship is one of the most popular sporting events in the United States and we’re proud to bring the game to fans in different regions of the country.


“Each of the four cities chosen met or exceeded our standards for selection,” Hancock continued. “Each has a first-class stadium that our fans will enjoy, a great convention center, excellent hotels for teams and fans, and the communities have successful track records of hosting major events. Each city also has wonderful, supportive people who we rely on to host a successful game.”


The following are the communities in which the first six national championship games of the playoff era have been played or are scheduled to be played:


2015:    North Texas (AT&T Stadium, Arlington, Texas)

2016:    Arizona (University of Phoenix Stadium, Glendale, Arizona)

2017:    Tampa Bay (Raymond James Stadium, Tampa, Florida)

2018:    Atlanta (Mercedes-Benz Stadium, Atlanta, Georgia)

2019:    Bay Area (Levi’s Stadium, Santa Clara, California)

2020:    New Orleans (Mercedes-Benz Superdome, New Orleans, Louisiana)


For more information on the CFP, visit



Related Content

Dec 06 2023

Indiana high school football players winning both on the gridiron and the classroom

By Paul Condry and Matt Kopsea Jake Tippmann has had plenty of things to be thankful for in 2023. Not only did the Fort Wayne Snider linebacker help the Panthers...
Dec 06 2023

65th National Football Foundation (NFF) Annual Awards Dinner Presented by Las Vegas Serves as Grand Celebration of College Football

LAS VEGAS (Dec. 5, 2023) – The ARIA Resort & Casino played host to an all-star cast of history's greatest football legends and the sport's most promising...
Dec 06 2023

Oregon QB Bo Nix Awarded NFF’s 34th William V. Campbell Trophy®

LAS VEGAS (Dec. 5, 2023) – University of Oregon quarterback Bo Nix has been named the 34th recipient of the William V. Campbell Trophy® during tonight's 65th National...
Dec 05 2023

Valpo U Football Announces 2023 Team Awards

Valpo Football Announces 2023 Team Awards The Valparaiso University football program has announced its team awards for the 2023 season, as revealed at the team’s annual...
Dec 05 2023


Things were a little above average the second time around as I went 21-7 (78 percent) last week. My overall record is 34-11, which leaves me at 76 percent for the...