Positively Promoting the Student Athlete Since 1992

Iowa and Penn State Share Big Ten Wrestling Dual Meet Championship
Hawkeyes and Nittany Lions both finish with perfect conference records

ROSEMONT, Ill. – Iowa and Penn State each earned a share of the Big Ten Wrestling Dual Meet Championship after both schools finished the regular season with perfect conference records.

The Hawkeyes completed 2021 with a 5-0 mark for their 11th regular season conference title in the past 14 years. Iowa ended its season on Feb. 7 with a 33-14 victory against No. 11 Ohio State. The Hawkeyes claimed seven bouts against the Buckeyes, with wins from Spencer Lee (125), Austin DeSanto (133), Jaydin Eierman (141), Michael Kemerer (174), Nelson Brands (184), Jacob Warner (197) and Tony Cassioppi (285).

The Nittany Lions finished the year with a 6-0 record for their seventh conference crown in the last 10 years. Penn State clinched its share of the title by virtue of a 44-0 win against Maryland on Feb. 22. The Nittany Lions claimed all 10 bouts against the Terrapins, with wins from Robert Howard (125), Roman Bravo-Young (133), Nick Lee (141), Beau Bartlett (149), Luke Gardner (157), Joe Lee (165), Carter Starocci (174), Aaron Brooks (184), Michael Beard (197) and Greg Kerkvliet (285).

The 2021 Big Ten Wrestling Championships will be held from March 6-7 at the Bryce Jordan Center in University Park, Pa.