by | Nov 14, 2017 | Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

AVON, Ohio – The Crossroads League announced its 2017 Volleyball All-League Team on Monday, just two days after Indiana Wesleyan clinched the CL Tournament Championship following Marian’s regular season title.


The Knights picked up three of the major awards and collected eight regular season accolades from the Crossroads League, led by Kacee Salyers being named the CL Player of the Year, Vanessa Lay being voted CL Libero of the Year and Ashlee Pritchard taking home CL Coach-of-the-Year honors. Frannie Stephenson and Anne Strevels joined Salyers on the list of First-Team All-Crossroads League performers.


The Wildcats were also well represented on the list, with six postseason league honors. Banner Rodgers, Morgan Miller and Tay Thomas highlighted that list with First-Team All-Crossroads League nods.


Alexa Hill of Grace and Maria Pelak of Saint Francis claimed the other top honors, with Hill being named the Crossroads League Setter of the Year, and Pelak being selected as the Crossroads League Freshman of the Year.


2017 Crossroads League Player of the Year
Kacee Salyers, Marian


2017 Crossroads League Setter of the Year
Alexa Hill, Grace


2017 Crossroads League Libero of the Year
Vanessa Lay, Marian


2017 Crossroads League Freshman of the Year
Maria Pelak, Saint Francis


2017 Crossroads League Coach of the Year
Ashlee Pritchard, Marian


2017 First-Team All-Crossroads League
Josie Beaver, Huntington
Kate Cobb, Huntington
Becca Gerig, Taylor
Ashley Gingerich, Mount Vernon Nazarene
Alexa Hill, Grace
Morgan Miller, Indiana Wesleyan
Maria Pelak, Huntington
Cassidy Rammel, Saint Francis
Banner Rodgers, Indiana Wesleyan
Kacee Salyers, Marian
Sierra Smith, Grace
Frannie Stephenson, Marian
Anne Strevels, Marian
Tay Thomas, Indiana Wesleyan


2017 Second-Team All-Crossroads League
Rachel Bouma, Taylor
Haley Brown, Bethel
Erin Carlos, Bethel
Stephaney Fifield, Spring Arbor
Valorie Flick, Saint Francis
Danielle Gurwell, Huntington
Haley Harrell, Taylor
Vanessa Lay, Marian
Darienne Maust, Goshen
Sara Miller, Grace
Kristen Osborn, Mount Vernon Nazarene
Kendra Siefring, Saint Francis
Christy Swartzendruber, Goshen
Caylie Teel, Grace


2017 Honorable Mention All-Crossroads League
Payton Anderson, Bethel
Addy Bailey, Taylor
Kelsey Bryte, Mount Vernon Nazarene
Mikayla Carpenter, Huntington
Anne Clark, Saint Francis
Katelyn Dufur, Mount Vernon Nazarene
Julie Hoying, Marian
Samantha Korn, Taylor
Courtney Kyser, Spring Arbor
Lindsay McQuinn, Goshen
Kelly Miller, Indiana Wesleyan
Kristen Mitchell, Bethel
Alyson Near, Mount Vernon Nazarene
Sydney Ritz, Spring Arbor
Ally Roehr, Goshen
Tailor Schultheis, Huntington
MacKinnon Tracy, Goshen
Kassandra Williams, Bethel
Kelsee Zuidema, Grace


2017 Crossroads League All-Freshman Team
Abby Armold, Bethel
Ariene Butler, Huntington
Katie Cole, Indiana Wesleyan
Lauren Cresse, Huntington
Stephaney Fifield, Spring Arbor
Gina Novotny, Grace
Maria Pelak, Saint Francis
Abigail Rutt, Indiana Wesleyan
Kendra Siefring, Saint Francis

Related Content

Jun 16 2024

Bases-Loaded Walk Lifts Lake Central in 12-Inning Marathon

Anna Kayser, Special to INDIANAPOLIS - It took a while – 12 innings in 3 hours and 46 minutes, to be exact, as the longest game by innings in IHSAA State...
Jun 16 2024

Gavin Jackson throws first no-hitter, Providence takes 2A crown

Rich Torres, Special to INDIANAPOLIS – Providence’s Gavin Jackson took the mound for the bottom of the seventh inning on Saturday completely oblivious....
Jun 15 2024

New Prairie’s big fourth inning secures first state title

Anna Kayser, Special to INDIANAPOLIS - Down to his final strike with two outs in the fourth inning, New Prairie sophomore Reed Robinson laced a two-run single...
Jun 15 2024

Barr-Reeve “finished the job”, wins first baseball crown

Rich Torres, Special to INDIANAPOLIS – Third time was the charm for the top-ranked Barr-Reeve Vikings on Friday night at Victory Field in downtown...
Jun 11 2024

Valpo Athletics Mourns the Passing of Janet Drew; Celebration of Life to be Held at ARC on Saturday, June 15

Valpo Athletics Mourns the Passing of Janet Drew; Celebration of Life to be Held at ARC on Saturday, June 15 The Valparaiso University Department of Athletics is...