Evansville North Girls, Westfield Player Claim Golf Crowns
Westfield’s Jocelyn Bruch and the Evansville North girls golf team proved the classes of the field in the 46th Annual IHSAA Girls Golf State Finals at Prairie View Golf Club in Carmel.

Bruch shot a 143 for her two rounds to become the school’s first individual state champion. The junior played bogey-free golf in Friday’s first round tallying a 68, tied for the second-lowest round ever at the state finals.

Second-ranked Evansville North finished at 605 thanks to a state finals record round 297 on Saturday bettering the 299 Zionsville posted in the first round one year ago.

It was the Huskies’ fourth state championship in five years under coach Ken Wempe tying the school for second-most girls golf state titles in state history.

Senior Katelyn Skinner was North’s top player carding a 149 tying for second place overall and junior Abigail Whittington tied for ninth at 152. Freshmen Chloe Johnson shot 153 for a 12th place tie, Faith Johnson tied for 18th at 156, and Destynie Sheridan and Reagan Sohn combined for 29th with a score of 163.

Defending state champion and top-ranked Zionsville settled for second place this go-around seven strokes back at 612. Carmel was third at 633, Homestead ended fourth at 634 and Guerin Catholic, making its initial team appearance in the state finals rounded out the top five with 651.

Following Bruch and tying Skinner for second overall among individuals was Madeleine Pape, a junior from Fort Wayne Bishop Luers (149). Zionsville junior Annabelle Pancake and Homestead freshman Madison Dabagia tied for fourth place with 150.

Friday’s round was played under nearly ideal conditions with sunny, blue skies and temps in the low 70s. Saturday was mostly overcast and slightly cooler with temps in the upper 60s.

Katelyn Skinner named Mental Attitude Award recipient
Evansville North High School’s Katelyn Skinner was named the recipient of the Mental Attitude Award by the IHSAA Executive Committee during the awards ceremony.

Skinner maintains a 3.96 GPA while taking multiple AP and dual credit courses. She is a member and treasurer of the National Honor Society, president of the Student Council, captain of the girls golf team, and is a member of concert choir, varsity choir, and student leader of the Militia Pep Club and Link Crew.

She is the daughter of John and Tamara Skinner of Evansville and will look to study Education or Business but is undecided on her college choice.

Indiana Farm Bureau Insurance, the sponsor of 28 IHSAA mental attitude awards, presented $1,000 to Evansville North High School’s general scholarship fund in the name of Katelyn Skinner.

The IHSAA Executive Committee presents the mental attitude award to the outstanding senior participant during the state finals each year dating back to 1973. The recipient of the award, nominated by her principal and coach, was determined to have best demonstrated excellence in mental attitude, scholarship, leadership and athletic ability in girls golf.


The 46th Annual IHSAA Girls Golf State Finals
September 28-29, 2018
Prairie View Golf Club, Carmel
Pos Team Standings R1 R2 Total
1. Evansville North 308 297* 605
2. Zionsville 308 304 612
3. Carmel 320 313 633
4. Homestead 318 316 634
5. Guerin Catholic 327 324 651
6. Lafayette Jefferson 349 332 681
7. Columbus North 340 342 682
8. Culver Academies 346 343 689
9. Bedford North Lawrence 351 343 694
10. NorthWood 354 343 697
11. Hamilton Southeastern 365 357 722
12. Crown Point 371 352 723
13. Evansville Memorial 372 355 727
14. South Bend St. Joseph 374 357 731
15. Richmond 378 372 750
*18-Hole State Finals Record
Pos Top 10 Players R1 R2 Total
1. Jocelyn Bruch (11) Westfield 68 75 143
T2. Katelyn Skinner (12) Evansville North 76 73 149
T2. Madeleine Pape (11) Fort Wayne Bishop Luers 73 76 149
T4. Annabelle Pancake (11) Zionsville 75 75 150
T4. Madison Dabagia (9) Homestead 75 75 150
T6. Nina Hecht (12) Carmel 80 71 151
T6. Emma Kelly (12) Tipton 76 75 151
T6. Katie Kuc (10) Carmel 73 78 151
T9. Abigail Whittington (11) Evansville North 78 74 152
T9. Reese Wilson (10) Culver Academies 74 78 152
T9. Abby Thielbar (11) Zionsville 77 75 152