Student Advisory Committee Members Announced for 2017‐18  Eighteen high school student‐athletes from across the Hoosier State will begin the school year as members of the 201718 IHSAA Student Advisory Committee (SAC).    Nine incoming juniors will join nine seniors beginning their second year with the group which will receive hands‐on  experience in various areas as well as serve as a voice to the IHSAA staff.    Each year, the IHSAA receives nominations from school principals on behalf of student‐athletes from IHSAA member  schools. From that group of nominations, 20 are selected for interviews by members of the IHSAA Executive Committee,  Executive Staff and returning members of the SAC. From those interviews, nine juniors are invited to join the group of  nine seniors.    Individuals who will serve as part of this year’s committee include:
The SAC, which began in 2001‐02, represents the entire IHSAA membership of 409 schools, and its structure reflects that  of the IHSAA Board of Directors in terms of classification and districts.    The SAC meets four times annually – twice each semester – and is responsible for hosting meetings with student peers  at the upcoming Fall Area Principals Meetings; assisting with the awards ceremonies at IHSAA state championship  events throughout the school year, planning and administering the annual IHSAA Student Leadership Conference in June  and; to engage in and support the activities of Special Olympics Indiana including the Unified Track & Field State  Tournament.
2017‐18 IHSAA Student Advisory Committee  Name  Grade  School  Kye Barrett  11  Mooresville  Alexis Brown  12  Oldenburg Academy  Caroline Cherry  11  Bloomington North  Matthew Cotner  12  Highland  Refik Omer Dogruyol  11  Fort Wayne Wayne  Carter Filchak  12  Bremen  Taylor Hall  12  Indianapolis Crispus Attucks  Carmen Johnson  11  Monrovia  Warren McWilliams  12  Evansville Central  Makinzi Meurer  11  North Knox  Myra Miller  12  Indianapolis Cathedral  Caitlyn Reynolds  11  Springs Valley  CeCe Robinson  11  Plymouth  Kylie Shourds  12  South Spencer  Benjamin Vanderwall  11  North Newton  Andrew Walkowski  11  South Bend Riley  Maci Weeks  12  Eastern (Greentown)  Korbin Zvorkel  12  Wes‐Del
Page 2 of 2

Other SAC functions include the development of an IHSAA Captain’s Handbook which is posted to as well as  assisting in the creation of multiple public service announcements addressing good sporting behavior which will be  utilized during 2017‐18 state championships events.