Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Eighty-two Nittany Lion Earned Winter Academic All-Big Ten Honors
Women’s swimming and diving leads Penn State with 18 recipients

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. – Eighty-two Penn State student-athletes from the Nittany Lions’ winter programs have earned Academic All-Big Ten recognition.
The 82 Academic All-Big Ten honors follow a school record of 91 honorees in 2019.
The women’s swimming and diving team led the Nittany Lions for the second consecutive year with 18 Academic All-Big Ten honorees. The men’s swimming and diving team totaled 12 recipients to give the program a combined 30 Academic All-Big Ten honorees. Junior Jack Baldwin of men’s gymnastics earned a perfect 4.0 grade-point average.
The men’s hockey team accounted for 15 recipients of Academic All-Big Ten honors following their Big Ten regular-season championship. The 15 honorees were the second-most among the Penn State programs.
A total of 176 Nittany Lion students have earned Academic All-Big plaudits so far in 2019-20. This brings Penn State’s total to 6,779 Academic All-Big Ten honorees since 1991-92.
A school-record 368 student-athletes earned Academic All-Big Ten honors in 2018-19.
The Academic All-Big Ten recipients for the women’s hockey, men’s and women’s fencing and men’s and women’s indoor track teams will be announced with the spring and at-large sport honorees later this year.
Penn State student-athletes have led the athletic department to 34 Big Ten championships and nine NCAA National Championships since October 2013. For the 20th time in the last 26 years the Nittany Lions finished in top 15 in the Learfield IMG College Director’s Cup.
To be eligible for Academic All-Big Ten selection, students must be on a varsity team, as verified by being on the official squad list as of March 1 for winter sports, who have been enrolled full-time at the institution for a minimum of 12 months and carry a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher.
The conference office also awards Academic All-Big Ten distinction in the fall and spring seasons and will present the Distinguished Scholar Award at the end of the academic year. To be eligible for selection, students must be a recipient of Academic All-Big Ten Recognition in the previous academic year, must be enrolled for the entire previous academic year (two semesters or three quarters) and earned a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher during that time. The Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award was established by conference Faculty Representatives as an addition to the conference’s Academic All-Big Ten program.
Record-Breaking NCAA Graduation Success Rate
The 2019 NCAA’s annual graduation rates study of in¬stitutions across the nation revealed Penn State student-athletes at the University Park campus earned a Graduation Success Rate (GSR) of 91 percent to break the school’s all-time record of 90, which was previously set in the 2010, 2017 and 2018 NCAA reports. Nittany Lion students posted a 91 percent graduation rate compared to the 88 percent average for all Division I institutions for students entering from 2009-10 through the 2012-13 academic year.
Penn State student-athletes have delivered a Graduation Success Rate in the 88-91 percent range during each of the past 13 NCAA reports, improving from 88 percent in the 2015 report, to 89 percent in 2016, to 90 percent in 2017 and 2018, and a record-breaking 91 percent figure in 2019. Ten Nittany Lion programs earned 100% graduation rates and 18 programs were above the national average.

2019-20 Winter Academic All-Big Ten
(Cumulative 3.0 GPA or higher)
Men’s Basketball
Women’s Basketball
Men’s Gymnastics
Women’s Gymnastics
Name Year Major
Oskar Autio So. Psychology
Evan Bell Jr. Labor And Human Resources
Brandon Biro Sr. Management
Paul DeNaples So. Business Administration
Liam Folkes Sr. Labor And Employment Relations
James Gobetz Sr. Supply Chain And Information Systems
William Holtforster Sr. Hospitality Management
Peyton Jones Sr. Labor And Employment Relations
Alexandre Limoges Jr. Supply Chain And Information Systems
Kristopher Myllari Sr. Management
Nikita Pavlychev Sr. Management
Denis Smirnov Sr. Communication Arts And Sciences
Samuel Sternschein Jr. Telecommunications
Alexander Stevens Jr. Supply Chain And Information Systems
Aarne Talvitie So. Division Of Undergraduate Studies
Name Year Major
Michael Daly So. Biochemistry And Molecular Biology
Jacob Deckman Jr. Information Sciences And Technology
Matthew DiNunzio Sr. Agribusiness Management
Hayden Harlow Jr. Advertising/Public Relations
Brad Johnson Jr. Biology
Dale Johnson Jr. Biology
Logan Krabbe So. Division Of Undergraduate Studies
Eben Krigger Jr. Corporate Innovation And Entrepreneurship
William Lulek So. Agribusiness Management
Alec Peckmann So. Political Science
Theo Perelli So. Engineering
Zachary Zwijacz So. Community, Environment, And Development
Men’s Swimming & Diving
Men’s Ice Hockey
Name Year Major
Camryn Barry Jr. Information Sciences And Technology
Madeleine Cooke Jr. Corporate Innovation And Entrepreneurship
Christina Crowell Sr. Journalism
Jane Donahue Jr. Rehabilitation And Human Services
Elizabeth Gaspari Jr. Finance
Carly Hart Jr. Advertising/Public Relations
Madison Hart Sr. Elementary And Early Childhood Education
Olivia Jack So. Division Of Undergraduate Studies
Madison Ledwith So. Supply Chain And Information Systems
Heather MacDougall Sr. Rehabilitation And Human Services
Erika Marlin Jr. Biology
Brooke Matthias So. Accounting
Madison Murtagh So. Rehabilitation And Human Services
Marie Schobel So. Corporate Innovation And Entrepreneurship
Marget Shelly So. Communication Sciences And Disorders
Kathleen Sheridan So. Labor And Human Resources
Stephanie Szekely Jr. Elementary And Early Childhood Education
Kamryn Umbel Jr. Mechanical Engineering
Name Year Major
Brady Berge Jr. Telecommunications
Roman Bravo-Young So. Division Of Undergraduate Studies
Austin Clabaugh Jr. Finance
Creighton Edsell So. Agriculture
Dominic Giannangeli Sr. Biomedical Engineering
Austin Hoopes So. Kinesiology
Konner Kraeszig So. Division Of Undergraduate Studies
Nicholas Lee Jr. Health Policy And Administration
Brandon Meredith So. Aerospace Engineering
Scott Obendorfer Jr. Civil Engineering
Devin Schnupp Sr. Turfgrass Science
Women’s Swimming & Diving