Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Four Big Ten Schools Earn Bids To NCAA Men’s Soccer Tournament

by | Nov 18, 2019 | Headlines, RRSN News, Soccer Blogs | 0 comments

Four Big Ten Schools Earn Bids To NCAA Men’s Soccer Tournament

All four schools will host their first game

2019 NCAA Tournament Bracket Attached

ROSEMONT, Ill. — The Big Ten Conference will have four schools participating in the 2019 NCAA Division I Men’s Soccer Championship, the NCAA announced Monday. Indiana, Maryland, Michigan and Penn State will represent the conference at campus sites around the country starting Thursday.

Indiana (14-2-4) earned the Big Ten’s automatic qualifying bid to the NCAA Tournament after capturing the Big Ten Tournament title on penalty kicks (4-3) after a 0-0 tie against Michigan on Sunday. The No. 5 seeded Hoosiers will be making their 33rd consecutive appearance in the NCAA Tournament and 44th in program history.  Indiana will play host to the winner of Kentucky and Loyola Chicago on Nov. 24.

The 2018 NCAA national champions Maryland (10-7-2) will play host to Iona at 7 p.m. ET on Nov. 21, in a first-round game that will be streamed on BTN+. The Terrapins are making their 19th consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance and 37th in program history.

Michigan (11-4-5) is the No. 13 seed and received its third consecutive NCAA Tournament bid, the longest streak in program history. Michigan will entertain the winner of Notre Dame and Wright State in the second round on Nov. 24.

Penn State (12-3-3) earned its first bid since 2014 and first in the Jeff Cook era, claiming the No. 15 seed. The Nittany Lions will host the winner of Providence and NJIT in a second-round contest on Nov. 24. 

Following the first-round matches, the NCAA Tournament will continue on Nov. 24 at campus sites. The third round will take place on Nov. 30 or Dec. 1 at the higher seed’s campus. The quarterfinal matches will be on Dec. 6 or 7 at campus sites. The 2019 NCAA Men’s College Cup will be played at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, North Carolina, with the semifinals scheduled for Dec. 13 and the championship match on Dec. 15.