Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

SAVANNAH, Ga.—In its first season of competition, Southeastern edged out defending Sun Conference champion USCB by 13.5 points to claim the conference title at Ted Wright Stadium.
The Fire totaled 181.5 points with USCB second with 168 and St. Thomas third with 166.
Namiah Simpson was named Track Athlete of the Year and Freshman of the Year, winning four events. She won the 400 Meter Dash by a second in a time of 56.27, the 400 Hurdles by more than two seconds in 1:05.76, the 200 Meter Dash in 25.61 and ran the first leg of the victorious 4×400 Meter Relay.
She also helped the 4×100 Meter Relay finish second, missing out on gold by 27 hundredths of a second. Simpson was joined by Morgan Strickland, Ashley Higgs, and Courtney Gales on the team.
Higgs earned all-conference accolades in the 100 Meter Dash, placing third in 12.61.
The 4×800 Meter Relay placed first, with Jenycha Rivera, Gales, Raeanna Pabon, and Julia Rohm bringing home gold. Rohm also earned all-conference recognition with a third-place finish in the 1500 Meters in a time of 4:51.93. Gales picked up an additional all-conference medal with a second place finish in the 400.
Miyah Ford was the top finisher in the triple jump with a best mark of 11.8 meters. Princess Nwankwo won the discus with a top mark of 37.16 meters.
Makenzie Johnson placed second in the Women’s 10,000 Meters to earn all-conference recognition with her time of 39:49.31.
The Fire swept the podium in the 5,000 Meters with Rohm winning in 18:39, Pabon second in 19:22, and Johnson third in 19:32.
Maddison Welch earned all-conference honors in the 3,000 Meter Steeplechase with a time of 12:53.27.
Nick Dodson earned Coach of the Year honors for his efforts in guiding the Fire to the title.