Crossroads League Announces Men’s Basketball Award Winners


AVON, Ohio – The Crossroads League announced its 2017-2018 Men’s Basketball All-League honors on Wednesday, one day after Indiana Wesleyan clinched the Crossroads League Tournament Championship to go with its regular season title.


The Wildcats hauled in nine awards from six individuals, highlighted by Greg Tonagel being named the Crossroads League Coach of the Year and Kyle Mangas claiming Crossroads League Player-of-the-Year and Freshman-of-the-Year honors. Evan Maxwell, Jacob Johnson, Joel Okafor and Grant Smith also received postseason accolades for IWU.


Marian’s Reggie Kissoonlal was heralded as the CL Defensive Player of the Year, with Bryce Lienhoop of Saint Francis, Wes Stowers of Marian, Gage Ott of Bethel and Paul Marandet of Spring Arbor joining Mangas as First-Team All-CL standouts.


The All-Crossroads League honors are voted on by the 10 head coaches from around the league and announced by the Crossroads League office.


2017-2018 Crossroads League Coach of the Year

Greg Tonagel, Indiana Wesleyan


2017-2018 Crossroads League Player of the Year

Kyle Mangas, Indiana Wesleyan


2017-2018 Crossroads League Defensive Player of the Year

Reggie Kissoonlal, Marian


2017-2018 Crossroads League Freshman of the Year

Kyle Mangas, Indiana Wesleyan


2017-2018 First-Team All-Crossroads League

Kyle Mangas, Indiana Wesleyan
Bryce Lienhoop, Saint Francis
Wes Stowers, Marian
Gage Ott, Bethel
Paul Marandet, Spring Arbor


2017-2018 Second-Team All-Crossroads League

Mike Bush, Huntington
Evan Maxwell, Indiana Wesleyan
Derek Hinen, Saint Francis
Reggie Kissoonlal, Marian
Jevon Knox, Mount Vernon Nazarene


2017-2018 Third-Team All-Crossroads League

Ryan Robinson, Taylor
Jacob Johnson, Indiana Wesleyan
Chandler White, Saint Francis
Logan Godfrey, Grace
Billy Geschke, Goshen
Paul Foreman, Bethel
Konner Platt, Huntington


2017-2018 Honorable Mention All-Crossroads League

Sterling Brown, Marian
Tyler Arens, Huntington
Mason Degenkolb, Taylor
Erik Bowen, Grace
Jacob Paul, Mount Vernon Nazarene
Devin Heath-Granger, Goshen
Evan Henry, Saint Francis
Brett Vipperman, Mount Vernon Nazarene
Jeff Beckman, Spring Arbor


2017-2018 Crossroads League All-Defensive Team

Reggie Kissoonlal, Marian
Joel Okafor, Indiana Wesleyan
Jeremiah Roberts, Mount Vernon Nazarene
Paul Marandet, Spring Arbor
Gage Ott, Bethel


2017-2018 Crossroads League All-Freshmen Team

Kyle Mangas, Indiana Wesleyan
Jevon Knox, Mount Vernon Nazarene
Sterling Brown, Marian
Grant Smith, Indiana Wesleyan
Matt Jennings, Grace