Indiana Tabbed Big Ten Baseball Favorite

by | Feb 15, 2018 | Headlines, RRSN News | 0 comments

Indiana Tabbed Big Ten Baseball Favorite

Big Ten coaches select Hoosiers to claim conference title


ROSEMONT, Ill. – Indiana was voted the preseason favorite to claim the 2018 Big Ten Baseball Championship as voted on by the conference coaches and announced on Wednesday. The coaches voted on the top six teams and also selected three students from their own squads to a Preseason Honors list. The Hoosiers were followed in the preseason poll by Nebraska in second place, No. 3 Minnesota, Maryland in fourth place, No. 5 Michigan and Iowa in sixth place.


Indiana accumulated a 34-24-2 overall record a year ago and advanced to the NCAA Tournament for the second time in three years. Among the Hoosiers’ preseason honorees are Academic All-Big Ten honoree Luke Miller and second-team All-Big Ten selections Matt Lloyd and Logan Sowers. Miller tied for third in the Big Ten in runs (52), tied for eighth in home runs (10), and was 11th in total bases (109) last season. Lloyd was Indiana’s primary closer, tying for fourth in the conference in saves (9), while Sowers led the Big Ten with 19 doubles, was third in total bases (127) and fourth in home runs (13).


The Cornhuskers return as the defending Big Ten Champions. Nebraska posted a 35-22-1 record last year and are led into 2018 by preseason honorees right-handed pitcher/outfielder Luis Alvarado, left-handed pitcher Jake McSteen and outfielder/first baseman Scott Schreiber. Last season, Alvarado saw time in the outfield as well as on the mound as the Huskers’ co-closer with Chad Luensmann, while ranking third on the team in runs scored (39). McSteen played in 22 games as a reliever and posted a 4-0 record for the Cornhuskers to go along with a 2.04 ERA. Schreiber led the Husker offense in most statistical categories, including batting average (.330), slugging percentage (.494), hits (77), RBIs (51), home runs (7) and doubles (15) to earn first-team All-Big Ten recognition.


The Golden Gophers posted a 36-20 record last year and are led into 2018 by preseason honorees infielder Micah Coffey, first baseman Toby Hanson and infielder Luke Pettersen. Coffey, a second-team All-Big Ten honoree, appeared in 51 games for the Gophers, hitting .340 with 69 hits and 46 RBI. Hanson started all 57 games at first base, posting a .319 batting average and leading the team with 57 RBIs, earning him third-team All-Big Ten honors. Pettersen appeared in 56 games in 2017 and led the Gophers with a .354 batting average with 69 hits.


Maryland finished the season with a 37-22 record last year. The Terrapins return junior outfielder Marty Costes, who started all 61 games. Costes, a returning first-team All-Big Ten selection, hit .322 on the year, tied for the team lead with 13 home runs and notched a slugging percentage of .548. Also representing Maryland on the Preseason Honors list are junior infielder Nick Dunn, who batted .261 with a career-high five home runs last season, and sophomore left-handed pitcher Tyler Blohm, who made 16 starts, posting a 3.48 ERA in 75.0 innings pitched a year ago.


The Wolverines finished 2017 with their 23rd NCAA Tournament appearance and a 42-17 overall record. Junior outfielder Jonathan Engelmann ended the 2017 season with a .339 slugging percentage and a .341 on-base percentage, scoring 33 runs and adding 30 RBI. Junior outfielder Miles Lewis started all 59 games in left field for the Wolverines and finished the season with a team-leading 14 doubles. Ako Thomas, a junior infielder for the Wolverines and 2017 first-team All-Big Ten selection, led the team with a .994 fielding percentage and a .354 batting average.


The Hawkeyes claimed their first Big Ten Tournament title last season, finishing the year with a 39-22 overall record. Among Iowa’s preseason honorees are Tyler Cropley, a second-team All-Big Ten and All-Tournament selection who hit .268 with 41 runs and 36 RBIs in 2017, along with right-handed pitcher Zach Daniels, who went 7-3 on the year with a 3.22 ERA in 24 appearances. Outfielder Robert Neustrom, a second-team All-Big Ten honoree who started all 61 games and hit .310 with 79 hits, 41 runs, and 55 RBIs, rounds out the list.


The 2018 Big Ten baseball season is set to begin on Friday, Feb. 16. The preseason poll, featuring the top six teams, and the complete Preseason Honors list can be found below.



  1. Indiana
  2. Nebraska
  3. Minnesota
  4. Maryland
  5. Michigan
  6. Iowa



Michael Massey, INF, So., Illinois

Zac Taylor, OF, Jr., Illinois

Jack Yalowitz, OF, Jr., Illinois

Matt Lloyd, INF, Jr., Indiana

Luke Miller, INF, So., Indiana

Logan Sowers, OF, Sr., Indiana

Tyler Cropley, C/OF, Sr., Iowa

Zach Daniels, RHP/INF, Jr., Iowa

Robert Neustrom, OF, Jr., Iowa

Tyler Blohm, SP, So., Maryland

Marty Costes, OF, Jr., Maryland

Nick Dunn, INF, Jr., Maryland

Jonathan Engelmann, OF, Jr., Michigan

Miles Lewis, OF, Jr., Michigan

Ako Thomas, INF, Jr., Michigan

Riley McCauley, RHP, Jr., Michigan State

Bryce Kelley, OF/LHP, So., Michigan State

Jake Lowery, RHP, Sr., Michigan State

Micah Coffey, INF, Sr., Minnesota

Toby Hanson, INF/OF, Sr., Minnesota

Luke Pettersen, INF, Sr., Minnesota

Luis Alvarado, RHP/OF, Sr., Nebraska

Jake McSteen, SP, Jr., Nebraska

Scott Schreiber, OF, Sr., Nebraska

Hank Christie, SP, So., Northwestern

Jack Dunn, INF, Jr., Northwestern

Alex Erro, INF, So., Northwestern

Dominic Canzone, OF, So., Ohio State

Ryan Feltner, SP, Jr., Ohio State

Seth Kinker, RHP, Sr., Ohio State

Jordan Bowersox, OF, Jr., Penn State

Justin Hagenman, SP, Jr., Penn State

Mason Nadeau, OF, So., Penn State

Tanner Andrews, SP, Sr., Purdue

Ross Learnard, RP, Sr., Purdue

Harry Shipley, INF, Sr., Purdue

Jawuan Harris, OF, Jr., Rutgers

Nick Matera, C, Jr., Rutgers

John O’Reilly, SP, Sr., Rutgers

Related Content

Jul 11 2024

Marian’s Tipping Named the Crossroads League Male Athlete of the Year

Marian’s Tipping Named the CL Male Athlete of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Isaiah Tipping of the Marian University men’s...
Jul 11 2024

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named Crossroads League Female Athlete-of-the-Year

Indiana Wesleyan’s Joldersma Named CL Female Athlete-of-the-Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Thursday that Eva Joldersma of the Indiana Wesleyan...
Jul 10 2024

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year

Craig Honored as TU’s Male Athlete of the Year   UPLAND, Ind. – Aidan Craig was recognized on Wednesday for his record-setting season with the Taylor men’s lacrosse...
Jul 10 2024

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year

Marian’s Downing Repeats as CL Athletic Director of the Year   JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Marian’s Steve Downing has been named...
Jul 10 2024

Grace’s Josh Neuhart Voted Crossroads League SID of the Year

Neuhart Voted Crossroads League SID of the Year JACKSON, Mich. – The Crossroads League announced on Wednesday that Josh Neuhart of Grace College had been named its...