Crossroads League Announces Baseball Award Winners

 INDIANAPOLIS – The Crossroads League announced its 2017 Baseball All-League awards on Friday, two days at Huntington added the CL Tournament Championship to its regular season title.

The Foresters won the regular season crown with a 22-5 clip through the league season before rolling through the CL Tournament unscathed under Crossroads League Coach of the Year, Mike Frame. HU claimed six of the 17 All-Crossroads League honors, three of the nine Gold Glove awards and placed three student-athletes on the Honorable Mention All-Crossroads League list.

Taylor’s Jared Adkins was tabbed as the Crossroads League Player of the Year, while Marian’s Matt Burleton was named the Crossroads League Pitcher of the Year. Adkins led Taylor to a second-place finish in the league standings, while Burleton helped Marian finish third and advance to the NAIA National Tournament with a runner-up finish to HU in the CL Tournament.

2017 Crossroads League Coach of the Year

Mike Frame, Huntington

2017 Crossroads League Player of the Year
Jared Adkins, Taylor

2017 Crossroads League Pitcher of the Year

Matt Burleton, Marian

2017 All-Crossroads League Team

C – Tanner Watson, Taylor
C – Clinton Stroble, Goshen
1B – Shea Beauchamp, Huntington

2B – Jared Adkins, Taylor
SS – Adam Roser, Huntington
3B – Nathan Targgart, Taylor
INF – Cody Earl, Marian
OF – Dalton Combs, Huntington
OF – Jordan Jackson, Marian

OF – Brandon Shaffer, Indiana Wesleyan

OF – Sam Wiese, Taylor
DH – Austin Mettica, Taylor
SP – Matt Burleton, Marian
SP – Tanner Wyse, Huntington
SP – Mason Shinabery, Huntington
SP – DJ Moore, Huntington
RP – Matt Patton, Taylor

2017 Honorable Mention All-Crossroads League

Austin Baker, Grace
Austin Branock, Bethel
Andrew Breytenbach, Indiana Wesleyan
Heath Brooksher, Bethel
Gavin Bussard, Grace
Preston Carr, Goshen
Michael Crowley, Huntington
Noah Freimuth, Saint Francis
Tanner Gaff, Saint Francis
Kyle Hall, Indiana Wesleyan
Brody Harris, Spring Arbor
Nick Harris, Spring Arbor
Xavier Harris, Grace
Dylan Henricks, Huntington
Andrew Kennedy, Taylor
Jared Laurent, Bethel
Leo Lopez, Marian
Jaime Montero, Mount Vernon Nazarene
John O’Malley, Marian
Yanni Patten, Mount Vernon Nazarene
Tyler Reed, Spring Arbor
Andy Roser, Huntington
Aaron Saal, Mount Vernon Nazarene
Brenden Smith, Marian
Kansas Varner, Saint Francis
Michael Walker, Goshen
Wyatt Whitman, Taylor
Jon Young, Indiana Wesleyan

2017 Crossroads League Gold Award Winners

C – Michael Crowley, Huntington
1B – Brad Stultzfus, Goshen
2B – Dylan Henricks, Huntington
SS – Nick Harris, Spring Arbor
3B – Andy Roser, Huntington
LF – Brandon Diss, Bethel
CF – Francisco Ondina, Spring Arbor
RF – Quinlan Armstrong, Goshen
P – Blake Collins, Goshen