Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — A octet of Goshen College cross country runners, five women and three men, have been named Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athletes for the 2018 season. The NAIA announced the list of honorees on Thursday.

Goshen’s women were represented by Siana Emery of North Yarmouth, Maine; Chelsea Foster of Indianapolis; Megan Graber of Stryker, Ohio; Jenae Stutzman of Centennial, Colorado; and Annelise Wiebe of Goshen.

The three men recognized were Ryan Haggerty of Freeman, South Dakota; Luke Geiser of Indianapolis; and Seth Weaver of Madison, Wisconsin.

All eight of Goshen’s scholar-athletes are juniors, which means they will be eligible for the award again next fall. Additionally, a student-athlete who competes in multiple sports can be recognized as a scholar-athlete in each of them, which means that several cross country runners will also win the award for track and field.

Nationwide, 223 men and 347 women were named scholar-athletes.

A student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale, have achieved junior academic status, and be nominated by their institution’s head coach or sports information director to qualify. Transfer students must have completed at least two semesters at their current school.

Scholar-athlete honors in Goshen’s other 12 sports will be announced in conjunction with those sports’ national championships, beginning with soccer and women’s volleyball in the first week of December.