Crossroads League Announces Baseball Award Winners


AVON, Ohio – The Crossroads League announced its 2018 Baseball All-League awards on Friday, one week after Marian secured the CL Tournament Championship on the heels of Indiana Wesleyan winning the CL Championship during the regular season.


The Wildcats hauled in 11 postseason awards from the Crossroads League, led by third-year head coach, Rich Benjamin, being voted the CL Coach of the Year. IWU also claimed six-of-17 All-Crossroads League selections, picked up one CL Gold Glove recipient and added a trio of Honorable Mention All-CL awards.


Marian’s Cody Earl was voted the Crossroads League Player of the Year, with teammate, Maverick Bacon, earning CL Newomer-of-the-Year honors and Taylor’s Matt Patton taking home CL Pitcher-of-the-Year recognition.


2018 Crossroads League Coach of the Year
Rich Benjamin, Indiana Wesleyan


2018 Crossroads League Player of the Year
Cody Earl, Marian


2018 Crossroads League Pitcher of the Year
Matt Patton, Taylor


2018 Crossroads League Newcomer of the Year
Maverick Bacon, Marian


2018 All-Crossroads League Team
C – Tanner Watson, Taylor
C – Brady West, Indiana Wesleyan
1B – Nathan Targgart, Taylor

2B – Jack Driscoll, Spring Arbor
SS – Josh Lane, Taylor
3B – Cody Earl, Marian
INF – Jordan Wharton, Indiana Wesleyan
OF – Francisco Ondina, Spring Arbor
OF – Jesse Staudt, Mount Vernon Nazarene

OF – Wyatt Whitman, Taylor

OF – Steven Busby, Indiana Wesleyan
DH – Andrew Kennedy, Taylor
SP – Matt Patton, Taylor
SP – Kyle Hall, Indiana Wesleyan
SP – Jon Young, Indiana Wesleyan
SP – Caleb Eder, Indiana Wesleyan
RP – Mitch Ubelhor, Taylor


2018 Crossroads League Gold Award Winners
C – Tanner Watson, Taylor
1B – Brad Stultzfus, Goshen
2B – Jamar Weaver, Huntington
SS – Jordan Wharton, Indiana Wesleyan
3B – Brett Lawson, Taylor
LF – Wyatt Whitman, Taylor
CF – Francisco Ondina, Spring Arbor
RF – Jesse Zepeda, Bethel
P – Josh King, Bethel


2018 Honorable Mention All-Crossroads League
Bethel – Luke Adams, Collin Affolder, Jesse Zepeda
Goshen – Ryan Hartig, Ben Longacre, Colby Malson
Grace – David Anderson, Austin Baker, Houston Haney
Huntington – Donavan Clark, Jamar Weaver, Connor West
Indiana Wesleyan – Zee Breytenbach, David Corbin, Tim Olvaney
Marian – Leo Lopez, Zack St. Pierre, Reese Wills
Mount Vernon Nazarene – Nick Moser, Mark Rader, Drew Ritchey
Saint Francis – Noah Freimuth, Tyler Prince, Keaton Sullivan
Spring Arbor – Vincent Herschberger, Chris Triplett
Taylor – Jared Adkins, Clay Riggins, Sam Wiese