Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Indiana Wins 2019 Big Ten Men’s Swimming & Diving Championship

Hoosiers win their third consecutive Big Ten Championship

IOWA CITY, IOWA – Indiana claimed the 2019 Big Ten Men’s Swimming & Diving Championship Saturday evening at the Campus Recreation and Wellness Center on the campus of the University of Iowa. The title marks the team’s third consecutive conference crown and 27th overall.

Indiana collected 1,705 total points throughout the four-day event. Michigan finished second after collecting 1,464 points and Ohio State was third with 1,243.5 points. Purdue finished fourth with 744.5 points, while Minnesota recorded 726 points to finish fifth.

The Hoosiers took home titles in 13 of 21 events at the Championships. Indiana’s Vini Lanza repeated as Swimmer of the Championships and James Connor was tabbed Diver of the Championships. Minnesota’s Max McHugh claimed Freshman of the Year honors.

The complete 2019 All-Big Ten Teams and Sportsmanship Award honorees are listed below.

2019 Big Ten Individual Honors

Swimmer of the Championships: Vini Lanza, Sr., Indiana

Diver of the Championships: James Connor, Sr., Indiana

Freshman of the Year: Max McHugh, Minnesota


2019 All-Big Ten Teams

First Team

Zach Apple, Sr., Indiana

Bruno Blaskovic, So., Indiana

James Connor, Sr., Indiana

Gabriel Fantoni, So., Indiana

Ian Finnerty, Sr., Indiana

Brandon Hamblin, Fr., Indiana

Vini Lanza, Sr., Indiana

Mohamed Samy, Jr., Indiana

Felix Auboeck, Jr., Michigan

Luiz Gustavo Borges, So., Michigan

Will Chan, Fr., Michigan

Alex King, So., Michigan

Miles Smachlo, Jr., Michigan

Charles Swanson, Jr., Michigan

Bowen Becker, Sr., Minnesota

Brandon Loschiavo, Jr., Purdue


Second Team

James Brinegar, Fr., Indiana

Andrew Capobianco, So., Indiana

Kevin Callan, Fr., Michigan

Thomas Cope, Jr., Michigan

Ricardo Vargas Jacobo, So., Michigan

Ross Todd, So., Michigan

Maxwell McHugh, Fr., Minnesota

Matthew Abeysinghe, Jr., Ohio State

Mossimo Chavez, Sr., Ohio State

Paul DeLakis, So., Ohio State

Ruslan Gaziev, Fr., Ohio State

Noah Lense, Jr., Ohio State

Andrew Loy, Jr., Ohio State

Henrique Painhas, Sr., Ohio State

Benjamin Sugar, So., Ohio State

Cameron Tysoe, Jr., Wisconsin


Sportsmanship Award Honorees

Mory Gould, So., IND

Ben Colin, Sr., IOWA

Mokhtar Al-Yamani, Sr., MICH

Josh Pascua, So., MSU

Nick Plachinski, Sr., MINN

Will Hofstadter, Sr., NU

Nick Hogsed, Sr., OSU

Robbie Dickson, Sr., PSU

Jackson Higgins, Sr., PUR

Chris Wills, Sr., WIS