From the Northern Indiana Conference

March 16, 2018


The Elkhart Community School Corporation has announced that the new combined high school in Elkhart will be called Elkhart High School and will be affiliated with the Northern Indiana Conference, which is the conference that Elkhart Central was a member of since 1972, when Central was named and Memorial opened as the second high school in Elkhart. Memorial was a member of the NIC from 1972 to 2000.


The Elkhart Community School Corporation has announced that in the school year, 2020-2021 Memorial and Central will be merged back into the “new” Elkhart High School. The Central building will house the Freshman class while the former Memorial building will house students in grades 10-12.


The NIC looks forward to the association with Elkhart High School in the conference. The “old” Elkhart High School was an original charter member of the Northern Indiana High School Conference, which was formed in 1927. The name Northern Indiana Conference was adopted by the Principals of the former Eastern Division of the NIHSC in the 1960’s when the NIHSC disbanded and the former schools of the Eastern Division stayed together as the NIC.


NIC Officers

President – Jenn Sass  of New Prairie

Vice President- Jerome Calderone of Mishawaka

Past President – Susan Richter of Saint Joseph

Secretary/Treasurer – Greg Humnicky