Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Southeastern Receives Date with Sun Conference Foe in Lewiston

KANSAS CITY, Mo.- The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics has announced the seeds and official bracket for the 2019 Avista NAIA Baseball World Series, hosted by Lewis-Clark State. The 63rd annual event takes place May 24 – 31 at Harris Field in Lewiston, Idaho.

Southeastern, the defending World Series Champion, was selected as the number three seed in the tournament and will faced sixth-seeded and fellow Sun Conference member St. Thomas in the first round next Friday at 6:00 p.m. eastern.

The Bobcats defeated the Fire in three of the prior four contests played this season, with SEU winning the most recent meeting in The Sun Conference Tournament 11-7.

SEU punched its return trip to Lewiston after a 3-0 sweep of the Opening Round Macon Bracket.

The World Series is a 10-team, double-elimination tournament with the winner being crowned either May 30 or 31 depending on if the eventual national champion drops one of its earlier round games.

Seeds were determined by the NAIA Baseball National Selection Committee (NSC). The NSC consists of one representative from each geographic area, a representative from the National Administrative Council (NAC) Postseason Selection and Ratings Committee, the president of the NAIA-Baseball Coaches Association and three at-large members. The committee evaluated teams throughout the year on various criteria.

NAIANetwork.com, the NAIA’s official video-streaming platform of NAIA national championship events powered by Stretch Internet, will be broadcasting all 19 games of the 2019 World Series. The All-World Series package can be purchased for $34.95 or the day package for $14.95. Game 16 – 19 will also be delivered on ESPN3.

For more information on the 2019 Avista-NAIA Baseball World Series, click here.

For the full World Series bracket, click here.