Crossroads League Announces Softball Award Winners


AVON, Ohio – The Crossroads League announced its 2018 Softball All-League Team on Tuesday, on the heels of No. 2 Marian securing the regular season Crossroads League Championship and No. 10 Indiana Wesleyan clinching the CL Tournament Championship.


Marian and Indiana Wesleyan dominated the list of Crossroads League postseason honors as well, with the Knights hauling in 14 awards and the Wildcats claiming 10. Combined, the two rosters accounted for 10 of the 18 First-Team All-Crossroads League selections.


MU’s Scott Fleming was voted the Crossroads League Coach of the Year, with Olivia Huffman being named CL Co-Player of the Year, Breena Smith being named CL Pitcher of the Year and Issy Hoyt being named CL Co-Newcomer of the Year.


IWU also secured two of the major awards, with Kristen Exposito being voted the CL Co-Player of the Year and Mckenzey Ridge being selected CL Co-Newcomer of the Year.


2018 Crossroads League Coach of the Year
Scott Fleming, Marian


2018 Crossroads League Player of the Year
Olivia Hoffman, Marian
Kristen Exposito, Indiana Wesleyan


2018 Crossroads League Pitcher of the Year
Breena Smith, Marian


2018 Crossroads League Newcomer of the Year
Issy Hoyt, Marian
Mckenzey Ridge, Indiana Wesleyan


2018 All-Crossroads League Team
Kristen Exposito, Indiana Wesleyan
Olivia Hoffman, Marian
Breena Smith, Marian
Davis Carter, Taylor
Kira Madl, Indiana Wesleyan

Issy Hoyt, Marian
Casey Lehman, Huntington
Alex Springer, Indiana Wesleyan
Mckenzey Ridge, Indiana Wesleyan
Cassie Kuizin, Taylor
Sam Heim, Grace
Shelby Herron, Marian
Anna Boue’, Mount Vernon Nazarene
Mackenzie Reeder, Marian
Courtney Moriarty, Taylor
Sydney Taylor, Spring Arbor
Carlie Weaver, Indiana Wesleyan
Breanna Pryor, Saint Francis


2018 Honorable Mention All-Crossroads League
Lizzie Meyer, Saint Francis
Lauren Kanai, Taylor
Katherine Boyer, Goshen
Jennifer Kurelic, Mount Vernon Nazarene
Mahri Younger, Bethel
Lairen Miller, Huntington
Kassidi Cadle, Marian
Kelsey Brown, Spring Arbor
Kelsey Kooistra, Indiana Wesleyan
Britney Young, Grace


2018 Crossroads League Gold Glove Team
P-Alexis Carpenter, Goshen
C-Casey Lehman, Huntington
1B-Mackenzie Reeder, Marian
2B-Kara Tucker, Taylor
SS-Cassie Kuizin, Taylor
SS-Angelica McKibben, Marian
3B-Aubrie Eckert, Indiana Wesleyan
OF-Victoria Boyer, Indiana Wesleyan
OF-Hannah Castor, Taylor
OF-Carly Green, Marian
OF-Lanie Horen, Marian
OF-Lizzie Meyer, Saint Francis