Fran McCaffery to Be Inducted into Siena Athletics Hall of Fame

by | Dec 18, 2017 | RRSN News | 0 comments

Fran McCaffery to Be Inducted into Siena Athletics Hall of Fame


IOWA CITY, Iowa — University of Iowa head men’s basketball coach Fran McCaffery will be enshrined in the Siena Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2017 in a special ceremony on Feb. 18, at the Times Union Center in Albany, New York.


Prior to being becoming Iowa’s head basketball coach in 2010, McCaffery led Siena to the most decorated five-year run in program history, which culminated with the Saints being the only Division I program to win both their regular season and tournament championships for three consecutive years from 2008-10.


The Philadelphia native amassed a 112-51 (.687) overall record from 2005-10, including a 68-22 (.756) mark in the MAAC. McCaffery guided Siena to four straight 20-win seasons and MAAC Tournament Championship Game appearances to conclude his tenure in Loudonville, and became the first coach in MAAC history to pilot his program to multiple NCAA Tournament victories in leading the Saints to First Round wins over Vanderbilt (2008) and Ohio State (2009). Named the 2009-10 NABC District I Coach of the Year and 2008-09 MAAC Coach of the Year, McCaffery led Siena to school record-tying 27-win seasons in each of his last two years at the helm, which included a program record 15-game winning streak in his final campaign.


McCaffery both recruited and coached four fellow Siena Athletics Hall of Famers, and three of the top-five scorers in program history. He brought in arguably the greatest class in school history with the Class of 2010, which was the winningest class in program history with 97 victories. It was the only group to win 20 or more games in all four years and win three MAAC Championships. McCaffery, who has led each of the four programs he has coached to the NCAA Tournament, is currently in his eighth season as head coach Iowa and is six wins from notching career victory No. 400 as a collegiate head coach.


Joining McCaffery in the Class of 2017 is Ronald Moore (men’s basketball), Ashleigh Barone (women’s soccer), and Brent Herbst (men’s lacrosse). Moore served as the floor general for coach McCaffery during arguably the greatest three-year run in Siena Basketball history, which yielded three MAAC Championships and NCAA Tournament appearances from 2008-10.


Related Content

Apr 11 2024

Valpo Athletics Mourns the Passing of Dr. James Malayter

Valpo Athletics Mourns the Passing of Dr. James Malayter The Valpo Athletics family is saddened by the passing of Dr. James “Jim” Malayter ’66, who was a fixture at...
Apr 11 2024

VU Softball Falls to Flames Wednesday

VU Softball Falls to Flames Wednesday  The Valpo softball team concluded an eight-game homestand at the Valpo Softball Complex on Wednesday afternoon, falling to...
Apr 07 2024

Taylor softball rolls past Bethel

UPLAND, Ind. --- The Bethel Pilots (8-25, 4-16) fell to Taylor University (19-13, 11-7) 9-1 and 3-0 in a Crossroads League matchup. GAME 1 Bethel scored first in the...
Apr 06 2024

Spring Arbor sweeps Bethel softball

MISHAWAKA, Ind. --- The Bethel Pilots (8-23, 4-14) battled the Spring Arbor Cougars (20-11, 12-6) and maintained a two-and-under run differential in Friday's...
Apr 04 2024

IU’s Holmes and Scalia To Participate in Women’s College All-Star Game  CLEVELAND – Indiana’s Mackenzie Holmes and Sara Scalia will participate in the 2024 Women’s...