Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992


GLVC Significantly Expands Diversity and Inclusion Committee 


INDIANAPOLIS – The Great Lakes Valley Conference (GLVC) announced Tuesday the expansion of its Diversity and Inclusion Committee, which will now consist of at least one member from each of its 15 league schools.  The GLVC Diversity and Inclusion Committee will include 21 individuals from various campus positions, including students, all as part of the Conference’s initial action plan to address racism and social justice.


Formed in 2017, the Committee was originally comprised of one athletics director, one faculty athletics representative, one senior woman administrator, and one senior diversity officer from a member institution. The Committee’s charge was to assist the Conference in establishing a diverse and inclusive environment for our student-athletes, coaches, and administrators by identifying and sharing “best practices” and addressing language issues. Additionally, they were to serve in an advisory capacity by recommending how the Conference might seek to establish and maintain an inclusive culture that fosters equitable participation for student-athletes and career opportunities for officials, coaches, and administrators from diverse experiences and backgrounds.


The Committee recommended the funding of two scholarships for institutional representatives to attend the NCAA Inclusion Forum, beginning in 2018.


“It was gratifying to experience the overwhelming show of support and interest from these individuals when we reached out to them with the invitation to become members of this Committee,” said GLVC Commissioner Jim Naumovich. “They were all eager to share their time and talents for the betterment of the GLVC, which is quite humbling. I am eager to listen and learn from all of our Committee members as we engage in meaningful acts to promote racial equality and social justice at the team, campus, conference, regional, and national level.”

Among the notable additions to the Committee will be Rockhurst University president Rev. Thomas B. Curran, S.J., University of Southern Indiana president Dr. Ronald S. Rochon, Lewis University track and field junior and Student Senate president Jada Hoffman, and University of Missouri-St. Louis junior and the league’s reigning men’s basketball Defensive Player of the Year Steve Webb.


Maryville University senior compliance officer and Title IX coordinator Karlla Dozier and Saints athletics director Lonnie Folks return to the Committee and will be joined by Missouri S&T athletics director Melissa Ringhausen, University of Indianapolis senior woman administrator Jackie Paquette, and faculty athletics representatives Dr. Charles Taylor of Drury University and Liz Jorn of Truman State University.


Four additional administrators have been added to the Committee, including University of Illinois Springfield assistant athletics director Ashlyn Beasley, McKendree University associate athletics director Anthony Francis, Quincy University head athletic trainer DJ Elmore, and William Jewell College assistant athletics director Jaelynn Ellison.


Lindenwood University track and field head coach David Nicholson, McKendree volleyball head coach Nickie Sanlin, Southwest Baptist University football head coach Robert Clardy, and Truman State women’s basketball head coach Theo Dean have also joined the Committee.


Also serving on the Committee for the upcoming season will be the league’s three new interns in Ella Gobald, Kiara Scott, and Jovan Williams.